SUBJECT GUIDES 


STATISTICS AND NUMERIC DATA : INTERNET SITES
 
    
Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS) 

BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides BEIS Subject Librarians  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian


Data meta sites | Data archive centres | Data networks

These websites are also included in OFFSTATS. Some of the following sites may require subscription access to the data, in which case the link to the site is intended as informative
 

CAMSIS: Cambridge Social Interaction and Stratification Scales. Stephen McTaggart in the Department of Sociology is responsible for the New Zealand component of this study

ClickZ Stats internet trends

Correlates of war data The Correlates of War project seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations

Cranet Cranfield Network on Comparative Human Resource Management - information. The New Zealand contact is Erling Rasmussen in the Department of Management and Employment Relations, at Auckland University of Technology

Current Population Survey  is  a 'monthly survey of about 50,000 households' conducted by the [US] Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics

Economics datasets free on the web  compiled by John Sloman from the Economics Network

EconStats includes US and global economic data and stock market data. Some historical data from the IMF International Financial Statistics

Eldis has links to statistics sites and is helpfully arranged by topics including education, gender, health, finance, poverty, HIV/AIDS, labour,  agriculture, food and nutrition, trade, commodities, and debt

International macroeconomic dataset 'provides data from 1971 through 2017 for real (adjusted for inflation) gross domestic product (GDP), population, real exchange rates, and other variables for the 31 countries and 34 regions'

Harvard CID (Center for International Development) Free but registration required. 'cross-country political, economic, and demographic data sets' including Penn world tables and Polity

How much is that? EH.net 'comparative value covering purchasing power, exchange rates' and GDP

Living standards measurement study from the World Bank

Metagora 'a project focusing on methods, tools and frameworks for measuring democracy, human rights and governance'. Information but no statistics yet. See also Country information for additional resources

National Accounts Main Aggregates Database (UN) annual data for GDP and exchange rates from 1970 onwards

NationMaster Compare and graph countries over a vast array of topics

NBER datasets (National Bureau of Economic Research) including trade, US tariff, occupational wages around the world, Barro Lee, social security pension reform in Europe

Panel Study of Income Dynamics from the University of Michigan. See also:
Member country listing from IFDO (International Federation of Data Organizations for the Social Science)

Penn world tables has purchasing power parity and national income accounts in international prices

Public opinion surveys. CISER's (Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research) list of internet sites

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes  complied by Helen Hough at the University of Texas at Arlington

World Bank research datasets. A wide variety of topics are covered, select the one required

World values surveys Information only. Online data access is by subscription.
See also the 2005 New Zealand values survey


Data meta sites top

Data links edited by Bill Goffe, and sponsored by the AEA, (American Economics Association) mostly to economic and financial data resources

Data on the net SSDC (Social Science Statistical Data) links to social science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries

Economics data links from Rutgers University Libraries 

FedStats United States Federal Statistics, select relevant data from the drop down lists

United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs Search by country or select Free text search for data


Data archive centres top

CESSDA Council of European Social Science Data Archives. Includes North America and Australasia

COBRA Collection of Biostatistics Research Archive

Australian Social Science Data Archive 

ESDS Economic and Social Data Service UK focused

IASSIST International Association of Social Science Information Service & Technology. Useful information under the Tools and Apps tab

IFDO International Federation of Data Organizations for the Social Sciences

NDAD : National Digital Archive of Datasets  is part of The UK National Archives and 'unveils vital information that has helped to inform and shape UK government policy and legislation across a wide range of issues (eg health, education, housing, crime and the environment)'

New Zealand Social Research Data Archives at Massey University

UK Data Archive 

Unite States Government Document Archive researching public documents


Data networks top

New Zealand Social Statistics Network  at the The University of Auckland

 


Copyright © The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Gillian Ralph
 Last updated: 21 February, 2013