INTERNET GATEWAY STATISTICS
Statistics - Select an Internet Category... ------------------------------------------- Guide to Library services and resources Databases Reference Selected Web Sites, Datasets & Internet Resources NEW BOOKS of potential interest Mathematics and Statistics: Subject Librarian Internet search engines, other libraries, etc
REFERENCES
This page contains links to online dictionaries and the like. See also databases; web resources; etc
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences: an updated online version of Wiley's Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences, which was 16 volumes in its latest print edition (2nd, 2005). The articles, written by acknowledged authorities in their field, cite relevant references and may be printed in PDF.
MathWorld: a searchable quick reference, regularly updated; over 12,000 entries; extensive references. For further details on any topic, consult the bibliographic references at the end of each article. The Library's reference text "CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics", ed. Eric W. Weisstein, 2nd edition, 2003 is a snapshot of this excellent website (sponsored by Wolfram).
Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC): the structured index used to categorise MathSciNet and Zentralblatt für Mathematik. The MSC does not define these terms, but does give a taxonomic context of broad terms.
Hint: to find examples of a technical term used in context, why not search for that term in STATSnetBASE
Glossary of Statistical Terms: (Prof Philip B. Stark, UC Berkeley) 270 entries -- being the glossary to his online introductory text SticiGui [Statistics Tools for Internet and Classroom Instruction with a Graphical User Interface]
Data Analysis Briefbook ( R.K. Bock & W. Krischer, CERN) 300 entries on statistics, computing, analysis, and related fields.
Glossary (Prof. David M. Lane, Rice U), 130 entries — to accompany HyperStat his hyperlinked introductory text, which also has links to other useful sites.
STATISTICA Glossary (StatSoft, Inc) over 900 entries from the Electronic Manual of STATISTICA.
Oxford Reference online. If you know a term will be an entry heading, use the browse button. Search all the references or just . . .
Oxford English Dictionary online searchable version of the full 20-vol set (plus addenda).
Link to Subject Guides -- Statistics || Subject Guides -- Mathematics || Subject Guides -- Physics
Comments and suggestions to: Michael Parkinson (Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, and Physics) Last updated 2011-08-08