SUBJECT GUIDES : TRADE DATA

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)
 

 

BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides BEIS Subject Librarians  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian

See also the guide on Trade and tariff
 

Access Databases for the University of Auckland community
Campus Comtrade
From the UN, this database is a matrix of bilateral trade by commodity for most countries. Data is from 1962 onwards, where available.

Library and alsoBusiness Information Centre (BIC)

Datastream
IMF (International Monetary Fund) Direction of Trade data is available under IMF in the Economics view. Also in print form at S1/IMF TRAy (annual) in the Statistics Collection on Level M in the General Library. There is no commodity data.
   
Campus Infoshare: Statistics New Zealand time series data including: economic information, such as price indexes and production figures; demographic measures, wholesale and retail trade information; exports and imports data; and building consents data. View the Statistics Release calendar 
Library only New Zealand Time Series
Monthly data for imports by origin, exports by destination, the value of imports/exports of major commodities, and the volume of principal imports and exports.
Campus Source OECD
From the Statistics package data is under ITCS International Trade by Commodities Database.   Annual statistical data on imports and exports by commodities and by partner countries in OECD countries and selected non OECD countries including China, Hong Kong, and Chinese Taipei. Quantities and US$ values. SITC Revision 2 data from 1961, SITC Revision 3 data from 1990, Harmonised System data from 1990, and Harmonised System 1996 from 1996 onwards.
Campus United Nations Common Database
includes bilateral trade flows
Campus World Development Indicators
Annual data for very broad trade categories, eg imports and exports, investment, government, health, labour
 
The internet links are to non-subscription data resources on the Internet 
Internet WTO statistical database annual time series data from 1980 onwards of bilateral flows by broad commodity. Includes Chinese Taipei.
Internet OFFSTATS : Official Statistics on the Web
Some trade data under country entries. See also the Topics and Regions components of OFFSTATS.
Internet NZSTATS : New Zealand Statistics Sources
Trade data under subject entry Trade
Internet Statistics New Zealand trade resources
Print International trade statistics. [S1/GATT  TRA, Statistics Collection, Level M]
from the World Trade Organization. Includes trade by region and trade by sector. Includes Chinese Taipei.
Print International Trade Statistics Yearbook. [S1/UN TRAy. Statistics Collection, Level M]
Data on bilateral trade and trade by commodity (SITC 2, BEC) from the UN

Comments and suggestions to: Gillian Ralph
 Last updated: January 29, 2010