| Back to Māori Studies Guides Page |
|
Waitangi: Treaty and Tribunal |
| Contents | |
| 9.1 | Introduction |
| 9.2 | The
Waitangi Process - Key Books and Articles Books Articles Searching VOYAGER Finding journal and newspaper articles |
| 9.3 |
Waitangi Tribunal claims Guides Lists of claims |
| 9.4 |
Law Acts of Parliament Case law |
| 9.5 | Waitangi Tribunal reports |
| 9.6 | Māori land history |
| 9.7 | Government policy |
| 9.8 |
Principles of the Treaty Land bank |
| 9.9 |
Treaty of Waitangi (1840) - History
and texts Text of the Treaty Signatories |
| 9.10 | Key to Library Locations |
| 9.1
Introduction
This guide is designed to help students find material about the Treaty of Waitangi and the Waitangi Tribunal. It lists key items which appraise the process as a whole, gives relevant subject headings for searching the Library catalogue and Index New Zealand (INNZ), and lists a variety of other more specialized sources. The Waitangi Tribunal was set up under the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 to investigate claims of Māori against the Crown for breaches of the Treaty of Waitangi. An amendment Act in 1985 empowered the Tribunal to investigate claims relating to Crown actions from 1840. In 1993 the Tribunal was prohibited from making recommendations involving privately owned land. By December 2002, approximately 2000 applications had been lodged.
9.2
The
Waitangi Process - Key Books and Articles and Electronic Resources
Books
Durie, Mason. Te mana, te kāwanatanga:
the politics of Māori self-determination. 1998. Graham, Douglas. Trick or
treaty?. 1997. Honouring the treaty : an
introduction for Pākeha to the Treaty of Waitangi. 1989. Justice & identity :
antipodean practices. 1995. Minogue, Kenneth R. Waitangi :
morality and reality. 1998. Ngata, Apirana. The Treaty of
Waitangi, an explanation : Te Tiriti o Waitangi, he whakamarama.
1963. Sharp, Andrew. Justice and the
Māori : Māori claims in New Zealand political argument in the
1980s. 1990. [NZ&P 354 M16] Papers from the Hirangi hui and the NZ Institute of Advanced Legal Studies conference. Waitangi : Māori and
Pakeha perspectives of the Treaty of Waitangi. 1989.
Articles
Kawharu, Hugh. "The
Treaty of Waitangi : a Māori point of view." British
Review of New Zealand studies, v.5, Nov. 1992, pp.23-36 Mikaere, A.L. "Māori issues." New
Zealand law review. 1996. Vol. 2, pp.162-186. Walker, Ranginui. "The genesis
and transformation of the Waitangi Tribunal." Man and a half
: essays in Pacific anthropology... 1991. [Short Loan 990.5 J96]
Searching
VOYAGER
Some frequently used subject headings, for subject searches, are: treaty of waitangi 1840 Guided keyword searches on VOYAGER may also be useful: eg waitangi principles | |
|
|
|
maori sovereignty See the guides available at each Library Website workstation for more information. You may also sign up for a Voyager Library course, or do an online Voyager tutorial. Finding Journal and
Newspaper Articles
Index
New Zealand (INNZ) 1987- [Library Website] "waitangi tribunal" Research (academic) level material can be sorted out from general interest material by adding the words and tara research to the Command search option, as in the example below:
Index to New Zealand periodicals 1941-1986 The precursor of INNZ, the Index to New Zealand periodicals, indexes only journals, including the Māori Affairs Department publication, Te Ao hou. It covers the years 1941-1986 and is kept on the NZ&P Quick Reference shelves. Look under Māoris. Newztext 1995- [Library Website > Resources by Subject > Māori Studies] Provides full text of articles from newspapers owned by INL (Independent Newspapers Ltd) for which INL has the copyright (1995 to present). Covers the New Zealand Herald from November 1998 to the present. Newzindex. 1985- [Library Website > Resources by subject > NZ&P] Provides references to articles in journals, magazines and newspapers. Coverage includes business and trade journals. Main emphasis is on business subjects. LexisNexis. [Library Website > Databases and Article> B > Butterworths Online] Via Butterworths Online. Indexes articles in all the major New
Zealand law journals and some overseas ones. Linxplus includes
headnotes for a very wide range of New Zealand case law (coverage
varies for particular courts and dates). Updated daily. Nga korero
o te wa : a summary of decisions, events and plans throughout New
Zealand. 1995- [NZ&P 079.95 N57] Te Manutukutuku 1989- [NZ&P 301.451095 M29] Also at Davis Law Library. Newsletter of the Waitangi Tribunal. Includes lists of new claims and progress on earlier claims Guides
2nd. ed. 1993 [NZ&P 354.95 W14r] Guides for claimants with
information about researching and presenting claims and practical
information on planning and budgeting are: Te Ara tirohanga : a guide
for researchers into Māori claims. Rev. ed. 1993 [NZ&P 354.95
W144o 3] Lists
of claims
Lists of new claims and progress
on earlier claims are published in the newsletter of the Tribunal Te
Manutukutuku [MM 301.451095 M29].
Acts
of Parliament
Butterworths
Online is a database that
allows you to keyword search current legislation. Select NZ Legislation in the menu screen.
