Back to Māori Studies Guides Page

Whakapapa
Contents 
10.1 Mihi
10.2 Books, Articles and Kōrero About Researching Whakapapa
10.3 Pre-Contact Period
10.4 Iwi Katoa - Whakapapa Relating to Many Iwi
10.5 Whanaunatanga
10.6 Iwi Map
10.7 Whakapapa Resources by Region
TAI TOKERAU: Northern Iwi
TAINUI: Waikato and Hauraki Iwi
MATAATUA: Bay of Plenty: Bay of Plenty Iwi 
ARAWA: Bay of Plenty Iwi
TAI RĀWHITI: East Coast, Hawkes Bay Iwi
TARANAKI: Aotea Tokomaru Iwi
WHANGANUI: Wanganui Iwi
TAKITIMU: Lower East Coast Iwi
TE UPOKO O TE IKA: Wellington Iwi
TE WAI POUNAMU: South Island Iwi 
WHAREKAURI: Chatham Islands Iwi
10.8 Putunga Hotuku - Electronic Resources
Databases
Internet Resources
10.9 Key to Library Locations


10.1  Mihi 
Top of page

E rau rangatira mā o te motu, tenā koutou, tenā koutou, tenā koutou katoa. E ngā mate, takoto, takoto, takoto. Takoto rangimarie. Kua hinga ngā rakau o te wao nui a Tāne, ngā manu korero, he tohu maumahara tenei ki a koutou katoa. He kapiti hono he tatai hono. Te hunga mate ki te hunga mate. He kapiti hono he tatai hono. Tātou te hunga ora. Tenā tātou katoa.

Kia ora. This guide is intended to be an introductory resource into researching Māori genealogy. For new researchers in this area you are encouraged to read Charles Te Ahukaramu Royal's book Te Haurapa: an introduction to researching tribal histories and traditions. 1992. [NZ & P 929.10995 R88], and to read the introduction to Ross Himona's website "Māori Whakapapa".

These both sound a note of caution. Traditionally, Māori genealogy has been handed down through the generations orally, and to chosen members of the whanau. Some of this valuable information has entered the public domain in the form of manuscripts and publications. It is always wise, where possible, to verify the printed version with a knowledgeable member of the family.

We have arranged this guide according to tribal area. An iwi map following the contents table below may be of assistance if you do not know which iwi is relevant to your research. We have included works that contain whakapapa, and have excluded works which do not make explicit references to family lineages.

For Auckland users, the Auckland Central City Library has a family history centre, and a Māori information service where further resources such as electoral rolls and shipping lists can be found. They also have copies of the Māori Land Court Minute Books. They are located on Floor 2 of the Central City Library, corner of Wellesley Street and Lorne Street, Auckland City.

When researching whakapapa, it may also be useful to look for local histories of the area that the family lived in. For instance, 100 years of Waiapu by Charles Rau [NZP 995.17 R23] contains many references to places, events and characters of the Waiapu district, but no genealogical tables so it falls outside the scope of this guide.

Acknowledgements
I wish to acknowledge the work of Haneta Pierce, Māori Resources Librarian, at Christchurch City Libraries. This guide is based on the whakapapa booklet produced by Christchurch City Libraries. Ngā mihi nui ki roto i te kaupapa nei ki a koe, Haneta. Tēnā koe, tēnā koe, tēnā koe.

10.2  Books, Articles and Kōrero About Researching Whakapapa Top of page

Bromell, Anne. Tracing family history in New Zealand. 1996. [NZ & P 929.10995 B86t 1996]

McRae, Jane. "Researching Māori Genealogy". NZ Genealogist 23(218) 384-87. Nov-Dec 92. [NZ & P 929.105 N53]

Reedy, Arnold. "Value of whakapapa - question answered by Arnold reedy, Sonny Baker and Pine Taiapa, at Ruataupare School, Tokomaru Bay, 18/5/67. [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 0316.6-.7

Reedy, Arnold. "Arnold Reedy on genealogical and historical canoe traditions."
[Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 0112.14

Royal, Charles. Te Haurapa: an introduction to researching tribal histories and traditions. 1992. [MM 929.10995 R88]
 

10.3  Pre-Contact Top of page
Buck, Sir P. The coming of the Māori. 1949. 
This book looks at the history, traditions, customs, culture, social organisation and economic life of Māori and Polynesians.
[MM]572.995 B92&  Short Loan
Halbert,-Rongowhakaata-W. "Te Tini o Toi." Historical Review (Whakatane and District Historical Society). 9(3):66-116; Sep 1961
Contains many chronological and whakapapa tables.
[NZ & P] 995.16 H67
Leaf, J.M. Hawaiki 2000 B.C. to Hokianga. 1993. 
The migration sometimes known as the "Takitimu migration".
[MM] 572.995 L43
Evans, J. Nga waka o nehera: the first voyaging canoes. 1997. [MM] 995.01 E92
Orbell, M. Hawaiki: a new approach to Māori tradition. 1985. [MM] 398.20995 O63 
Orbell, M. Illustrated encyclopedia of Māori myth and legend. 1995.
Contains many relevant references to waka traditions, eponymous ancestors. Useful for background material.
[MM] 398.2 O64
Reed, A.W. Treasury of Māori exploration. 1977. 
"Legends relating to the first Polynesian explorers of New Zealand."
[MM] 398.20995 R32t
Simmonds, D.R. The great New Zealand myth: a study of the discovery and origin traditions of the Māori. 1976. 
Full section on waka genealogy.
[MM, & NZGC] 572.995 S59g
& Short Loan
Wilson, J., ed. From the beginning: the archaeology of the Māori. 1987. [MM] 571.995 F93

