Databases \ NZ Science

Content

An index of New Zealand science provided by the Royal Society of New Zealand, and the Crown Research Institutes, formerly the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR). The index was previously known as 'SIRIS' and 'STIX'.

NZ Science is part of the New Zealand Index (formerly Superindex) suite of databases which also includes two New Zealand newspaper indexes, Newzindex and Newspaper Index.

NZ Science includes abstracts for all of the Royal Society of New Zealand journals up until 1998 and will soon include all current abstracts. It also indexes Crown Research Institute (CRI) publications, including internationally published articles and papers.

It also includes Conservation and Management of New Zealand's Indigenous Forests: a Selected Bibliography: 1848-1990 by Marleene Boyd. Searches can be restricted to just the Forest Bibliography.

Coverage

NZ Science contains records of CRI scientists' publications, some as far back as 1848. The CRIs stopped updating the database in 1998 and resumed again in 2000. Abstracts for the Royal Society of New Zealand journals start from Vol 1 of each title.

Access

There is no licensing limit on the number of concurrent users but the Knowledge Basket servers do not have unlimited capacity and on the odd occasion of very high use you may be unable to access the databases and should try again later.

Subjects

NZ Science is related to 10 subjects. Explore these subjects to find other useful databases.