Databases \ INSPEC

Content

Inspec is an abstract and index (A&I) database published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The predecessor of IET is the well-known global academic institution, the Institute of Electrical Engineers (IEE). IET currently has over 168,000 members in more than 150 countries.

Inspec is one of the most important and frequently used A&I databases evolved from the prestigious 'Science Abstract' (SA, Science Abstract), started in 1898. It covers the fields of Physical Sciences and Astronomy, most areas of Engineering (including E&E, marine, nuclear, biomedical, transportation) as well as computing and IT. The contents are sourced from more than 4,500 scientific journals published in more than 100 countries, more than 3,000 conference proceedings, and a large numbers of reference books, patents and videos. It has over 20 million records dated since 1898 with all the contents being carefully selected to reflect the quality of the Database.

Based on the individual identification and disclosure of the article, the unique Inspec thesaurus, including more than 20,000 control words and non-control words, together with the entire field of physics and engineering which has been deeply refined in 5 levels, with a total of 3,600 sub-disciplines guarantee the most professional and comprehensive search result and for users to know more on their search topics
Realizing chemical retrieval, numerical retrieval, astrophysical identifier retrieval, etc., to ensure accurate retrieval, and international patent classification to associate papers with future patent development.

Coverage

1969 to the present, updated monthly.
Inspec Archive covers 1898-1968.

Notes

On Elsevier's Engineering Village platform.

Subjects

INSPEC is related to 7 subjects. Explore these subjects to find other useful databases.