SOCIOLOGY LIBRARY RESOURCES
This is a selective guide to reference sources in sociology. For other suggestions please contact the Sociology Subject Librarian Musarrat Begum.
Locations and call numbers refer to the General Library (Gen), unless otherwise indicated.
Guides to the Literature | Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopaedias| Handbooks | Indexes and Abstracts | Bibliographies | Statistics | NZ Statistics| Polling, Surveys, Public Opinion | NZ Official Publications
GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE
An excellent guide to library resources for sociologists is this book:
- Monti, Antoine. (2000) A strategy for research in the university library. 2nd ed. Christchurch: Sociology Department, University of Canterbury. Library copies
Other useful guides:
DICTIONARIES, DIRECTORIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS 
- Boudon, Raymond (1989) A critical dictionary
of sociology. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Gen Arts Reference 301.03 B75
- Cockerham, William C. (1997) Dictionary of
medical sociology. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press.
Gen Arts Reference
306.46103 C66. Also at Philson Library Reference WA13 C666
- Encyclopedia of associations. (2003)
39th ed. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research.
Gen Arts Reference 061 G15 2003
- Encyclopedia of sociology. 2nd ed. (2000)
New York: Macmillan.
Gen Arts Reference 301.03 E57 2000
- International encyclopedia of the social
sciences. (1968-1991) (19 vols.) New York: Macmillan.
Gen Arts Reference 301 I61
- Jary, David. (2000) Collins dictionary of
sociology. 3rd ed. London: HarperCollins.
Gen Arts Reference 301.03 C71 2000
HANDBOOKS 
- A guide to writing sociology papers.
Judith Richlin-Klonsky and Ellen Strenski, eds. (1994) 5th ed. New
York: Worth.
Gen 808.066301 R53 2001
- Handbook of sociology. Neil J. Smelser,
editor. (1988) Newbury Park, Calif.: Sage Publications.
Gen 301 H236
There are handbooks published which cover many
specialised areas in sociology. They may be located on Voyager by the Keyword
Boolean search, using the word handbook and the subject. Some
examples are:
- gerontology AND handbook
- marriage AND handbook
- crime AND handbook
- "small group" AND handbook
Subject-specific handbooks which might be located
through such Voyager searches are the following, all located in the
General Library. Please check Voyager for call numbers and for additional
titles in other subject areas.
- Bass & Stogdill's handbook of leadership. Gen 301.155 S97h 1990
- Handbook of clinical sociology. Gen 301 H235
- Handbook of family violence. Gen 362.82 H236
- Handbook of qualitative research. Gen 300.72 D41 and Short Loan and Philson.
- Handbook of small group research. Gen 301.15 H27h 1976
- Handbook of social psychology. Gen 301.15 L75 1998
- International handbook on aging. Gen 301.435 I62
- The Oxford handbook of criminology. 2nd ed. Gen Arts Reference 364 M21
INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS 
- C.R.I.S.: the combined retrospective index set
to journals in sociology, 1895-1974. (1978) Washington,
D.C.: Carrollton Press.
Gen Arts Reference 016.301 C73
- Current sociology. Paris: UNESCO.
- Gender Studies Database (Superceding Women's studies abstracts.) (1972-) Rush, N.Y.: Rush
Publishing Co. Click
here for online access
From 1981 also available online through Sage
- Index to New Zealand periodicals. 1941-1986.
Gen NZ&Pacific Quick Reference 052 I38
- Index New Zealand: INNZ (1987-)
- Lantz, Judith, C. (1987) Cumulative index of
sociology journals, 1971-1985. Washington, D.C.: American
Sociological Association.
Gen Arts Reference 016.301 C97
- New Zealand social research abstracts,
1985-87.
Gen NZ&Pacific 016.3 N53
- PAIS international. (1972) New York:
Public Affairs Information Services. (click
here for online access)
- Population index. Quarterly. (1986-1999)
Princeton, N.J.: Office of Population Research, Princeton University.
Gen Arts Reference 312.05 P831 (click here
to access Internet version)
- Sage race relations abstracts. Quarterly.
(1975-2000) London; Beverly Hills, Calif.: Sage Publications.
Gen Arts Reference 301.4510822 S12
- Social sciences citation index.
(1900- ) Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information.
Click
here for online access
- Social sciences index. Quarterly.
(1974-1997) Bronx, N.Y.: H.W. Wilson.
Gen Arts Reference 011 I61s
- Sociological abstracts. Monthly.
(click
here for online access for 1963-)
BIBLIOGRAPHIES 
- Annual review of sociology. (1975-) Palo
Alto, Calif.: Annual Reviews, Inc.