10.4  Iwi Katoa: Whakapapa Relating to Many Iwi Top of page
Alexander Turnbull Library Biographies Index. "Entries index biographical information about people in a wide range of published and some manuscript sources. Some sources indexed are held only in the Alexander Turnbull Library" [Microfiche] 95-145
Bateman New Zealand historical atlas = Ko papatuanuku e takoto nei. 1997. Whakapapa is displayed prominently from Kupe down to the hapu of those districts. Māori place names, main marae, landing places, mountains and their stories, brief notes of legends, as well as whakatauki. Iwi maps are displayed three-dimensionally and are divided into waka areas. [NZ & P, & NZ & P Ref] 911.95 M15
Bell, L. Colonial constructs: European images of Māori 1840-1914. 1992. Includes several named portraits. [MM, & Fine Arts] 757.0995 B43c
The book of New Zealand women: ko kuia ma te kaupapa. 1991.Many biographies of Māori women, eg Ana Hata of Te Arawa descent; Airini Nga Roimata Grenell of Ngai Tahu descent. [MM] 920.7 B72
Ellis, E.M. The gift of tongues: interpreters named in the New Zealand Gazette, 1853-1953: an index. 1994. Many Māori interpreters listed; original entries in the Gazette may have further details. [NZ & P] 410.28 E47
Evison, H.C. Te Wai Pounamu: the greenstone island. 1993. A history of the Southern Māori during the European colonisation of NZ. Ngati Huirapa, Ngati Irakehu, Ngati Kuri, Ngati Moki, Ngati Mako, Ngati Mamoe, Ngati Rangiamoa, Ngai Tahu, Ngai Tarewa, Ngai Te Kahukura, Ngai Te Ruahikihiki, Ngai T즣257;huriri, Ngai Tuhaitara, Ngati Waewae, Ngati Wairangi and Waitaha are some of the South Island Iwi/Hapu mentioned in the text. [MM] 995.49 E93
Fildes, H.E.M. Selective indexes to certain books relating to early New Zealand. 1984. Chapter 2 is specifically relative to Māori. [NZ & P] 016.99502 F47Not to be borrowed
Fletcher, J. Index of Māori names. An index drawn from standard printed works such as the Journal of the Polynesian Society, to personal, place, and iwi names. 2 reels of microfilm. [Microfilm] 194/5
Māori Land Court Minute Books Index. 1865-1910. Pertains to hearings of the Land Court and indexes witnesses? names, tribal and hapu names, and indicates whether whakapapa is present. [Library Website Database]
Mapihi kahurangi: Prized treasures ? illustrated biographies from Ngā taangata taumata rau, 1993. Biographies first published in the Dictionary of National Biography, translated into te reo. [MM] 920.095 D55Fm
Ngā tāngata taumata rau, 1990-. Essays on Māori first published in the Dictionary of National Biography, translated into te reo.  [MM] 920.095 D55F 1990
"Nukutawhiti to Wheeru, Ikanui and Kupe." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
0284.3
The people of many peaks: the Māori biographies from the Dictionary of New Zealand Biography, v1 1769-1869. English language, with some small corrections to the entries first published in the Dictionary of National Biography. [NZ & P] 920.095 D55D
The turbulent years: the Māori biographies from the Dictionary of New Zealand Biography, v2 1870-1900 in English. [NZ & P] 920.095 D55F 1994
Ngā whārangi o te Tiriti : a facsimile of the Treaty of Waitangi. 8 folded sheets in case. Contains signatures of tupuna. 1990. [NZ & P Glass Case] 995 W144w
Waka Huia. Refer to the index on Library Website for this TVNZ series. [Te Huka-ā-tai Video]
"Whakapapa of Io, by Wiinara Haamioa." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
0288.14

10.5  Whanaungatanga Top of page
Hamilton, A. Māori art. (1901;1972) List of waka and chiefs, pp29-37. [MM] 736.0995 H21 1972
Harlow, R.B. A name and word index to Nga Moteatea. 1986. [MM] 899 N57X
King, M., ed. Te Ao hurihuri. 1977 (1992) Especially see pp86-114 "Leadership: inherited and achieved" by Api Mahuika. [MM] 572.995 A637 1992
He korero purakau mo nga taunahanahatanga a nga tupuna = Place names of the ancestors, a Māori oral history atlas. [MM, NZ & P Ref] 929.4 K84
Lindauer, G. Māori paintings: pictures from the Partridge Collection. Portraits and biographies of many chiefs. [MM] 708.995 L74
Lindauer, G. Māori biographies: sketches of old New Zealand, compiled by James Cowan [as a descriptive catalogue of Māori portraits painted by Herr G. Lindauer.] 1901. [NZ Glass Case] 920.095 C87
Mead, S.M. Te toi whakairo: the art of Māori carving. 1986. Sidney Moko Mead describes the styles and patterns of Māori carving. He explains the historical and cultural tradition of carving, its origin and development and tribal variations. A very useful whakapapa source when looking at one's carved tipuna in our whare tipuna. [MM] 736 M47 1986
Neich, R. Painted histories:early Māori figurative painting. 1993. Maps to show meeting-house locations. [MM] 709.95 N39
Nelson, A. Nga waka Māori. 1997. Origin and development of waka, their spiritual significance, and techniques of navigation. [MM] 623.821 N42 1998
Ngata, Sir A.T. Nga moteatea. Vols 1-3 translated by Pei Te Hurunui Jones. Part 1, 1928; Part 2, 1961; Part 3 1980, Part 4  in Māori 1988. A history in ancient waiata from all tribal areas. [MM] 899 N57
Phillips, J., ed. Biography in New Zealand. 1985. Especially see "Māori, biographies, and dictionaries" by Stephen O'Regan. [NZ & P] 920.095 B61
Return giving the names, etc., of the tribes of the North Island & South Island settlements.Hundreds of names of iwi and of individual people, some with relationships noted. AJHR 1870, A.11; AJHR 1892, G.1 [NZ & P] 328.95 N56a
Simpson, M. Index,Haere ki o koutou tipuna; He poroporoaki; obituaries 1952 to 1983. 1984. Index of names taken from obituaries which appeared in the magazines Te Ao Hou, Te Māori, Te Kaea, and Tu Tangata.  [MM & NZ&P] 301.32995 O15 22
Southern people: a dictionary of Otago Southland biography. 1998. Syd Cormack, the Ellison family, and the Karetai family are just a few of the whanau mentioned in this publication. [NZ & P] 920.0958 S72
Smith, S.Percy. The lore of the whare wananga: or, Teachings of the Māori College on religion. (1913-15;1978) Bi-lingual Part 1 ? religion, cosmology and history with some whakapapa tables. Part 2 ? Te kauwae-raro (things celestial) with many whakapapa tables. [MM] 572.995 S66 v.1

