INTERNET GATEWAY STATISTICS

DATABASES for STATISTICS


ACCESS 

SUBJECT-SPECIFIC DATABASES

Campus 

MathSciNet is a key mathematical resource produced by the AMS, indexing over 2½ million items: books, papers from books, conferences, and journals, etc ... including items in Statistics and its applications. Some 100,000 are added each year, of which 40% are reviewed. It also includes links to subsequent citations for some items.

Campus 

Zentralblatt MATH database is also a key mathematical resource that indexes and reviews Mathematical works: books, papers in journals & conferences, etc.  The coverage is now from 1868 to the present; with 3.0 million items indexed. Zentralblatt classifies all its items under the MSC 2000 codes.

Campus  Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences — a continuously updated online version of Wiley's Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences, which was 16 volumes in its latest print edition (2nd, 2005). The articles, written by acknowledged authorities in their field, cite relevant references and may be printed in PDF.
Campus 

MathEduc Database: formerly known as MATHDI, edited by Gesellschaft für Didaktik der Mathematik (GDM), MathEduc is an international reference database covering the literature on research, theory and practice in mathematics education.
To Access the Full-Text e-versions, click the "WorldCat" button: if that does not work, do check individual book or journal titles in the Library's catalogue, or contact your Subject Librarian for assistance — for example, the "WorldCat" fails for most of our statistical e-books.

Campus  New Zealand Time Series, a collection of statistical information from Statistics New Zealand. Much of the data is also freely available from Infoshare

FULL-TEXT resources

Campus 

SpringerLinkfull-text online access to over 20,000 books and 2000 journals ... primarily published by Springer-Verlag (a major publisher in Maths & Stats), but also including titles from Birkhauser, Karger, & others — full-text searchable! Most of the books are also listed in the Library Catalogue.
The Library does not have the complete SpringerLink content. Access is shown by a box beside each reference with three following options: If the box is filled with green, then there is access to it all; if it is half filled then there is access to some; and if it is white there is no access.

Campus 

ScienceDirect, a publisher's full-text delivery system to over 2000 Elsevier journals, mostly in the sciences, including over 50 statistics-related titles; also some full-text books.  Has an Alert service. — full-text searchable!

Campus 

STATSnetBASEfull-text online access to statistical books published by CRC. HINT: Use the "Advanced Search" to search the full-text of over 8,000 books

Campus 

Wiley Online Library:  Most journals are available full-text, but only a small election of the books are available online. Of the 640 results classified under Statistics, we 57 journals and over 100 e-books, but most of the statistical books not online are available in print instead.

Campus 

Oxford Reference Online: Simultaneously browse over 130 Oxford University Press reference resources, especially dictionaries & handbooks. This is a good resource for understanding technical terms from other subjects, as well as several English dictionaries — although the "big", multivolume Oxford English Dictionary is a separate resource, the OED online.

Campus 

OCED iLibrary: Extensive full-text resources, including books, studies, reports, best practices, as PDF files and "OECD.Stat" statistical data downloadable as tables.

 

MUTIDISCIPLINARY databases — usually with some full-text links

Campus 

Scopus provides abstracts and references to over 20,000 peer-reviewed journals (across more than 4,000 publishers), many with direct links to the electronic full-text version. Citation data available from 1996 onwards. It has over 36 million items, with a strong emphasis on the Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, & Social Sciences. It also indexes over 310 million scientific web-pages. Has an Alert service.

Campus 

Web of Science is a multidisciplinary citation database indexing 48 million items: primarily journal articles from over 10,000 journals in all subjects; also conference proceedings.  Search options include: author, topic (keywords), the cited articles/books.  Citation data is now available from 1898 onwards.  Has an Alert service.

Campus 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (formerly Digital Dissertations): some dissertations/theses are available in full-text. Currently, about 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses added annually.

 

Other Databases  A-Z

Campus 

There are many more databases, but the following have been variously appropriate for other Statistics patrons.
Staff and Postgraduate students should contact the Mathematics & Statistics Subject Librarian for a research consultation. 

Campus  ABI/Inform covers business & economics, in a wide range from academic journals to trade magazines & newspapers, the date & quality varying from title to title. Restricting searches to only scholarly journals & full-text articles is usually recommended.
Campus  Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre, used for a Stats150 assignment
Campus  Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts covers “developments in science, technology, and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms, including biology, ecology, and pollution.”    Has an Alert service.
Campus  Biological Abstracts covers biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology; indexes articles from 6,500 serials; some 90% of items have abstracts.    Has an Alert service.
Campus  Cinahl [Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health] abstracts of articles in over 1200 nursing, allied health, biomedical, & related consumer journals.   Has an Alert service.
Campus  Conference Papers Index: Subject emphasis is in the life sciences, environmental sciences, & aquatic sciences.
Campus  Embase: a major biomedical & pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 journals.  Has an Alert service.
Campus  Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management indexes material from 6,000 serials (especially scientific journals) and thousands of other sources; almost every item has an abstract.    Has an Alert service.
Campus  ERIC: a database of education-related articles & resources.  Has an Alert service.
Campus  IEEE Xplore contains the full-text of all IEEE and IEE publications including IEEE & IEE journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from 1988 to the present.
Campus 

INSPEC primarily concerns research (journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, books) in physics, computing, engineering, robotics & automatic control, systems & control theory, etc.  Most items have abstracts.    Has an Alert service.

Campus  JSTOR: an archive of scholarly journal literature, including 20 titles in Statistics — with a few more in Mathematics.
Campus 

Medline covers over 4600 biomedical journals, has an Alert service; however the Medline data is entirely included in Scopus which is easier when searching by keyword or for processing your results — but do use the Medline link if you will be searching instead by the Medline thesaurus or Medline subject headings.

Campus  PsycINFO abstracts over 1,500 psychology journals as well as book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.  Has an Alert service.

Link to Subject Guides -- Statistics || Subject Guides -- Mathematics || Subject Guides -- Physics

Comments and suggestions to: Michael Parkinson (Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, and Physics)
Last updated 2011-09-13