This is available online. Older issues are available on JSTOR
(1975-1999), and more recent years (1996-) are on
the Annual
review of sociology online
- Index to social sciences & humanities
proceedings [ISSHP]. Quarterly. (1980-2000) Philadelphia:
Institute for Scientific Information.
Gen Arts Reference 060 I39
- International bibliography of sociology. Annual.
(1955-1996) London: Tavistock.
Gen Arts Reference 016.301 I61
There are numerous specialised bibliographies for
specific fields in sociology. These are located by using the subject
search on Voyager. Click on Subject Heading. In the
search box type the appropriate
subject heading plus the sub-heading bibliography, e.g.
aging bibliography, then click on the search button.
Some other searches to try are:
criminal justice administration of bibliography
divorce united states bibliography
homosexuality bibliography
Subject-specific bibliographies which might be
located through such Voyager searches are the following, all located in
the General Library. Please check Voyager for call numbers and for
additional titles in other subject areas.
- Dynes, Wayne R. Homosexuality: a research guide.
Gen Arts Reference 016.301424 D99
- Harris, Diana K. The sociology of aging: an annotated bibliography and sourcebook.
Gen Arts Reference 016.301435 H31
- Nofsinger, Mary M. Children and adjustment to divorce: an annotated bibliography.
Gen Arts Reference 016.301428 N77
STATISTICS 
See also NZ Statistics
- Demographic yearbook. Annual. (1948-) New York: United Nations.
Gen S1/UNPOP
- Rossi, Robert J. (1980) The handbook of social indicators: sources, characteristics, and analysis. New York: Garland STPM Press.
Architecture 3:51 R833
- Social indicators. Irregular. (1973-) Washington, D.C.: Social and Economic Statistics Administration, U.S. Dept. of Commerce.
Gen S2/USA S67
- Statistical abstract of the United States. Annual.
(1878-) Washington, D.C.: Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.
Gen S2/USA STA (click
here for online version)
- Sullivan, Michael J. (1991) Measuring global
values: The ranking of 162 countries. New York: Greenwood Press.
Gen S3/RAN VAL
- Taylor, Charles L. (1983) World handbook of
political and social indicators. 3rd ed. (2 vols.) New Haven: Yale
University Press.
Gen 301.018 R58 1983
- UNESCO. (1967-2000) Statistical yearbook.
Annual. Paris: UNESCO.
Gen S1/UNESCO STAy
- United Nations. Statistical Office. (1948-1997) Statistical
yearbook. Annual. New York: United Nations.
Gen S1/UN STAy
NZ STATISTICS 
See also Statistics
- Bloomfield, G.T. New Zealand, a handbook of
historical statistics
S2/NZ STAh
- Key statistics. Monthly. (1989-)
Wellington: Statistics New Zealand. S2/NZ STAm.
- New Zealand official yearbook. 1893-2000
S2/NZ STA
- New Zealand Time Series. New
Zealand Time Series is a collection of statistical information in
electronic form largely from the Statistics New Zealand database INFOS.
The database also includes some series from the Reserve Bank and from
Treasury.
- Statistics of New Zealand.
1853-1920
S2/NZ STAs
- Statistics of New Zealand for the Crown colony period, 1840-1852.
S2/NZ STAc
- New Zealand statistical sources. Access to online data.
For a more detailed guide, see Finding Statistics about New Zealand.
POLLING, SURVEYS, PUBLIC OPINION 
U.S. Internet Sites:
- Alreck, Pamela L. (1995) The survey research
handbook. Burr Ridge, Ill.: Irwin.
Gen 301.072 A45
- The Gallup poll. Annual. (1990-1991)
Wilmington, Del.: Scholarly Services.
Gen 301.154073 G17
- Hague, Paul N. Questionnaire design. (1993)
London: Kogan Page.
Gen 658.83 H14q & Short Loan.
NEW ZEALAND OFFICIAL PUBLICATIONS 
- The consolidated statutes of the Dominion of New Zealand [1908]
Gen NZ&Pacific 346.3 N56c
- GP Print Legislation. New Zealand Statutes on-line. Note: these are not annotated.
- New Zealand official yearbook. 1893-2000
S2/NZ STAy
- New Zealand parliamentary debates.
Gen NZ&P 328.95 N53 (click here for online access)
- Reprinted statutes of New Zealand
Gen NZ&Pacific 346.3 N56re
- Statistics of New Zealand. 1853-1920
S2/NZ STAs
- Statistics of New Zealand for the Crown colony period, 1840-1852.
S2/NZ STAc

Comments and Questions to: m.begum@auckland.ac.nz
Last updated: February 4, 2011
|