[NZ & P Glass Case] 572.995 S66 v.2

Steedman, J.A.W. A new concept in Māori history. 4v. 1996. The author takes legends and histories from many sources and brings them together for comparison. [MM] 995.01 S81 
3 vols.
Taylor, C.R.H. A bibliography of publications on the New Zealand Maori and the Moriori of the Chatham Islands.  [MM] 016.995 T23
He Waka eke noa : Maori information resources [MM] 016.572995 W14

10.7 Whakapapa Resources By Region Top of page
TAI TOKERAU: Northern Iwi Top of page
Davis, C.O. The life and times of Patuone. (1876;1974) Eruera Maihi Patuone was a chieftain of the Ngati Hau hapu from Hokianga in the far North.
[MM] 995.02 P32 1995
Henare, Sir James. "References in talk by Sir James et al to Ngapuhi genealogies including Cherrington family, at Motatau marae, December 1980. [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
152.1
Hoeft, M. The tail of the fish: Māori memories of the Far North. 1968. Te Aupouri is one of the smallest and most famous Māori tribes. This book centres around that tribe. Includes whakapapa tables [MM] 398.2 K39
Judge Gudgeon Genealogies. Tables of whakapapa. 1 volume. [MSS & Archives MP 93/8]
Kawharu, I.H. Orakei: a Ngati Whatua community. 1975. See especially Chapter 2: "Descent and kinship at Orakei". [MM] 301.45109511 K22o
Keene, F. Rangatira from Aupouri. 1974 Life of Herepo Harawira. Far North. [MM] 995.12 H25
Keene, F. Tai Tokerau. 1975. The history of the iwi and its people. Northern Tribes. Motuti.  [MM] 398.2099512 K26
Karanga Hokianga: Hokianga, call your children together. Community Trust 1986. Northland.  [MM] 995.12 K18
"Kurahaupo genealogy after karakia performance of Sonny Waru." [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
82/209.5
Nobbs, K.J. A great Māori pioneer, Rawiri Taiwhanga. 1989. Rawiri Taiwhanga was a chief of Te Uri-o-Hua hapu of Ngati Tautahi Iwi in the far North Te Tai Tokerau. He was also one of Hongi Hika's generals. Included is a whakapapa table. [MM] 995.12 T13
Paraihe, Haimona. "Haimona Paraihe (Pawarenga) gives a genealogy in talk on the tradition and history of the area, Te Uri-o-Tai. 3/10/71 [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music 
72/136.5
Poata, Ihaka. "Ihaka Poata gives whakapapa from Maui-potiki down to Kupe; among stories of Ngapuhi." [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music 
72/132.10
Poti, Hepi. Whakapapa concerning Nga Puhi. Not to be copied without Ron Hou's permission. 1 volume. [MSS & Archives MP 89/1]
Pouto, Taranaki. Nga Puhi whakapapa and tribal history books. 3 vols. [MSS & Archives MP 88/5]
Simmons, D. Māori Auckland, including the Māori place names of Auckland. 1987. (Tamaki Makaurau). [MM] 995.11 S59
Sissons, J. The puriri trees are laughing: a political history of Nga Puhi in the inland Bay of Islands. 1987.Contains whakapapa tables. [NZ & P Glass Case, MM] 995 S62 1987
Taonui, A. "Taonui manuscript: a manuscript of Nga Puhi history". 1975. A son of Makoare Taonui, chief of Te Popoto tribe of the Nga Puhi federation, who lived at Omanaia, South Hokianga, and Oturei, south of Dargaville. Contains in depth historical whakapapa information. Records of the Auckland Institute and Museum. Vol. 12, 17 Dec. 1975 [NZ & P] 506 A89
Waka huia. 
June 28, 1987: Waipoua - Ned Nathan of Te Roroa, on history and people of the Waipoua forest. 
September 18, 1988: Oturei - elders talk about the life and descendants of Aperahama Taonui. 
[Video]
Watene, Toki. "Whakapapa of Paoa." 1947.  [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
78/125.2
Whakapapa Ngapuhi/Waikato/Maniapoto. 28 leaves. [MSS & Archives MP 1988/2]
TAINUI: Waikato and Hauraki Iwi Top of page
Adams, J.C. Tainui history and whakapapa.
Histories and whakapapa as told to J.C.Adams by various people.
[MSS & Archives MP 94/7]
"Connections between Tainui and all the tribes of New Zealand." [Audio Tape] 
0247.15
Cooper, N. Ngati Mahanga: a pakeha family search for their Māori ancestry. 1990. Descendants of Chief Pourewa of Ngati Mahanga, Tainui. Includes whakapapa tables. [MM] 929.2 C8
Ehau, Kepa. "Kepa Ehau traces genealogy to Muturangi, to Te Kani-ā-Takirau, from Muturangi to Potatau, from Muturangi to Tama-te-Kapua, from Muturangi to Pikiao, to Korok﬊ et al..." [Audio Tape] 
0097.25
"Genealogical connection to Toa-Rangatira - Mrs Turnbull." [Audio Tape] 
0247.22
Gilchrist, V.H. An index of pa, kainga, and ana for Tainui [MM] 995 K29i
Griffin, E.M. Tales of Te Namu and Hori Teira. 1972. (English name: George Taylor). Tales of Te Namu a pa in Taranaki and of Hori (Pamphlet) Teira, both famous in Taranaki History. [MM] 995.2 G85
Harrison, P. Otawhao one hundred years on: Te Awamutu College marae. 1985. Tainui whakapapa, waiata, and carving. [MM] 736.0995 H32
Jones, P. Te H. Nga Iwi o Tainui: the traditional history of the Tainui people, nga koorero tuku iho a nga tuupuna. 1995. Bi-lingual. Contains whakapapa tables. [MM] 899.543 J78Y
Jones, P. Te. H. Mahinarangi (the moon-glow of the heavens): a Tainui saga. Tawhao is a famous ancestor of the Tainui people. This book looks at the life stories of Tawhao and his two sons Whatihua and Turongo. Turongo's story includes 'Mahinarangi' the famous East Coast Chieftainess of Kahungunu. Included are whakapapa tables of Turi of the Aotea waka, Hoturoa of the Tainui waka, Kupe of Matahoura waka and Paikea of Horouta waka. [MM] 995.01 J78
Kelly, L.G. "Genealogy of George Kelly." On announcement of his death. [Audio Tape] 
0094.5
Kelly, L.G. Tainui: the story of Hoturoa and his descendants. (1949;1980).  Te Awamutu Historical Society. [MM; NZGC] 995 K29
Kakepuku. 1976. Is a mountain of legend and a mountain of battle. For centuries iwi battled each other for possession of the strategic Kakepuku, as a result it became the mountain of the Ngati Maniapoto people. This tells the history and stories of the mountain. Tainui (Waikato and Hauraki tribes). [MM] 995.15 K13 1987
King, M. A place to stand: a history of Turangawaewae Marae. 1981. Tainui and Waikato iwi. [MM] 301.32995 O15 15
