S U B J E C T   G U I D E S  : STATISTICAL DATABASES

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)

BEIS home | BEIS Subject Guides | BEIS Subject Librarians | Business School | Ask a librarian


License Agreements
Under the terms of our license agreements with database owners, access to theLibrary's databases is restricted to members of the University of Auckland. Databases may be searched and single copies of non-substantial parts of the databases copied only for the purposes of university teaching, research, and study. Data may not be copied in any format for sale or any other commercial purpose, nor may it be copied or reproduced for the benefit of any third party external to the University of Auckland. Recompiling or publishing any portion of data in any form may be done only with the specific written permission of the database owners
Access
Database
Business Monitor Online
Macroeconomic and industry sector annual data and forecasts mostly for emerging markets/countries. Industries covered are autos; chemicals; commercial banking; defence & security; food & drink; freight transport; Information technology; insurance; oil & gas; petrochemicals; pharmaceuticals & healthcare; telecommunications; tourism
WRDS
Compustat
Annual and quarterly income statement, balance sheet, statement of cash flows, and supplemental data items on most publicly held North American companies, plus Global and S&Ps EMBA database. Available via WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) to University of Auckland academic staff and PhD students for research purposes
Comtrade
United Nations commodity trade statistics database has data for bi-lateral trade between countries and areas by commodity. Annual data, from 1962 onwards where available
WRDS
CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices)
Security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Available via WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) to University of Auckland academic staff and PhD students for research purposes
Library Only
Datastream
Specialist database of mostly time series economic and financial data, particularly equity and stock index data. Includes IMF Direction of Trade data
Library Only   EMED Emerging Asia
Economic and financial time-series data for 20 Asian countries. Includes data for national accounts, balance of payments, demographics, labour market, domestic and foreign debt, foreign trade and investment, government revenue and expenditure, inflation, interest and exchange rates, financial markets.
Global Development Finance
from the World Bank has annual time series data from 1970 onwards on the 'movement of international capital flows to developing countries'
WRDS
Global Insight / DRI (Desert Research Institute)
US annual, quarterly, monthly data plus IMF (International Monetary Fund), IFS (International Financial Statistics) data. Available via WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) to University of Auckland academic staff and PhD students for research purposes. IMF data is also available via the International financial statistics database (see below)
Passport GMID
from Euromonitor provides information and statistics on consumer lifestyles, consumer market analysis, companies and brands, major market profiles, and country data. Useful for industry/product information and data, particularly market share. Useful also for economic data
WRDS
I/B/E/S (The Institutional Brokers Estimates System)
Forecasts from security analysts, including earnings per share, revenue, cash flow, long-term growth projections and stock recommendations. Available via WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) to University of Auckland academic staff and PhD students for research purposes

 

 

Infoshare

database from Statistics New Zealand providing a wide range of official time series data. Detailed exports and imports data (by HS code and country) are available.

International Financial Statistics (IFS)
From the IMF, monthly, quarterly and annual time series of financial and macroeconomic data for most countries
Library only
ITU World telecommunication indicators database
Time series data from the ITU for the years 1960, 1965, 1970 and annually from 1975 onwards for telecommunication statistics for over 200 economies. Variables include telephone network size, traffic, investment, revenue, service quality, mobile services and cellular subscribers
    ILOSTAT an International Labour Office (ILO) database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Department of Statistics. Topics for over 200 countries include:
Consumer Price Index, Employment / Unemployment, Income and expenditure, Injuries at work, International labour migration, Labour costs, Strikes, and Wages.
IRG online(Interactive Research Group)
Financials, prices, forecasts for NZX companies. Daily indices data for the NZSX and NZAX
LibraryOnly
Key indicators of the labour market
Time series data, mostly from 1980 onwards, from the ILO. A print version is shelved at S1/ILO LABm 2003 in the General Library
 
Market Information Digest
Using information mostly sourced from ACNielsen SCANTRACK, the Market Information Digest provides New Zealand general retail trade and product category data
Mergent online
US company data (15,000 public companies listed on NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges). International company data (20,000 non-US public listed companies)
Monthly bulletin of statistics
from the UN. Latest annual and monthly data covering population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment, earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, trade and finance
Library Only
National Climate Database
"The National Climate Database (CliFlo) is New Zealand’s national repository of high quality climate data. It comprises historical paper-based archives dating back to 1860, together with extensive digital, computer-accessible data series amounting to about 20 gigabytes of data" Information about data access and costs
New Zealand television audience measurement online ratings report
A numeric estimate of the television viewing audience collected from a representative sample of households ... Nielsen Media Research Television Ratings represent the industry currency for television audience measurement in New Zealand with a fully national PeopleMeter panel of 500 households. This equates to approximately 1200 people 5 years and over
 
New Zealand Time Series
A collection of time series data from Statistics New Zealand drawn from their INFOS database. Easy to use database covering most topics - national accounts, social welfare benefits, population, tourism, migration, cpi, exchange rates, labour force data, retail trade data, IT data. Does not include crime, education or health data (except for Government spending on education and health, and health enterprise data)
NZSTATS : New Zealand Statistics Sources
Provides access to internet, database and print sources for data specifically about New Zealand. Web links are arranged by subject
 
OECD health data is on OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary
Includes data on economics, education, employment, energy, finance, globalisation, health, industry investment, migration, national accounts, science, tax revenue, telecommunications, and trade. Includes bi-lateral trade data by commodity. Build your own tables or download the full text of OECD statistical publications.

 
OFFSTATS : Official Statistics on the Web
Provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web. Web links are arranged by country, region or subject
 
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
An InfoTrac database providing information on social issues. Data is drawn from a series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as reference content from other Gale and Macmillan reference sources. Comprises topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles
WRDS
PACAP (Pacific-Basin Capital Markets)
Capital markets data plus some economic data from 1975 onwards for 8 Pacific basin countries: Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Taiwan. Available via WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) to University of Auckland academic staff and PhD students for research purposes
    Penn World Table
Internationally comparable data on economic growth among countries and over time.
Library Only
SDC Platinum (Securities Data Company)
Financial transaction information including joint ventures, mergers & acquisitions. This database is available to University of Auckland academic staff and postgraduate students enrolled for Honours, Masters or a PhD
TableBase
Finds journal and magazine articles with statistical data reports. International coverage of demographics, companies, industries, marketing segments. Includes data on company and brand rankings, industry and product forecasts, market share, number of users or outlets, production and consumption, trends, usage and capacity. Most of the data are in trade magazines
Library Only
WISTAT: Women's Indicators and Statistics Database
Data on aspects of the economic and social life of women in over 200 countries. See also the United Nations' Statistics and indicators on women and men
    World Bank eLibrary
A searchable online collection of all World Bank publications, including its journals, book series, and working papers.
World Development Indicators
World Bank annual time series data from 1960 onwards of social, economic and environmental indicators for most countries. Print form at S1/WBG DEVi with a companion publication, the World Development Report at S1/WBG DEV [Statistics Collection Level M]
Library Only
World Resources
Environmental and socio-economic data from the World Resources Institute
(password access)
WRDS(Wharton Research Data Services)
Share marketand company financial data plus some economic data. Available to University of Auckland academic staff and PhD students for research purposes
United Nations Common Database
Time series data from a variety of international official sources covering social, economic and demographic topics. Use the Monthly bulletin of statistics for recent data

Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Gillian Ralph
 Last updated: 21 February, 2013