I N T E R N E T   G A T E W A Y   :   S P O R T   A N D   E X E R C I S E   S C I E N C E 

 

ORGANIZATIONS, UNIVERSITY DEPARTMENTS, CONFERENCES

This page contains a number of links to New Zealand, Australian and International University Sport and Exercise Science departments, government departments, and organizations and conferences.
New Zealand

Universities
University of Auckland Department of Sport and Exercise Science
Auckland University of Technology Division of Sport and Recreation
Lincoln University Department of Social Science, Parks, Recreation, Tourism and Sport
Massey University Health Science (Sport and Exercise Science) Programme
University of Otago School of Physical Education
UNITEC Sport - Study Programme
University of Waikato Department of Sport and Leisure Studies


 
Organizations/ Societies / Institutes 
ACC  Accident Rehabilitation and Compensation Insurance Corporation. 
Adidas Sports Medicine a multi-disciplinary medical treatment and research facility specialising in athletic injuries and rehabilitation based on the Tamaki Campus.
Athletics New Zealand   
Drug Free Sport New Zealand a government funded agency based on the Tamaki Campus whose mission is 
"to provide a sporting environment free of banned doping methods for New Zealand sport and athletes".
Injury Prevention Research Centre based in the School of Population Health, IPRC conducts multidisciplinary research to identify causes of injuries and effective ways to prevent or reduce injury. The Librarian maintains a database of New Zealand relevant injury prevention resources.
Ministry of Research, Science and Technology
Netball New Zealand
New Zealand Academy of Sport supports athletes and their coaches by providing the latest in sport science services, sports medicine, and personal development guidance and education/career services. New Zealand Academy of Sport North is based on the Tamaki Campus and is a consortium involving Auckland University of Technology, the Millennium Institute of Sport and Health, the University of Auckland and the Waikato Institute of Technology.

New Zealand Ministry of Health Home Page  has a wide range of Ministry of Health material, including the
HEHA (Healthy Eating, Healthy Action) Knowledge Library, an online database of New Zealand research and evaluation on nutrition, physical activity, obesity, exercise science, physical recreation and sport, from the year 2000 onwards.

Paralympics New Zealand National Sporting Organisation (NSO)  for people with disabilities
  Physiotherapy New Zealand. Formerly New Zealand Society of Physiotherapists. Includes full-text access to 'New Zealand Journal of Physiotherapy' under 'Publications' link.
  Royal Society of New Zealand "The Royal Society of New Zealand is an independent, national academy of sciences, and a federation  of scientific and technological societies."
Sport and Recreation New Zealand (SPARC) Promoter and supporter of sport in New Zealand. SPARC was formed in February 2002 following the merger of the Hillary Commission, the New Zealand Sports Foundation and the policy arm of the Office of Tourism and Sport.
Sportscience  An interdisciplinary site for research on human physical performance based at the University of Otago.
Sport Science Centre Elite sports facilities at the University of Canterbury.
Sports and Exercise Science New Zealand  Mission Statement : "To assist New Zealand athletes and coaches to achieve excellence of sport performance through quality sport science support."
Sports Medicine New Zealand a non- profit making multidisciplinary organisation for all health professionals and other groups and individuals interested in community health, with special reference to the principles of sports medicine and exercise science. Holds conferences.
Statistics New Zealand Extensive range of statistical facts.
Triathlon New Zealand



Conferences 
Sport and Exercise Science New Zealand Annual Conference 2008 Massey University, Albany, 18-19 November 2011
NZ Sports Medicine Wellington, 27-29 October 2011


 
Australia

Universities 
University of Ballarat
School of Human Movement and Sport Sciences
Bond University
Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine
University of Canberra
Sports Studies
Deakin University
School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences
Central Queensland University
School of Health and Human Performance
Edith Cowan University
School of Exercise, Biomedical and Health Science
Griffith University
School of Physiotherapy and Exercise Science
James Cook University
Institute of Sport and Exercise Science
La Trobe University
School of Sport, Tourism and Hospitality Management
University of Melbourne
School of Physiotherapy, Centre for Health, Exercise & Sports Medicine
University of New South Wales
School of Medical Sciences, Exercise Physiology Program
University of Notre Dame
School of Health Sciences, Fremantle
University of Queensland
School of Human Movement Studies
Queensland University of Technology
Faculty of Health
University of South Australia
School of Health Sciences
University of Sydney
School of Exercise and Sport Science
University of Tasmania
School of Human Life Sciences, Exercise Science
University of Victoria
School of Sport and Exercise Science
University of Western Australia
School of Sport Science, Exercise and Health
University of Western Sydney
School of Exercise and Health Sciences
University of Wollongong
Faculty of Education - Physical and Health Education