New Zealand Māori Land Court. "Hearing in Otorohanga of Waikato tribes and Māori King family." Includes 15 pages of whakapapa. 45 leaves and 1 microfilm reel. [MSS & Archives C-11]
Steedman, J.A.W. Fabrications of traditional Māori history exposed. 1999. Extensive whakapapa tables of Ngati Raukawa. [MM] 
995.01 S81f
Te Huia, Raureti. "Whakapapa of Mihikotuku given by Raureti Te Huia after performance of Waiata (Nga Moteatea 163); also gives whakapapa of Whatihua, of Ngati Hotu, of Ngati Raukawa etc. in a talk on Waikato history and tradition, ...1947." [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
131.1-.3
Te Rangikaheke, Wiremu Maihi. Genealogical table of the Waikato tribes. 1880? [NZGC] 899.5 R19
Tregear, Edward. Māori-Polynesian comparative dictionary. 1969 reprint. Ngati Maniapoto whakapapa p.667-8. [MM] 499.541 T78 & NZGC
"Turongo to Ngati Raukawa." [Audio Tape] 
0093.7
Watene, Toki. "In talk by Toki Watene at Kohu, Thames, 1947 re Tainui Tradition and History. Genealogy from Papatuanuku and Ranginui down to Marutuahu and to Toki Watene." [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
125.2, .5
Whakapapa Ngapuhi/Waikato/Maniapoto. 28 leaves. [MSS & Archives MP 1988/2]
Whakapapa: "Uenuku mai Rarotonga to Korokﮦquot; [Audio Tape] 
0104.13
White, J. Ancient history of the Māori. 7v. Government Printer, 1887- 1890. v1-3, Takitimu; v4-6 Tainui; v7 Illustrations. [NZGC & MM] 572.995 W58a
MATAATUA: Bay of Plenty: Bay of Plenty Iwi Top of page
Best, E. Tuhoe: the children of the mist. 2v. Reed, 1925. "A sketch of the origin, history, myths and beliefs of the Tuhoe tribe of the Māori of New Zealand, with some account of other early tribes of the Bay of Plenty". v2 contains many whakapapa charts.
[MM] 572.995 B56t 1996
Binney, J. Mihaia: the prophet Rua Kenana and his community at Maungapohatu. 1979. A history of Rua and his people, with many named photographs. Tuhoe (Bay of Plenty). [MM] 995.05 R89Yb 1995
Clark, Puhi. "Interview with Puhi Clark (Tuhoe), waiata and whakapapa, at Maungapohatu, 22/1/78." [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
78/005 
Jordan, E.T. Katikati in legend & history. 1989. Includes census of Ngatirangi adult males, 1864, and whakapapa tables. [NZ & P] 995.16 J82
Kenana, Rua. "References to Rua Kenana's whakapapa." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
0588.3
Kenana, Rua. "Genealogies and discussion re Rua's wives, Waikotikoti Marae, July 1970." [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
0574.1
Lyall, A.C. Whakatohea of Opotiki. 1979. Whakapapa of people of the Eastern Bay of Plenty. [MM] 995.01 L98 1997
McConnell, Bob. Te Araroa: an east coast community. A history. Biographies, photographs, place names, whakapapa (in biographies section). [MM] 995.17 M12
Māori Purposes Fund Board Recording. "Whaikooreo speech in Maaori incorporating genealogy." Recorded at Te Teko. Speaker: Te Muhu. [from Tuhoe] [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
MPFB 43 .5
Te Moana: Nga Puna Waihanga annual hui, Te Rua Tekau Tau 1973-1993. Te Whanau-ā-Apanui is made up of 13 hapu in the Eastern Bay of Plenty, with established marae, details of which are given. Includes whakapapa tables. [MM] 709.95 M68
Parsons, P. In the shadow of Te Waka: the history of Te Pohue district. 1997. Hawkes Bay, Ngati Awa, Ngati Whatumamoa; Ngati Kahungunu invasion; whakapapa tables.  [MM] 995.3 P26
Pio, H.T. Nga taonga tuku iho a Ngati Awa o Te Awa-ā-te-Atua, o Rangitaiki, o Whakatane: ko nga tuhituhinga a Hamiora Tumutara te Tihi-o-te-whenua Pio. 1981. The heritage of Ngati Awa of the three rivers. Mataatua. Bay of Plenty. [MM] 572.995 W55 3
Sissons, J. Te Waimana: the spring of mana. Tuhoe history and the colonial encounter. 1991. Whakapapa tables, and some named portraits. Bay of Plenty. [MM] 995.16 S62
Steedman, J.A.W. Pukenga: the lament of Pukenga, "where are all my people?" 1995. Extensive whakapapa tables; Ngati Awa and Ngaiterangi hapu of the Bay of Plenty. [MM] 929.2 N57
Steedman, J.A.W. Nga tupuna o Rahera-te-Kahu-Hiapo. 1977. (Ancestors of Rahera). Ancestral history which embraces eight waka that carried tribes to the Bay of Plenty. Contains many whakapapa tables.  [MM] 572.995 S81
Tioke, Rev. "Whakapapa from Tuhoe to Rev.Tioke" [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
0086.2
Tregear, Edward. Māori-Polynesian comparative dictionary. 1969 reprint. Te Arawa whakapapa p.667. [MM] 499.541 T78 & NZGC
Tuatahi, Te Kore."Whakapapa from Te Kore Tuatahi down to himself. [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
132.14
"Whakapapa of Mataatua canoe by Erimana Heremana." NZBC 14/4/71. [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
72/119.5
ARAWA: Bay of Plenty Iwi Top of page
Binney, J. Nga Morehu: the survivors. 1986. Life history of eight women of the Bay of Plenty, East Coast, and Poverty Bay; and the Ringatu faith.
[MM] 995.17 M83 1996
Boyd, J. Daughters of the land. Nga uri wahine a Hineahuone. 1993. A glimpse into the lives of rural women in the Rotorua area, 1893- 1993. Biographies and photographs. [MM] 301.412099516 B78
Gardiner, T.M. He ohaaki na nga matua tupuna ko Okahukura: the story of a Ngati Tuwharetoa wharepuni. 1993. Tuwharetoa and Ngatoroingi whakapapa tables; many named photographs. [MM] 572.99516 G22
Grace, J. Tuwharetoa: the history of the Māori people of the Taupo district. 1959.  [NZGC & MM] 995 G729
Kanawa, Te H. Whareangaanga Te Kanawa: he whakamarumaru mo te whanau. 1992. The Te Kanawa family reunion at the Tokikapu marae at Waitomo resulted in this whakapapa booklet that binds the whanau (descendants) of Whare-angaanga, Koropaehi and Parerau. Includes many photographs. Te Kuiti in the King Country. Ngati Tuwharetoa.  [MM] 929.2 T26
"Ngati Tuwharetoa and Te Arawa tribal connections with children of Porourangi." [Audio Tape] 
0233.24-.27
Papakura, M. The old-time Māori. (1938;1986) With an introduction by (Makereti) Ngahuia Te Awekotuku. Includes whakapapa of Arawa waka, and much useful comment on social organisation. [NZGC & MM] 572.995 M23
