R E S E A R C H  S U P P O R T:   S C I E N C E 

This page for researchers in the Faculty of Science covers resources on other researchers and funding as well as help with identifying and using references.  See also Citation & Impact: Science.  For more subject-specific help and resources, contact your Subject Librarian.  The Subject Librarian Service is free for staff and students, helping you get the most out of the Library's resources or services.
 
Researchers & funding
Research Office, University of Auckland: includes links to organizations such as the Marsden Fund, Health Research Council.
 
ResearchResearch: a searchable listing of funding opportunities.
 

Community of Science (COS) is a suite of research resources:

  • COS Funding Opportunities: provides detailed information on over 25,000 funding opportunities around the world, totalling approximately US $33 billion.  It is the largest database of its kind, and covers scholarly-level funding of all types.
  • COS Scholar Universe: contains 1.7 million profiles of academics, researchers and scholars around the world — an important tool for learning about others who are working in your field of interest: potential collaborators, peer reviewers, consultants, mentors or competitors.
  • COS Expertise working in conjunction with COS Scholar Universe to enable researchers to enhance the editorially-compiled profiles.
 
academia.edu: an interactive tree of academics around the world.
 
Research output from the University of Auckland
ResearchSpace Online repository for University of Auckland digital theses and research materials.
 
University of Auckland Theses & Dissertations: a customised search interface.  There are also pages listing theses for certain subjects: Entomology; Forensic Science; Geography and Environmental Science; Geology; and Marine Science
 
University of Auckland Research Report (1976-2003) [Printed Resource]
 
References & referencing
The DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is a unique identifier to locate articles in references where the DOI is given.  Some databases now enable you to search directly by DOI; or you may use Resolve a DOI.
 
To find or confirm a scientific article solely from its title, there usually is a suitable subject-specific resource — contact your Subject Librarian.  Otherwise perform an Article Title search on Scopus; if that fails, Google Scholar may work.
 
Journal abbreviations: One of the best online resources is CASSI [the CAS Source Index].
However, there may also be an excellent, current, subject-specific database or electronic resource — especially if your subject uses a few non-standard abbreviations (e.g., JASA for J. Am. Stat. Assoc). Ask your Subject Librarian about specific resources of use to you. You may also use the older print resources CASSI (1989) or Periodical title abbreviations (2003). 
 
Referencing Styles used by various Science Departments
 
ReferenŠite, UoA academic referencing resource.
 
EndNote for Science Departments: ask your Subject Librarian for specific assitance with EndNote.  The Science Information Services team also provides generic hands-on tutorials, concentrationg on downloading references from databases more appropriate to the Faculty of Science.
 
Other links
 
Comments & Suggestions to: m.parkinson@auckland.ac.nz [Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, & Physics].   Last updated 24-Mar-2011