INTERNET RESOURCES: SOCIOLOGY & CRIMINOLOGY


Websites

Australian Social Science Data Archive
ASSDA collects and preserves computer-readable data relating to social, political and economic affairs and makes the data available for further analysis.
glbtq :an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender & queer culture
A cultural encyclopedia of things gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered, and more. It contains information about the arts and literature and includes bibliographies and other source lists. Moderated discussion lists on various related topics are linked to the site.
Global Social Change Research Project
This site has World Social Change reports, reviews of main world demographic and political changes and data used to develop the reviews, and a review of theories of change. This site also links to free information about long term changes in political, economic and social systems. This site links to theory, data, research, syllabi, history, and more.
Guide to Public Opinion Poll Web sites
Polling data from around the world.
ISIM
International Institute for the Study of Islam in the Modern World.
The Men's Bibliography
A comprehensive bibliography of writing on men, masculinities, gender, and sexualities (18th edition, 2008)
New Zealand Social Research Data Archives
NZSRDA is located in the Faculty of Social Sciences, Massey University. It collects, cleans, documents and preserves computer-readable data relating to social, political and economic affairs to make that data available for further research and analysis.
Pacific Collection
Links to Pacific related web sites. Compiled by the University of Hawai'i at Manoa Library.
Pacific Studies WWW Virtual Library
Compiled by the Australian National University.
PolicyArchive
A comprehensive digital library of public policy research.
Population Index (1986 - 2000)
An annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics, this searchable and browsable database contains over 45,000 abstracts of demographic literature.
Resources for Methods in Evaluation and Social Research
Links to free resources in social research methods, including online books, manuals, articles on how to do social research, including surveys, interviews, observations and more. Also links to research about research methods, free software, and sites on how to present data. This site also has a review of free statistical resources.
Social Issues Research Centre
SIRC is an independent, non-profit organisation founded to conduct research on social and lifestyle issues, monitor and assess global sociocultural trends and provide new insights on human behaviour and social relations.
Social Science Information Gateway for Sociology (SOSIG)
Links to many organisations, resources and guides to sociology.
A Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace
An entry point for many other sociology websites.
The SocioWeb
An independent guide to Sociological resources available on the Internet.
The SocioLog
Julian Dierkes' comprehensive guide to sociology online.
SocioSite
A social science information system based at the University of Amsterdam that aims to serve as a collegial online meeting place for the exchange of freely available, sociology-oriented scholarly information.
Statistical resources on the Web : Sociology
American and international data.
Virtual Religion Index
A guide to religion-related websites.

Associations, Organisations and Societies

Sociological Association of Aotearoa/New Zealand SAANZ
American Sociological Association ASA
Asia Pacific Sociological Association APSA
The Australian Sociological Association TASA
British Sociological Association BSA
Canadian Sociology and Anthropology Association CSAA
La société canadienne de sociologie et d'anthropologie SCSA
International Sociological Association ISA
National Centre for Social Research
NatCen is the largest independent social research institute in Britain. Includes a link to The Scottish Centre for Social Research (SCSR)
Pew Global Attitudes Project
A series of worldwide public opinion surveys.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
An archive preserving the data from polls conducted by many leading survey research organizations.
Social Policy Evaluation and Research
The Social Policy Evaluation and Research Committee, or SPEaR, is a coordination hub for government agencies and the social research and evaluation sector to improve capability, capacity and outcomes.

File last updated : February 4, 2011
File location : socmeta.htm
Comments and suggestions to the Sociology Subject Librarian : m.begum@auckland.ac.nz