S U B J E C T G U I D E S : STATISTICS
and NUMERIC DATA
Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)
BEIS home | BEIS Subject Guides | BEIS Subject Librarians | Business School | Ask a librarian | Business Blog |
|
|
This page provides information about databases and
internet sites for building and downloading tables of
data; locating international data archives; locating
data on specific topics, and information about the University of
Auckland Library's collections.
-
Statistics New
Zealand Resources: information about and links to the resources
provided by Stats NZ for universities and
academic research, including the statistical data package for
New Zealand universities in terms of the agreement between
Stats NZ and the New Zealand Vice Chancellors' Committee (NZVCC).
See also:
|
NZSTATS: New Zealand Statistics Sources
NOTE:
Statistics New Zealand has created a new website. This has caused broken links in NZStats database, which are currently being checked and repaired.
This University of Auckland database
provides
access to the Internet, databases and print sources
for data specifically about New Zealand.
|
|
|
Statistics New Zealand
Resources
Statistics New Zealand and the New Zealand Vice
Chancellors' Committee (NZVCC) entered into an agreement
in 2007. The agreement enabled the development of a statistical data package
for New Zealand Universities. The Statistics for Universities webpage provides information and links to
the data package. The package includes:
- Infoshare: Time series data including: economic information, eg
price indexes and production figures; demographic measures, eg
births, deaths and life expectancy; arrival and departure data;
wholesale and retail trade information; exports and imports data;
and building consents data. Data found in INFOS has been transferred to Infoshare. Statistics Release calendar provides dates of forthcoming datasets
- Table Builder: this powerful
tool offers web-based access to Statistics New Zealand
data. Topics include: agriculture, business, employment
and unemployment (labour market), exports and imports,
household economic statistics, housing quality, housing
affordability, income, injury, population estimates and
projections, population census (2001 and 2006), and
recorded crime. The data is presented in tables from
which variables can be selected to create a customised
table or graph. Help is provided within Table Builder
itself. There is also a useful set of "how to" video clips with audio
commentary. They provide instruction on how to access
and use Table Builder using 2006 Population Census
information and are particularly useful for new users of
Table Builder.
- Business Toolbox provides quick and easy access to industry, markets and customer information. The Market Mapper tool can be used to find target markets and potential customers, while the Industry Profiler provides a small business industry profile with information about the number of businesses by region, average employee earnings, and total jobs filled in the industry.
- Access to Microdata (AtoM): an analytical tool developed
by Statistics New Zealand based on the Remote Access Data Laboratory (RADL) system
developed by the Australian Bureau of Statistics. AtoM
allows researchers to run SAS code against Expanded Confidentialised
Unit Record Files (CURFs) and receive confidentialised output by
email.
- Census, the official count of population and dwellings in New Zealand taken every five years. There is allso an additional package of 2006 Census Data Modules that include additional combinations of variables measured in the 2006 Census of Population and Dwellings and as a result provides researchers more information in areas that are of interest to them.
- Census Meshblock Data: "The
2006 Census Meshblock Dataset is now available. It contains counts
starting at the meshblock level for selected variables from the
2006, 2001 and 1996 Census of Population and Dwellings, rebased to
2006 Census boundaries. The Meshblock Dataset can be integrated with
databases (in conjunction with StreetLink)
or mapping systems (using Digital Boundaries) to assist analysis and decision making."
- Social Sciences Data Package:
"The social sciences data package comprises nine modules of data
from the 2006 Census of Population and Dwellings, in the form of 136
Excel tables. The objective of the package is to enable university
users to undertake detailed examination of the social, demographic
and economic elements of New Zealand's population. The data package
is provided at a national level, although each dataset is broken
down into urban/rural categories."
- Digital Boundaries:
electronic files of the various geographic boundaries (in digitised
form) for use in mapping and geographic information systems (GIS).
- StreetLink:
concords streets and areas to larger administrative areas.
StreetLink is made up of two parts, the Streets file, and the Areas
file. The Streets file is an electronic list of address ranges and
street names that fall within meshblocks. The Streets file is
updated on a monthly basis.
- Treasury long-term data series: this data series has been collected together by staff at
the New Zealand Treasury to provide a general reference source of information on demographic,
social and economic trends in New Zealand. The series cover varying
periods of time between 1840 and 2004.
New Zealand Time Series
- New Zealand Time Series:
this is a collection of statistical information in
electronic form largely from the Statistics New Zealand
database Infoshare (previously INFOS). Some series from the Reserve
Bank and from Treasury are also included. The information is organised into
broad NZTS subject areas, (eg Government Finance) each of which
is further subdivided into files and then series.
|
|
Guides
to Finding Statistics
- Internet Sites: includes
links to additional economic, financial, political and social data
and data archive sites.
- Business
Statistics - tutorial handout: the subject librarian offers a number of
different training sessions on finding statistical data.
Contact Gillian
Ralph for more details.
|
|
| Databases
The Library
maintains two in-house databases that provide links to official
statistics online, and in print within the Library collection.
They are:
- NZSTATS: New Zealand Statistics Sources. This
database provides access to internet, database and print
sources for data specifically about New Zealand. Web
links are arranged by subject.
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the web. This
database provides access to free statistics from
official sources on the web. Web links are arranged by
country, region or subject.
Databases by subject
- Statistical databases: the Library subscribes to a range of statistical
databases that allow users to build and download tables of
demographic, environmental, social, economic and financial
data. Full list of databases.
- Trade data: includes
licensed and open source databases and
internet sites.
|
|
| Information and Research Guides
|
|
Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments
and suggestions to: Gillian Ralph
Last updated: 5 December, 2011
|