Gives full text of all New
Zealand Principal Acts currently in force, including repealed sections
and schedules. An historical summary at the end of each Act outlines the
effect of each later amending Act. Also gives full text of selected
repealed Acts (mainly 1960 on). The Status Regulations database, also
within Butterworths Online, covers statutory regulations.
Case law
BRIEFCASE
indexes New Zealand reported and unreported cases. It includes citations
for older and overseas cases mentioned in recent New Zealand case law.
Published in New Zealand by Law Library Management. Coverage is from
1986 to the present. Updated fortnightly.
Copies of all published reports are held in the NZ&Pacific
Collection. Most are at NZ&P 354.95 W14. There are also copies
in the Davis Law Library. They can be retrieved on VOYAGER
with the
author search The full text of the
published Waitangi Tribunal reports can be accessed on-line via the
Library Website. Click on Resources
by subject and on Māori Studies. Click on Databases.
The Waitangi Tribunal Reports are listed halfway down the screen. It
is possible to keyword search all the reports at once and download and
print the pages on which the sought names, words or phrases occur. The
database is also freely available on the Internet at http://www.waitangi-tribunal.govt.nz/reports/
Submissions and evidence
New Zealand. Waitangi Tribunal.
Waitangi Tribunal records of documents and submissions published on
microfiche. [Microfiche 95-113]
Some submissions for Wai 45 and
Wai 46 are held in printed form at MM 354.95 W14
The Waitangi Tribunal has recently published a series of general reports
on the history of Māori land. One 3 volume work gives an overview
of the legislative history of Māori land from 1840.
Ward, Alan. National overview. 1997. Further publications concentrate
on particular periods and facets of the land legislation; others cover
the country region by region. They are called the Rangahaua
whānui series and are held at [MM 354.95 W144] See the Māori Studies guide Māori
Land for more information
Crown proposals for the settlement of Treaty of Waitangi claims:
detailed proposals. 1994 [NZ&P 354.95 W14c] Policy papers and cabinet minutes released under the Official
Information Act and covering a range of government policies relevant to
Treaty settlements have been published in book form as: New Zealand Policy
papers for Crown proposals for the settlement of Treaty of Waitangi
claims. 1995 [MM 354.95 W14cp] New Zealand Office of Treaty Settlements. Briefing to the incoming
Government. [1996] [MM 352.885 N53] for the general framework and
an area by area analysis.
New Zealand. Department of Justice. The Crown and the Treaty of
Waitangi : a short statement of the principles on which the Crown
proposes to act. 1989 [NZ Pamphlets 89-2] Also at Davis Law Library
and Geography Library.
New Zealand. Department of Justice. Principles for Crown action on
the Treaty of Waitangi. 1989 [NZ Pamphlets 89-1] Also at Davis Law
and Architecture.
New Zealand. Court of Appeal. The Treaty of Waitangi in the Court
of Appeal: the full judgments of the Court in the New Zealand Māori
Council?s case. 1987. [NZ&P 333.0995 N53c]
Further references can be found on VOYAGER,
Lexis Nexis
and Index
New Zealand with a keyword search for waitangi AND
principles
Land Bank
9.9
Treaty of Waitangi (1840) -- History and Texts
The standard account which has also been published in condensed and
pictorial formats and is widely available around the University Library
system is For an earlier view see
Buick, T. Lindsay. The Treaty of Waitangi : how New Zealand became
a British colony. 1933 The most easily accessible eyewitness account first published in 1890
is
Colenso, William. The authentic and genuine history of the signing
of the Treaty of Waitangi... [New ed.] 1971. [MM 995 C69 1971] Also
at NZ Glass Case, and Architecture Library.
Facsimiles of the Treaty
Facsimiles of the Declaration of Independence and the Treaty of
Waitangi. New Zealand. Ngā whārangi o te Tiriti: a facsimile of
the Treaty of Waitangi. 1990. [NZ Glass Case 995 W144w] Treaty
Principles
Text of the treaty
Signatories
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
9.10 Key to Library Locations |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
| VOYAGER (the on-line catalogue) | Can be accessed from workstations in all University of Auckland libraries and via the University of Auckland Library home page on the Internet. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Library Website | Library Electronic Academic Resources Network. Available on public access workstations in the Library. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| General Library | 5 Alfred St, Auckland City | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| MM Mātauranga Māori Collection | At the north-side of Level G, following the wooden display shelving on the right. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Microfilm | Held in the Microtext Reading Room, Level G, to the left of the glass staircase. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| NZ Glass Case | A restricted access collection in Special Collections. Ask at the Special Collections reception desk. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| NZ&P | Books with these letters preceding the call number are held on the open shelves in the NZ&Pacific Collection, Level G of the General Library Building. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| NZ&P Quick Reference | Level G, General Library, on the wooden display shelving at the entrance to the Mātauranga Māori area. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Short Loan Collection | Level 1, Kate Edger Information Commons | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Special Collections | To the south-side of Level G of the General Library, left of the glass staircase. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Thesis General Library | Ask for items with this location at the Lending Services Desk, Level G, General Library. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Contact:
Māori and Pasifika Services
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||