S P O R T A N D E X E R C I S E S C I E N C E D A T A B A S E S.
| DATABASE |
| Medline Indexes more than 5,000 medical journals. Coverage includes sports injuries, rehabilitation, sports medicine, physical education and training, exercise therapy and nutrition. Coverage : 1966 - present (updated weekly) |
| PubMed Provided by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes coverage of Medline (1966 - ) and Old Medline(1950 - 1965), plus very recently published articles which have not yet been indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). PubMed and Ovid Medline searches will find similar references but the search interfaces are different. Freely accessible on the Internet. Coverage: 1950-present (updated weekly) |
| Scopus Scopus is a multidisciplinary database with 16,000 peer-reviewed titles and 27 million abstracts including all of the citations, abstracts and references of all journals in Medline. Subjects covered include: Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics and Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. Produced by Elsevier Science (who also produce ScienceDirect) it has a similarly user-friendly interface. Coverage: 1966 - present |
| SPORTDiscus Indexes over 2000 journals and books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other sources in the field of sport and exercise science. 4 simultaneous users only. From 1/10/06 this database will be only available via the Ebsco interface. Coverage: 1975 - present (updated monthly) |
| ABI/INFORM Indexes over 2,700 business periodicals. Full-text articles provided for nearly half of these. Coverage includes sports marketing, employment and management issues, professional sports. |
| AUSPORT Australian Sport Database, coverage includes sport administration, coaching, nutrition, history, facilities, physiology, psychology of sport. Some New Zealand coverage. The majority of the resources indexed in this database are contained within SPORTDiscus. Only worth searching if you cannot search SPORTDiscus. Coverage: 1989 - present (updated three times a year) |
| Cinahl Abstracts of articles in 650 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer journals. Coverage includes athletic rehabilitation, sports medicine, doping in sports. Coverage : 1982 - present (updated monthly). |
| Current
Contents Indexes table of contents pages from approximately 8,000 science, social sciences, medical, arts and humanities journals. Coverage includes sports injuries, sports medicine, psychology and sociology of sport, endurance, nutrition, motivation, gender issues in sports and sports equipment. Coverage : late 1997 - present |
| EBSCOhost A set of 19 databases from Ebsco Publishing (including SPORTDiscus) with mostly full-text periodical collections, with an emphasis on peer-reviewed journals. Major components are Academic Search Premier, with 3,956 full-text journals, and Business Source Premier, with 3,317 full-text journals. Smaller more specialised full-text databases relevant to Sports and Exercise Science include: Health Business Elite, Health Source Consumer Edition, Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition, the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and the Sociological Collection. Coverage: varies between databases. |
| Expanded
Academic Multidisciplinary full-text and indexing database of 3000 academic journals, magazines and newspapers. Coverage: 1980 to the present, although the database has most content from 1992 onwards, (updated daily) |
| HEHA Knowledge Library Database of New Zealand research and evaluation on nutrition, physical activity, obesity, exercise science, physical recreation and sport, from the year 2000 onwards. Healthy Eating – Healthy Action (HEHA) is the Ministry of Health’s strategic approach to improving nutrition, increasing physical activity and achieving healthy weight for all New Zealanders. |
| IPLit – Injury Literature Database for New Zealand selective index to injury prevention research articles, reports, websites, newsletters and related health promotion sources relating to New Zealand. |
| Journal Citation Reports Journal Citation Reports provides Journal Impact Factor information and is published in two editions, covering journals in the areas of science and technology and in the social sciences. Each annual database contains the previous year's publication data, showing each journal's impact factor and other information. There is a listing for the top 71 journals in the Subject Category 'Sport Sciences'. |
| Neuroscience netBase Contains the full text of over 100 electronic books on neuroscience published by CRC Press. These books are also included in the Library Catalogue. The full-text of any or all of the books can be searched for keywords. |
| PsycINFO Indexes and abstracts over 2,400 journals from over 50 countries, as well as English-language books and book chapters, technical reports and dissertations published worldwide. Coverage includes psychology of sports, anxiety, goal orientation, cognitive processes, recreation therapy, role of gender in sports, occupational stress and ergonomics. Coverage : 1806 - present, (updated monthly) |
| ScienceDirect Operated by the same host as Scopus, ScienceDirect contains the full text of over 2500 journals. These journals are primarily from Science, Medicine and Engineering; but there are also some titles from Social Sciences and Business & Economics.'In press' articles are included. |
| Sociological
Abstracts Indexes 1800 sociology journals, also conference papers, books, dissertations, websites. This is primarily a sociology database which also contains information on sociology of sports, professional sports, sport and the media, sports and culture, role of gender in sports, sports and ethnic identity. Coverage: 1952 - present (updated monthly with approximately 2,500 records. |
| Web
of Science Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index (1985-) Social Sciences Citation Index (1991-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1991-) (all updated weekly) |