T H E O L O G Y   &   R E L I G I O N    D A T A B A S E S

DATABASE CATEGORIES

Theses, dissertations, bibliographies, book reviews:

Archives and manuscripts

see also History links.

 

Journal Indexes (Theology focus):

Journal Indexes (some Theology content):

 

Online encyclopedia and dictionaries (Theology focus):

Online encyclopedia and dictionaries (some Theology content):

ACCESS DATABASE
 
   

Theology related Databases

 
ATLA Religion Index 
indexes more than 600 journals and other multi-author publications in Biblical Studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.  The full text links to journals are included.
  ARI - Australasian religion Index. The Australasian Religion Index (ARI) is an author and subject index covering over eighty religious and theological serials published in Australia or New Zealand and representing all religious traditions. Related areas of study are also covered. List of serials indexed
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
index of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith.
 
ProQuest Religion
contains 90 journal titles on religion, with 87 in full text.  Most articles are in PDF format.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Index of journals on religious history, biblical studies (300 full-text journals).
    Google Full-Text Theological Journals Search
 
Philosophers Index
Provides citations and abstracts to articles in over 300 journals from 1940 to the present.
Library Only
Amos - fulltext (Hebrew and English) with commentary, audio and pictures.
    TRENS
Searchable database of over 6,800 theological theses/dissertations and conference papers. Formats include Electronic documents.   Use Document Delivery to order papers.
 
   
     
    Full text Encyclopedia, Dictionaries etc
Library Only   Bibleworks
93 Bible translations (29 languages), 12 original language texts, 7 morphology databases, 6 Greek & 4 Hebrew lexicons and dictionaries.
    The Brill Dictionary of Religion
    Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture.
    Dictionary of Gnosis & Western Esotericism
    The Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception
includes current research about Biblical texts and documents the history of the Bible’s reception in Judaism and Christianity in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, in other religious traditions and contemporary movements.
    Oxford Scholarship Online
A searchable online collection of scholarly books published by Oxford University Press.
   

Religion Past and Present
A searchable online encyclopaedia published by Brill, Religion Past and Present. Print version in Arts Reference (200.3 R38)

 
   
  Full text Databases with some Theological or Religious content
 
Academic Research Library 
Multidisciplinary fulltext database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers.  A Proquest 5000 database.
The Bible in English contains twenty versions of the Bible, from Tyndale to the King James Bible...
Early English Books Online
Facsimile access to over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection.
 
Expanded Academic
Multidisciplinary fulltext database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. 
Patrologia Latina
A complete digitised version of Migne's 221 volume collection containing the works of the Latin Fathers, from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to Pope Innocent III in 1216, including all prefatory material, critical apparatus, indexes, and illustrations.
New Pauly (Brill) A searchable online encyclopedia of the ancient world. The chronological scope ranges from the 'Aegean Koine' (middle of the 2nd millennium BC) to the formation of early medieval Europe (AD 600 to 800).
 
Project Muse
Current international full-text serials covering the humanities and social sciences.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
This is a full text database of primary sources of Greek literature from Homer to the 6th century A.D.
 
   
  Other related indexes
Interdisciplinary Resources
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, Te Puna , Web of Science,  etc 
New Zealand Databases
Index New Zealand, FindNZarticles, Newztext.
 
 
Global Missions & Theology. Click Browse Collections to select it.
A resource that is part of Archives Unbound . Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States.
 
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. 
 
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Coverage includes theology

PsycINFO
Abstracts over 1,500 psychology journals as well as book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
 
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes 2600 journals in the field of sociology as well as relevant websites.
Library Only  Victorian Database
Indexes books, articles, and dissertations published from 1970 to 1995 on every field of nineteenth-century British studies, including Missions.

Comments and suggestions to : m.hangartner@auckland.ac.nz
updated : December 16, 2011
File location : theo/theo.htm