Databases \ Scopus

Content

The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature; covers Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences and some Arts. It often links to the full text of the article.
Theoretically all Medline items are included in Scopus with their subject headings – however, if you want to search by the Medline thesaurus, use Medline instead.

Citation Searching – Items after 1995 list their references and you can find all Scopus items that cite a particular reference (published from 1970 onwards). Scopus has cleaner data than Web of Science; but Web of Science includes citation data for far older records. Both databases export citation data for items appearing in the University of Auckland's Research Outputs. Generally use the 'View Full Text at Publisher' link rather than the 'Find Full Text' button.

Scopus indexes many books and also records citations to books. Search within 'References' by combining the author's family name in proximity to the title in speech marks (e.g., Hawking W/3 ''a brief history of time'')

Scopus provides comprehensive journal and country ranking data on its SCImago website, which includes more journals than Journal Citation Reports.

Access

Scopus is compatible with Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Internet Explorer 10 and 11 on Windows.

For users of Papers, a Mac program from Mekentosj: The University's Scopus Account ID for the Scopus search plugin is 11498.

Notes

Scopus is published by Elsevier.

Subjects

Scopus is related to 48 subjects. Explore these subjects to find other useful databases.

Keywords

Psychological medicine

Helpsheets