Stafford, D.M. Te Arawa. 1967. A history of the iwi and its people and places. [MM] 572.995 S779
Stafford, D.M. Landmarks of Te Arawa. 2v. 1994. Written "to enable Māori descendants of Te Arawa and its subtribes to identify virtually every aspect of their history." Contains whakapapa tables, marae and subtribe areas including Ngati Rangiwewehi, Ngati Whakaue. [MM] 572.995 S779L
Steedman, J.A.W. He toto: te ahu matua a nga tupuna. 1996. New interpretation of Māori history which includes 200 whakapapa of Waikato, Coromandel, Whakatane and Tauranga which descend to families of Tauranga and surrounding districts. [MM] 929.2 S81
Steedman, J.A.W. Nga ohaaki o nga whanau o Tauranga moana. 1974. The known whakapapa of families of Tauranga and surrounding Bay of Plenty areas; Arawa and others. Includes many whakapapa tables. See also Tauranga Moana: Māori obituaries. [MM] 929.20995 S81
Thompson, A. Glimpses of Kutarere. 1989. A village on the Bay of Plenty coast. Many photographs of the whanau from that area; includes the school roll in pictures. [NZ&P] 372.99516 T46
Tregear, Edward. Māori-Polynesian comparative dictionary. 1969 reprint. Te Arawa whakapapa p.667. [MM] 499.541 T78 
& NZGC
TAI RĀWHITI: East Coast, Hawkes Bay Iwi Top of page
Awatere, Arapeta. "Genealogy given by Arapeta Awatere at All Aotearoa Hui at Gisborne."
[Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
78/133.10
Clark, Puhi. "Whakapapa. Puhi Clark interviewed by Judith Binney." [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music]
78/005
Genealogy & Māori History of Te Araroa. [Te Huka-ā-tai Microfilm PMD 835]
"Genealogy from Porourangi." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
0319.9
"Genealogy of Porourangi, given at all-Aotearoa hui at Gisborne. Collected by Leo Fowler, no date." [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
78/133.10
Halbert, Rongowhakaata. Horouta: the history of the Horouta canoe, Gisborne and East Coast. Extensive whakapapa information. 130 genealogical charts, some dating from 1000AD to the present. [NZGC & MM] 995.01 H15
Harris, C.L. Genealogies. Ngati Porou whakapapa. Contains an alphabetical name index and genealogical tables separately paged. 1 volume (various pagings) and 1 microfilm reel. [MSS & Archives C-26]
Hogan, H.M. Hikurangi to Homburg: Henare Kohere and Terei Ngatai with the Māori Coronation Contingent 1902. 1997. Ko Hikurangi te maunga, ko Waiapu te Awa, Ko Ngati Porou te Iwi. Bilingual. This account of two young mens' journeys was given the title Hikurangi to Homburg because they were both descendants of the ancestor Porourangi. Contains whakapapa tables and many photos. [MM] 995.04 H71
Kohere, R.T. The story of a Māori chief: Mokena Kohere and his forbears. Ngati Porou. Includes a whakapapa table. [MM] 920.095 K79
Lambert, T. The story of old Wairoa. Information on the Great Fleet; historical pictures of land, marae, and people, with selected whakapapa. [NZ & P] 995.3 L22 1998
Lawson, L. Wharekahika: a history of Hicks Bay. Whakapapa for Ngai Tuere, Ngati Ruawaipu, Nga oho, Ngati Porou; biographical section and photographs. [MM] 995.17 L42
"Mahaki's descent line." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
0319.6
Mahuika, Apirana. "Geneaology of Uepare given in talk by Apirana Mahuika on 'women as leaders in Ngaati Porou'. NZBC 7/11/71. Also talks of tracing of descent lines." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
72/138.4
Manuera, Eruera. "Recites own genealogy at Parewahawaha." Whakatoohea. [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
73/091.5
Mataira. Te whanau a Karepa Tukareaho Mataira. 1997. Bi-lingual. Commemorates the whanau reunion of the descendants of K T Mataira at Nuhaka. Tables showing descent from 5 waka. Also includes extensive whakapapa tables of the Mataira whanau, Hawkes Bay. [MM] 929.2 M425
Ngata, A.T. Apirana Turupa Ngata. 1996. In te reo; includes whakapapa tables; Ngati Porou of Hawkes Bay. [MM] 328.95 N57U
Ngati Porou & Related Families Whakapapa. "Loosely typewritten manuscript of Ngati Porou whakapapa of the seven canoes." [Te Huka-ā-tai Microfilm PMD 835]
"Ngati Tuwharetoa and Te Arawa tribal connections with children of Porourangi." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
0233.24-.27
"Porourangi's genealogy by Arnold Reedy." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
0270.4
Ramsden, E. Sir Apirana Ngata and Māori culture. 1948. [MM] 328.95 N57
Ruatapu, M. Nga korero a Mohi Ruatapu: tohunga rongonui o Ngati Porou. 1993. Bilingual. The writings of Mohi Ruatapu, a Tohunga of Tokomaru Bay. Includes whakapapa tables. East Coast. [MM] 398.20995 R89
Stirling, A.M. Amiria, the life of a Māori woman. 1976. Amiria Manutahi Stirling is a member of the Ngati Hinekehu, a hapu of Ngati Porou. This book tells the story of her life and of her arranged marriage (taumu) to Eruera Stirling of Te Whanau-ā-Maru in the Bay of Plenty. Includes a Whakapapa table. Te Tai Rawhiti (East Coast). [MM] 572.995 S17a
Stirling, Eruera. "Whareraakau to Eruera (Dick) Stirling." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
0036.6
Stirling, Eruera. "From Tama-te-kapua to Dick Stirling by Dick Stirling. Connections to Ngaati Porou given by Arnold Reedy. Stirling gives connection of woman speaker on marae to Porourangi." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
0233.7-.10
Taiapa, Pine. "Porourangi's descendants. References in talk by Pine Taiapa on Proverbs." [Te Huka-ā-tai Audio Tape] 
0389.43
Waka huia.
September 3, 1989: History of the Tamanuhiri hapu ancestors.
[Video]
TARANAKI: Aotea Tokomaru Iwi Top of page
Aitken, L. Purangi 1891-1991. For Ngati Maru, and descendants of the Tokomaru waka: sections include land occupiers, cemetery records, school rolls, 1901-1948. 
[MM] 995.2 A31 
Broughton, R. The origins of Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi. 1983. Rauru Kiitahi is the ancestor of Ngaa Rauru and it is from him that the tribal name was created. Ngaa Rauru is recognised today as a hapu of Taranaki. This book is full of whakapapa tables and information. [MM] 995 B87

