Sociology databases | Social Science databases | Full text databases | Newspapers | New Zealand & Pacifc databases |
Sociology databases |
| For an introductory guide to the literature, see the Criminology section of Oxford Bibliographies Online. |
| Sociological Abstracts Indexes over 2,600 serials relating to sociology. |
| Sociology: Sage Full Text Collections Contains the full text of sociology journals published by Sage. There are also journals in communication, education, management and organisation, politics and international relations, psychology, urban studies andplanning. |
| Social Theory Containes an extensive range of influential writings representing important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day including seminal works by such theorists as Harriet Martineau, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Max Weber, Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, Jürgen Habermas, Talcott Parsons, Michel Foucault and Jean Baudrillard. |
|
|
| Chicago Manual of Style Online The Chicago Manual of Style provides answers to style, punctuation, and other editing questions, with examples. |
|
|
Social Science databases |
| Bibliography of Asian Studies More than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. |
| CINCH:
Australian Criminology Database Covers all aspects of crime and criminal justice. |
| Current
Contents Indexes the table of contents pages from approximately 7,000 science, social sciences, medical, arts and humanities journals. |
| FAMILY:
Australian Family and Society Abstracts Indexes and abstracts material relating to the legal, sociological, economic and demographic situation of Australian children and adults. |
| Gender Studies Database Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International, Men's Studies, and Sexual Diversity Studies. It covers the spectrum of gender engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents are available, and to selected websites. |
| Humanities
and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Citations to journal articles from a wide range of humanities and social sciences journals from 1907-1984. |
| International
Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) Indexes journals and books for all social sciences, with emphasis on Anthropology, Economics, Political Studies and Sociology. |
| MAIS:
Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies Indexes and abstracts material on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues. |
| OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web Links to free official statistics on the web. Links are arranged by country, region and subject. |
| PAIS:
Public Affairs Information Service Indexes international political, social, and public policy issues. |
| Routledge
Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online encyclopedia which features 2,000 articles from international experts across the discipline of philosophy. Under Philosophical Themes, link to 'Social Science' to get articles that cover a variety of topics including culture, feminism, postmodernism, and structuralism. |
| Proquest Religion Scholarly and popular journals on theology, religion and social issues. |
| Proquest Social Science Journals A collection of 250 social science journals, with full text for some titles. Disciplines covered include: Addiction studies, Anthropology, Area studies, Community health and medical care, Corrections, Criminology, Economics, Family studies, Gender studies, Geography, Gerontology, International relations, Law, Minority Studies, Planning and public administration, Policy sciences, Political science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public welfare, Social work, Urban studies. |
| Social
Sciences Citation Index Citations of works published since 1900. Part of the Web of Science database. |
| Social
Services Abstracts Provides bibliographic coverage of social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. |
| Social
Work Abstracts Abstracts of journal articles in human services, including theory and practice, social issues, welfare, social problems. |
| TicTOCS: Journal Tables of Contents Service A journal table of contents providing access to TOCs for over 11,000 scholarly journals from more than 400 publishers. It is designed to help researchers keep up-to-date with what’s being published in the most recent issues of journals on a wide range of subjects. |
| Web of Science Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index coverage is 1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). |
|
|
Full text databases |
| Academic Research Library Multidisciplinary full text database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. One of the ProQuest group of databases. |
| APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs Information Service (1978- ) Australian political, economic, legal and social affairs, including Australian history. Full-text coverage from 1995; indexing from 1978. For more Australian resources, see the Informit database collection. |
| Contemporary Women's Issues Material on a broad range of women's issues in all countries. Contributions are sourced from journals, newsletters, reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets, published since 1992. |
| EBSCOhost A set of databases from EBSCO Publishing - mostly full-text periodical collections, with an emphasis on peer-reviewed journals. |
| Expanded
Academic Multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers, containing 3000 indexed titles, with 2000 publications available in full text. |
| GenderWatch Indexes a wide variety of publications, including scholarly serials, that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. A high proportion of material is full text, and includes material from 1970 onwards. |
| JSTOR A full text archive of scholarly journals, including some Sociology journals. |
| Opposing Viewpoints in Context Collections of newspaper and journal articles, reference and statistical data, primary documents, images and websites relating to a range of social issues. |
| Paley Center Seminars A collection of videos and transcriptions of interviews and panel discussions recorded at the Paley Center for Media in New York and Los Angeles, 1998-2008. The seminars feature leading names in media discussing the creative process, contemporary issues in production, and issues such as the impact of the media on contemporary society. Topics covered range from presidential advertising campaigns to reality shows. |
| Parliamentary Papers British parliamentary papers from 1660 to 2009. |
| Project Muse Database of current international full text serials covering the humanities and social sciences. |
| ProQuest Theses & Dissertations An index of 2.7 million doctoral dissertations and masters' theses completed at universities worldwide since 1861. There are abstracts from 1980 onwards, and 950,000 full text theses are available to download mostly completed from 1996 onwards. |
| ScienceDirect Contains the full text of around 1400 journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences (includes some sociology journals). Also includes abstracting and indexing databases with over 12.5 million records. |
|
|
Newspapers |
| PressDisplay 1,000 newspapers from 82 countries |
| Times Digital Archive The database contains facsimile images of every issue of The Times (London) published 1785-1985, including articles, photographs, letters, advertisements. |
| Illustrated London News Historical Archive A searchable facsimile edition of the Illustrated London News, from its inception in May 1842 to 2003. |
| ProQuest Historical Newspapers Full-text archives The Afro-American (1893-1988) The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945) The Chicago Tribune (1849-1987) The Los Angeles Times (1881-1987) The Manchester Guardian (1821-1959), The Guardian (1959- ), and The Observer (1791- ) The New York Times (1851-2006) The Washington Post (1877-1993) |
|
|
New Zealand & Pacific databases |
| FindNZArticles Articles and book chapters from Index New Zealand and other indexes. |
| Index New Zealand (INNZ) Index of New Zealand newspapers and journals. Search the Library catalogue to locate the source journals in our Library. |
| Te Puna New Zealand and overseas books, reports and theses, with links to New Zealand holding libraries. |
| Newztext Plus Newztext Plus is a research archive that indexes many of New Zealand's key news and business publications. |
| Newzindex Index to major New Zealand business newspapers and magazines. |
| Niustext Pacific Islands publications from 1990 to the present, including: Cook Islands Herald; Cook Islands Times; FemLINKPacific; Islands Business; Pacific Business Online; Pacific Islands News Association; Pacific Media Centre Solomon Islands Broadcasting Corporation; South Pacific Regional Environment Programme. |
| Hansard Hansard gives access to debates in the New Zealand House of Representatives from 1987 onwards. You may search and view the transcripts of the debates. |
| New
Zealand Government Directory A comprehensive guide to New Zealand's political and public sectors. |
| NZSTATS New Zealand statistics sources. |
| Australia/New
Zealand Reference Centre Australian and New Zealand magazines, newspapers, newswires, reference books, and company information. |
| ARI Australasian Religion Index An index of religious and theological serials published in Australasia and representing all religious traditions. |
|
|
File last updated: 4 February, 2011
File location: socio.htm
Comments and suggestions to the Sociology Subject Librarian : m.begum@auckland.ac.nz