Organizations / Societies / Institutes
Australian and New Zealand Society of Biomechanics The Society was founded in February 1996 to be a forum for biomechanists from all variety of disciplines, or areas of study, within Australia and New Zealand, to meet and communicate.
Australasian College of Sports Physicians  
Australasian Digital Theses Program Full-text of hundreds of Australian Masters and Ph.D. theses in all subjects. Produced by the Council of Australian University Librarians
Australian Institute of Sport The mission of the Australian Sports Commission is 'to enrich the lives of all Australians through sport'.  
Australian Sports Commission Recognising the immense role sport has to play in providing health, social and economic benefits to the nation, the Australian Government directs its contribution to sport through the Australian Sports Commission (ASC).  Australian Sports Commission - Women and Sports    
Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority (ASADA) An Australian Government organisation established in 2006, as a result of the Government's commitment to strengthen its Tough on Drugs in Sport Strategy. Includes factsheets and statistics on commonly used substances.
National Sport Information Centre Aims to contribute to the achievement of the Australian Sports Commission's objectives by enabling access to sports and related information and services.    
Sports Medicine Australia Sports Medicine Australia is Australia’s national umbrella body for sports medicine and sports science. A non-profit professional and community education organisation, made up of a variety of professional groups.    



Conferences 
ABC8 The 8th Biennial Australasian Biomechanics Conference 28-29 November 2011, Australian Institute of Sport
ACSMS Australian Conference of Science and Medicine in Sport, 19-22 October 2011
Australian Sports Commission Conferences and Seminars



International

Universities
Birmingham University, UK School of Sport and Exercise Sciences
Leeds Metropolitan University, UK Carnegie Faculty of Sport and Education
Loughborough University, UK School of Sport and Exercise Sciences, English Institute of Sport
Roehampton University, UK Sport and Exercise Science Research Centre (SESRC)



Organizations / Societies / Institutes
American College of Sports Medicine Promotes and integrates scientific research, education and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science to maintain and enhance physical performance, fitness, health, and quality of life.    
American Orthopedic Society for Sports Medicine A national organization of orthopaedic surgeons specializing in sports medicine; the AOSSM works closely with many other sports medicine specialists and clinicians, including family physicians, emergency physicians, pediatricians, athletic trainers and physical therapists, to improve the identification, prevention, treatment and rehabilitation of sports injuries.    

British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences BASES is the UK professional body for all those with an interest in the science of sport and exercise.

Gatorade Sports Science Institute The aim of the Gatorade Sports Science Institute is " to foster and share education, service and  research in sports nutrition and other aspects of exercise science and active lifestyles." Fluid loss calculator. Register for free GSSI Online membership and access the GSSI Reference Library.  It contains information  on a wide variety of sports medicine, sports nutrition, and exercise science topics.  
German National Library of Medicine The German National Library of Medicine (ZB MED) is the Federal Republic of Germany's central specialist library of medicine, health sciences, nutrition.
International Federation of Sports Medicine The Fédération Internationale de Médecine du Sport (FIMS) is an organization comprised of over 100 national sports medicine associations and hundreds of individual members from around the world.    
International Sociology of Sport Association This body is a research committee of the International Sociological Association (ISA) and also an official committee of ICSSPE (the International Council of Sport Science and Physical Education). There are 250 members worldwide and holds annual conferences, including congresses in conjunction with the World Congress of Sociology and the Pre-Olympic Scientific Congress.
International Sports Engineering Association Applying engineering and scientific disciplines to sports; access to discussion groups and sports engineering links. Holds conferences and produces a journal.    
International Working Group on Women and Sport The Group is an independent coordinating body consisting of representatives of key non-governmental organizations from different regions of the world. It has the over-arching objectives of promoting and facilitating the development of opportunities for girls and women in sport and physical activity throughout the world.
North American Society for the Sociology of Sport
Olympics Official website of the olympic movement.
SIRC (Sport Information Resource Centre)  collects, organizes and distributes sport-related practical and research information through SPORTDiscus  SIRC Sport Research is a not-for-profit organization based in Ottawa Canada. Founded in 1973 as a resource for coaches, athletes, sports medicine professionals and sporting organizations.
Sport England Sport England is a government and lottery funded organisation which works with other governmental agencies to  create opportunities for people to start in sport, stay in sport and succeed in sport. There are links to English sports websites.
UK Sport Established in 1996, UK Sport is a government and lottery funded organisation which works in partnership with other bodies to drive the development of a world-class high-performance system in the UK.
US Anti-Doping Agency (USADA) USADA is dedicated to preserving the well being of Olympic sport, the integrity of competition, and ensuring the health of athletes.
Women's Sports Foundation US-based organisation funded by individual and corporate contributions. The organisation is “dedicated to ensuring equal access to participation and leadership opportunities for all girls and women in sports and fitness” and is engaged in advocacy, research and education towards this goal.
WomenSport International WomenSport International (WSI) was formed to “meet the challenge of ensuring that sport and physical activity receive the attention and priority they deserve in the lives of girls and women and to meet the need for an international umbrella organization that can bring about positive change for girls and women in these important areas of their lives.”
World Anti-Doping Agency Through a collective initiative led by the International Olympic Committee, WADA was created in 1999 to support and promote fundamental values in sport. It is structured on the basis of equal representation of the Olympic Movement and Public Authorities  



Conferences 
Calender - Federation Internationale de Medecine du Sport Includes conferences and meetings
 
File last updated : 16-Jun-2011
Comments and suggestions to Derryl Hayman