Church, I. Heartland of Aotea. 1992. Ngati Ruanui, Ngati Rauru, Taranaki. Includes tables of the Native population of South Taranaki in 1843, South Taranaki census in 1858, census of Ngati Ruanui in 1849 and census of Ngati Ruanui in 1852.  [MM] 995.2 C56h
Condliffe, J.B. Te Rangi Hiroa: the life of Sir Peter Buck. 1972. Born in 1880 on the banks of the Urenui river in Taranaki, Te Rangi Hiroa was a descendant of Ngati Mutunga, Ngati Tama and Ngati Maru who all link with the waka Tokomaru. Includes whakapapa tables.  [MM] 572.995 B92Yc
Gallen, R.G. A souvenir booklet of Waikaremoana, Wairau- moana, Waikare-iti: a concise history of the lakes, the people and the land. 1977. Includes information on Ngati Ruanui whakapapa.  [MM] 995.17 G16
Houston, J. Māori life in old Taranaki. 1965. "Aotea is the canoe, Turi is the man, Anewa-o-te-rangi is the spear". Some of the Aotea people settled around the Coasts of Taranaki. Included are recorded myths and histories of the tribes and hapu of the Taranaki coast.  [MM] 995.2 H84
Irimana, Wiremu. "Reitu's whakapapa." [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
120.22
"Kurahaupo genealogy after karakia performance of Sonny Waru." [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
82/209.5
King, M. Whina: a biography of Whina Cooper. 1983. Includes whakapapa tables. Te Rarawa (Hokianga) and Taranaki descent.  [MM] 995.05 C77Yk
Scott, D. Ask that mountain: the story of Parihaka. 1975. History of the march on the pa and iwi of Parihaka, a village which stands at the base of the sacred mountain Taranaki.  [MM] 995.2 S42a
Smith, P. History and traditions of the Maoris of the West Coast: North Island of New Zealand prior to 1840. 'History and traditions of the Taranaki coast' is the title on the spine (1910;1984). Covers all the west coast from Kawhia to Wellington. Includes good whakapapa tables [MM] 572.995 S66h 1910r
Wharemaru, H. Heeni: a Tainui elder remembers. 1997. The last surviving close friend of the late Princess Te Puea tells her remarkable life story in her own words. Tainui and Taranaki descent. Contains the Hetet whakapapa (table).  [MM] 995.05 W55
WHANGANUI: Wanganui Iwi Top of page
Downes, T.W. Old Whanganui. (1915;1976) The founding and naming of Whanganui by Māori tribes is traced in myths and detailed histories. Contains a whakapapa table showing some descendants of Tu-rere-ao and Tama-tuna. See page 163 for a list of Whanganui hapu.
[MM] 995.44 D74o 1976

