Databases \ SciFinder

Content

SciFinder is a comprehensive database for chemical reactions, substances, structures and indexed chemistry patents. Includes +54 million journal abstracts, patents and other literature references on all areas of science and its applications. Also contains detailed information on +179 million compounds and substances including their properties, +134 million reactions and full synthetic methods as well as +500 million protein and nucleotide sequences. The Retrosynthesis Planner available can also be found in SciFinder.

You must personally register before use. See instructions in the Access section below.

Access to SciFinder is restricted to CURRENT Faculty and Professional staff members and students of the University of Auckland. SciFinder is not to be used for commercial purposes.

Coverage includes:
Agricultural Sciences
Biological and Life Sciences
Engineering
Food Science
General Chemistry
Geological Sciences
Material Sciences
Medical Sciences
Physics
Polymer Science

Coverage

1907 to the present

Access

It is necessary to register before use.

When registering, you must provide an email address that ends in either auckland.ac.nz or aucklanduni.ac.nz
Please read Registering for your SciFinder Account (PDF). The registration URL that the PDF refers to is available at this registration linking page, which staff and students may access.

If you have registered but have not used your login for two years or more, you may need to re-register.

On Sundays the database is unavailable for a 3 hour period between 2pm and 7pm (actual time 10pm‑1am Eastern US time). On the Sunday following the first Saturday in the month, it is unavailable for an 8 hour period between 9am and 7pm (actual time 5pm‑1am Eastern US time). The NZ times vary with daylight saving changes in NZ and the US.

See SciFinder-n System Requirements and Recommendations for browser requirements and options for structure drawing.

Access to SciFinder is restricted to CURRENT Faculty and Professional staff members and students of the University of Auckland. SciFinder is not to be used for commercial purposes.

We have switched to SciFinder-n, the new platform. Your existing SciFinder login works with SciFinder-n.

Subjects

SciFinder is related to 12 subjects. Explore these subjects to find other useful databases.