Databases \ Indigenous Australia

Content

The Indigenous Australia database represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library. It includes articles, Commonwealth Gazettes, press releases, speeches, conference papers, booklets and book chapters.

Subject coverage includes:

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander studies
Stolen generation / removal of children
Arts - enterprises, businesses, economic aspects, copyright issues
Racism, discrimination, attitudes
Communications - A&TSIer broadcasting, TV, print media, Internet and telecommunications facilities
Communities - profiles of particular communities including outstations, homelands
Cross-cultural awareness
Economic development - Indigenous businesses, enterprises, profiles of successful businesses, policies
Employment and Training
Law - Indigenous legal services, customary law, family law, human rights, intellectual property
Criminal justice system, deaths in custody
Demography - population statistics
Heritage protection, sites of significance
Regional agreements
Education
Environmental issues - biodiversity, resource management
Constitutional reform - Commonwealth and State/Territory
Government relations
Health - National policies and strategies, general articles on Indigenous health status
Language policies
Sport and recreation policies
Tourism
Housing and infrastructure
Land - management, land-use agreements, joint land management, mining, pastoral industry
Land rights - Land Councils, Native Title, Land acquisition
Sea rights

Coverage

1980-2002. No longer updated.

Subjects

Indigenous Australia is related to 1 subjects. Explore these subjects to find other useful databases.