[NZ & P] 995.44 D74o 

Downes, T.W. Whanganui river stories: River ripplets. 1993. Contains poetry and stories of the places and people who have connections to the Whanganui river. Includes histories of some of the Māori settlements along the river. [NZP] 995.44 D74w
Keremenata, Manihera. Whakapapa. Diaries, notes, waiata and whakapapa written by this resident of the Catholic mission in Jerusalem. [MSS & Archives MP 94/3]
"Speaker from Wainui-ā-Rua, Whanganui, gives his connection to Waikato." [Audio Tape] 0312.4
TAKITIMU: Lower East Coast Iwi Top of page
Buchanan, J.D.H. The Māori history and place names of Hawkes Bay. 1973. Useful index of personal and tribal names; gazetteer of Māori place names.
[NZGC & MM] 995.3 B91
"Genealogies of Te Whatu-i-Apiti and Te Huhuti (Ngati Kahungunu); NZBC 12.7.70" [Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
0590.7-.8
Hair, A. Muriwai and beyond. 1985. Excellent whakapapa information and many photographs of the whanu and hapu from this area near Gisborne. [MM] 995.17 M97
McEwen, J.M. Rangitane: a tribal history. 1986. This book traces the history of the Rangitane tribe, now based around the Manawatu but with whakapapa links extending throughout central New Zealand. Includes large numbers of whakapapa tables. [NZ & P & MM] 995.45 M142
Mitchell, J.H. Takitimu: a history of the Ngati Kahungunu people, (1944;1972). [MM] 572.995 M68
Nepia, Ted. "From Kahungunu to Pareora - given in talk by Ted Nepia re battle at Wairoa; NZBC 8.2.70" [Audio Tape] 
0532.6
Poi whakapapa. Radio NZ Recording. Two genealogical poi at the Wairoa Hui, Waihirere Pa, 1938. Performers: Waitotara group, Taranaki. [Audio Tape] 
RNZ 10.6; 10.7
White, J. Ancient history of the Māori. 7v. Government Printer, 1887- 1890. v1-3, Takitimu; v4-6 Tainui; v7 Illustrations. [NZGC & MM] 572.995 W58a
Whatahoro, H.T. Māori genealogies. In 8 volumes relating to Ngati Kahungunu and Wairarapa. MSS & Archives C-8
Whaikoorero. "Speech in Māori tracing descent line from Kahungunu to Mahinaarangi." Radio NZ Recording at the opening of Turongo. [Audio Tape] 
RNZ 3.2 (a)
Wilson, J.A. The story of Te Waharoa, together with sketches of ancient Māori life and history. (1907;1984) Ngati Haua of Taranaki. [MM] 995 W74s 1907r
TE UPOKO O TE IKA: Wellington Iwi Top of page
Adkin, L. Horowhenua: its Māori place-names and their topographic & historical background. 1948. A useful aid to whakapapa research, contains some whakapapa tables and area maps.
[MM] 995.46 A23
Carkeek, W. The Kapiti coast. 1968. "Māori tribal history and place names of the Paekakariki-Otaki district". Muaupoko Iwi, Ngati Rangi, Ngati Ira, Ngati Toa. Contains some whakapapa tables. [MM] 995.4 C27
Ehrhardt, P. Te Whanganui-ā-Tara: customary tenure 1750-1850. 1993. Te Whanganui-ā-Tara (Port Nicholson ? Wellington harbour). Migration to this district was generally from the East and the people of the region had kin links to the East, West and South. Ngati Ira, Ngati Toa, Te Ati Awa. [MM] 354.95 W144 3
Solomon, H. Parehounuku: Takapuwahia marae. 1992. Ngati Toa whakapapa and history. [MM] 995.01 P22
Travers, W.T.L. The stirring times of Te Rauparaha, chief of the Ngati Toa with the sacking of Kaiapohia, by J.W. Stack. 1906. [MM] 995.01 T78 1971
TE WAI POUNAMU: South Island Iwi Top of page
Anderson, A. Te Puoho's last raid. 1986. Te Puoho led a Ngati Tama (Marlborough) war-party from Golden Bay along the length of the West Coast, across the Southern Alps and through the Interior of Otago and Southland to storm the Kai Tahu (Ngai Tahu) villages on the shores and Islands of Foveaux Strait.
[NZ & P; MM] 995.01 T31Y
Beattie, H. Māori place-names of Canterbury [1945;1995]. Useful Māori background information with many names. (Waitaha). [MM] 929.4 B36m
Beattie, H. Māori place-names of Otago. 1944. Useful Māori background information with many names. (Otakou). [MM] 929.4 B36ma
Buick, T.L. An old New Zealander: or, Te Rauparaha the Napoleon of the South. (1911;1976) Chief of Ngati Toa. [MM] 995 B93a 1976
Burns, P. Te Rauparaha: a new perspective. 1980. Whakapapa tables for both parents; Toa Rangitira of his father's iwi, and Ngati Raukawa of his mother's iwi. [NZ & P, MM] 995.01 T78Yb
Cormack, S. Four generations from Maoridom: the memoirs of a South Island kaumatua and fisherman. 1997. See genealogy and Southern history, page 145. Includes whakapapa tables. Ngai Tahu, Kati Mamoe. [MM] 995.05 C81
Couch, A. Rapaki remembered: history and reminiscence. 1987. History, traditions and daily life of the village settlement Rapaki in Lyttelton Harbour. Ngai Tahu. [MM, NZ&P] 995.71 C85
Dacker, B. Te mamae me te aroha = The pain and the love: a history of Kai Tahu Whanui in Otago, 1844-1994. 1994. [MM] 995.8 D11
The French and the Māori. 1992 Includes French Tipuna, French/Māori families. [MM, NZ&P] 301.2995044 F87
Garven, P.D. The genealogy of the Ngai Tahu. 4v. 1974-1990. Whakapapa tables. [Clock Tower] 572.9931 GAR (AU students cannot borrow this item)
Griffiths, G. Māori Dunedin. 1980. This book tells of the Māori contribution to Otepoti (Dunedin). It was published to (Pamphlet) coincide with the opening of the new Araiteuru Marae in Kaikorai valley. Ngati Mamoe. [MM] 995.81 G85
Howard, B. Rakiura: a history of Stewart Island, New Zealand. 1940. Includes census 1844 at Ruapuke and Rakiura; Ngati Mamoe and Ngai Tahu. [MM] 995.87 H84
Madwick, P. Aotea ? A history of the South Westland Māori. 1992. This area has been home to a succession of tribes from the ancient Waitaha to Ngati Mahaki, a sub-tribe (hapu) of Ngai Tahu. This book recounts some of the traditions and battles of these people. Includes a census of Māori and European in Otago in 1851-1852, a census of Māori in Mahitahi (Bruce Bay) in 1879 and a census of Māori in Westland in 1892. Includes a whakapapa table for Kati Mamoe. [MM] 572.9956 M18
Mikaere, B. Te Maiharoa and the promised land. 1988. This book looks at the impact that loss of the land had on the people of Te Waipounamu and tells the story of Hipa Te Maiharoa, the prophet who led his people to the promised land and found it flowing with tears. Kai Tahu, Ngati Toa, Ngati Tama. [MM] 995.01 T27
Queen Charlotte Sound, New Zealand. The traditional and European records, 1820. 1987. Includes aspects of traditional Māori history of Totaranui (Queen Charlotte Sound) Ngai Kuia, Ngati Kuri. [MM] 572.995 Q3
Shortland, E. The southern districts of New Zealand. (1851;1974) Whakapapa tables; Murihiku; Ngati Mamoe, Waitaha. [MM, NZ&P] 919.549 S55 1974
Southern people: a dictionary of Otago Southland biography. 1998. Syd Cormack, the Ellison family, and the Karetai family are just of few of the whanau mentioned in this publication. Ngai Tahu. [NZ&P] 920.0958 S72
Stack, J.W. South Island Maoris: a sketch of their history and legendary lore. (1898;1984). The material for this text was collected between 1859-1863, from Native chiefs residing in different parts of Te Wai Pounamu. Waitaha, Ngati Mamoe, Ngai Tahu. [MM] 572.995 S77 1898r
Taylor, W.A. Lore and history of the South Island Māori. 1952. Historical Māori information relating to Nelson, Marlborough, Canterbury, Kaiapoi, Otautahi, Rapaki, Otakou, Murihiku, Rakiura and other places. [MM] 572.995 T24
Travers, W.T.L. The stirring times of Te Rauparaha, chief of the Ngati Toa with the sacking of Kaiapohia, by J.W.Stack. 1906. [MM] 995.01 T78 1971
Two Māori stories from Marlborough. 1983. Bi-lingual. Tuiti Makitanara of Rangitane descent wrote this manuscript in 1894. It contains two traditional tales, an associated whakapapa table and three letters addressed to the Māori scholar Elsdon Best. Marlborough. [MM] 899.5 C22
Waite, F. Maoris and settlers in South Otago: a history of Port Molyneux and its surrounds. (1940;1980). The history of Māori and Pakeha in South Otago. Includes a whakapapa table of Tuhawaiki who became paramount chief of Te Waipounamu. Kati Mamoe.  [NZ&P] 995.84 W14 1980
Wilson, E. Titi heritage: the story of the Muttonbird Islands. 1979. Dedicated to the descendants of all Rakiura (Stewart Island) Māori. The names of the chiefs who owned the Islands, and signed for them in 1864, and the names of all those Māori entitled to go there are in this book. Ngai Tahu. Ngati Mamoe. [NZ & P] 995.87 W74
WHAREKAURI: Chatham Islands Iwi Top of page
Holmes,  D. My seventy years on the Chatham Islands: reminiscences by David Holmes. 1993. Contains stories of the people and places of the Chatham islands. 
[NZ & P] 995.49 H749
Johnson,  Te M.The people of the Chathams: true tales of the islanders' early days. 1994 Contains stories, anecdotes, traditions and legends of the old Chatham Islands. "This is people history".  [NZ & P] 995.49 W74
King, M. A land apart: the Chatham islands of New Zealand. 1990. An exploration of the elements of the Chatham's life and history. Looks at the descendants of the Moriori, Māori, sealers, whalers and missionaries.Ngati Mutunga, Ngati Tama.  [NZ & P] 995.49 K53
King,  M. Moriori: a people rediscovered. 1989. Rekohu is the name given to the Chatham Islands by its indigenous people, the Moriori. Contains photographs and whanau history.  [NZGC] 995.49 K53m 
& MM
Taylor,  C.R.H. A bibliography of publications on the New Zealand Māori and the Moriori of the Chatham Islands. 1972. References to a huge range of publications relating to Māori, see chapters 15, 24, 27 for whakapapa publications.  [MM] 016.995 T23 
[MM] 499.541 T78 & NZGC

