Databases \ Ovid

Content

A set of databases provided by Ovid Technologies, a Wolters Kluwer Health company.

Databases

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Video recordings of human anatomic specimens in their natural colours. The videos show moving structures - muscles, tendons, and joints - making the same movements that they make in life. The clips build complex structures step-by-step to provide a foundation for clear understanding of anatomical structure and function.
AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
Covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care. Produced by the British Library.
BIOSIS
Covers biology, taxonomy, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry, biotechnology, and earth sciences.

BIOSIS Previews is an enhanced version of Biological Abstracts, incorporating non-journal citations for relevant content within reviews, meeting reports, technical letters and notes, books and software, and US patents (searchable from 'Search fields' or 'Multi-field search'). It indexes 6,500+ serials from over 100 countries, and is updated weekly with around 500,000 records added annually.
Books at Ovid
Full text of hundreds of respected texts in medicine, nursing and pharmacology.
EMBASE (1980-present)
Journal articles in all fields of medicine, biomedicine, health sciences and allied health, from 1980 to current.

Includes: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, biomedical engineering and more.
EMBASE Archive (1947-1979)
Journal articles in all fields of medicine, biomedicine, health sciences and allied health, from 1947-1979.

Includes: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, biomedical engineering and more.
FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts
Bibliographic information and abstracts from the international literature on food science, food technology and human nutrition. The database covers every aspect of food science, food products and food processing including biotechnology, economics, manufacturing, legislation and commodity packaging. Topics include additives, beverages, bakery products, cereals, dairy products, fish, fruits and vegetables, meat and sugars. Produced by the International Food Information Service.
Imaging Reference Center
A medical image library offering a combination of high-quality images and evidence-based clinical text on a wide range of diagnoses and conditions.

It includes over 70,000 CT scans, X-rays, MRIs, ultrasounds, colour illustrations and other images on over 4,000 diagnoses with supporting text and journal references to provide expert context to the images.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Journal articles on drug therapy, toxicity, pharmacy practice, legislation, regulation, biopharmaceutics, economics, education, and ethics relating to pharmaceutical science and practice.
Journals@Ovid
Tables of contents of over 530 biomedical, nursing, and psychology journals, plus full text of many articles.
Lippincott Advisor
Evidence-based content for nurses, including diseases, diagnostic tests, treatments, signs and symptoms, and nursing care plans. Written by nurses.
LWW Health Library
Medical textbooks and associated material from Lippincott, Willliams & Wilkins. The Library has licensed the basic science collection, comprising around 30 titles.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Journal articles in all fields of medicine, biomedicine, health sciences and allied health, from 1946 to current; now includes all records which were previously in the OldMedline database.
OLDMEDLINE (Ovid)
All content from OldMedline (1946-1965, Old Medline) has been included in the MEDLINE database since January 2016.
Ovid Training Databases
Training access to all Ovid databases for University students and staff.
OvidMD
Clinical information for healthcare professionals.
PsycARTICLES
A collection of over 100 journals on psychology, neuroscience, and related fields from the American Psychological Association.
PsycBOOKS
A full-text collection of psychology book chapters, including APA books, and classic titles.

A full-text collection of more than 3,900 books, including out-of-print titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA), all volumes of the APA Handbooks in Psychology Series, and more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
PsycEXTRA
Full-text grey literature APA resource, which includes conference papers, technical and government reports, newsletters, magazines and other non-peer-reviewed material.

PsycEXTRA is published by the American Psychological Association as a companion to PsycINFO. It focuses on the grey literature produced in the fields of psychology, behavioural science and health, that is material written for professionals, but disseminated outside of peer reviewed journals. Documents include newsletter, magazine, and newspaper articles, technical and research reports, conference presentations, policy statements, annual reports, government reports, consumer brochures. There is no overlap in coverage with PsycINFO. It comprises around 334,000 records. Unlike PsycINFO, it has a large full-text component, offering abstracts and citations plus full text for a major portion (over 70%) of the records.
PsycINFO
Major international database for indexing psychology books, journal articles, book reviews and book chapters. Also indexes literature from medicine, education, anthropology and sociology.
PsycTESTS
Full-text psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments, as well as descriptive and administrative information for each item. Produced by the APA.

PsycTESTS includes neuropsychological tests, personality assessments, skills and proficiency tests, and IQ and aptitude scales and measurements. It has over 23,000 entries, with 76% including the actual test or test items. The database covers mainly non-commercially published tests, but covers selected commercially published tests, and provides direct links to their respective publisher sites.
Social Work Abstracts Plus
Research on all areas of social work, counselling and human services.