10.8 Putunga Hotuku - Electronic Resources Top of page

Databases Top of page
The following databases are listed at:

/maori.htm

Library Website : Resources by subject Māori

Databases

Māori Land Court Minute Books Index
Indexes New Zealand Māori Land Court minute books 1865-1910 by block name, witnesses' name, type and length of case, place of sitting, whakapapa and hapu.

Manuscripts and Archives Catalogue : New Zealand and Pacific Collection
Lists manuscripts and archives held in the New Zealand and Pacific Collection and Te Huka-ā-tai (Māori Studies Library), including both original and copied material such as microfilm.

Ngā Taonga o Te Tai Tokerau Database on Library Website
A bibliography listing manuscripts, theses and books which give information about the history tradition, language, genealogies, incantations, localities, proverbs and customs of Tai Tokerau.

Māori Bibliography
From Waikato University. Supplements references to Māori not covered by INNZ.

INNZ  Index New Zealand
Contains references to articles in NZ magazines and newspapers, as well as reports, conferences, theses, educational resources and other publication's in and about New Zealand and the Pacific. A good source for Māori Information as it indexes a lot of Iwi newspapers.

Waka Huia and Marae
Two indexes to the TVNZ programmes. Available only to staff and students of the University.

Internet Resources Top of page
Consult "Te Puna Web Directory" at 
http://webdirectory.natlib.govt.nz/dir/en/nz/maori/

Māori Whakapapa Research

Whakapapa Māori by Ross Himona
 
SUBJECT SEARCH FOR WHAKAPAPA ON VOYAGER

Using Voyager, the Library on-line catalogue, try the following subject search: 

maori new zealand people genealogy



10.9  Key to Library Locations Top of page
VOYAGER (the on-line catalogue)  Can be accessed from workstations in all University of Auckland libraries and via the University of Auckland Library home page on the Internet.
Library Website Library Electronic Academic Resources Network. Available on public access workstations in the Library.
General Library   5 Alfred St, Auckland City
MM Mātauranga Māori Collection At the north-side of Level G, following the wooden display shelving on the right.
Microfilm Held in the Microtext Reading Room, Level G, to the left of the glass staircase.
NZ Glass Case A restricted access collection in Special Collections. Ask at the Special Collections reception desk.
NZ & P Books with these letters preceding the call number are held on the open shelves in the NZ & Pacific Collection, Level G  of the General Library Building.
NZ & P Quick Reference Level G, General Library, on the wooden display shelving at the entrance to the Mātauranga Māori area.
Short Loan Collection Level 1, Kate Edger Information Commons
Special Collections To the south-side of Level G of the General Library, left of the glass staircase.
Te Huka-ā-tai Located in the Māori Studies Department, 16 Wynyard St.
Thesis General Library Ask for items with this location at the Lending Services Desk, Level G, General Library.

Contact: Māori and Pasifika Services
File Last updated by Roland Brownlee: Thursday, 31 August 2006
Original file by Robert Sullivan.