P S Y C H O L O G Y   L  I B R A R Y   R E S O U R C E S

Research Guides and Handbooks | Dictionaries and Encyclopedias | Directories and Biographical sources |
Bibliographies | Journal Databases, Indexes and Abstracts | Book Reviews | Tests | Theses | Submitting manuscripts

RESEARCH GUIDES AND HANDBOOKS

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 016.30072 B35 
Bausell, R. B. (1991). Advanced research methodology: An annotated guide to sources. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press.

TAMAKI LIBRARY REFERENCE 150.72 D99 
Dyer, C. (1995). Beginning research in psychology: A practical guide to research methods and statistics. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell. 

GENERAL LIBRARY (Not to be borrowed) 001.42 F49 
Fink, Arlene. (1998).  Conducting research literature reviews: from paper to the Internet.  Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 300.72 H32 
Hart, Chris (1998).  Doing a literature review: releasing the social science research imagination.  London: Sage Publications. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 136.7354 M31 
Marcia, J. E. (1993). Ego identity: A handbook for psychosocial research. New York: Springer-Verlag. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 155.4 D16
Damon, W. (ed.) (1998).  Handbook of child psychology.  New York: John Wiley.

GENERAL LIBRARY 136.7354 T64 
Tolan, P. H. & Cohler, B. J. (1993). Handbook of clinical research and practice with adolescents. New York: J. Wiley. 

GENERAL LIBRARY and TAMAKI LIBRARY 150.72 R52 
Richardson, J. T. E. (ed.) (1996). Handbook of qualitative research methods for psychology and the social sciences. Leicester, England: BPS Books. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 300.182 A72 
Arminger, G., Clogg, C. C. & Sobel, M. E. (1995). Handbook of statistical modeling for the social and behavioral sciences. New York: Plenum Press. 

PHILSON LIBRARY W20.5 G212 
Garrard, J. (1999).  Health sciences literature review made easy: The matrix method.  Gaithersburg, Md.: Aspen Publishers. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.72 B72 
Borchardt, D. H. & Francis, R. D. (1984). How to find out in psychology: A guide to literature and methods of research. New York: Pergamon Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 001.42 M82 2000
Moore, N. (2000).  How to do research: The complete guide to designing and managing research projects. (3rd ed.).  London: Library Association. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 150.72 R32 1992; TAMAKI LIBRARY 025.5602415 R32 
Reed, J. G. (1992). Library use: A handbook for psychology. (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.72 L58 
Leong, F. T. L. & Austin, J. T. (1996). The psychology research handbook: A guide for graduate students and research assistants. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 808.06615 S42
Scott, J.M. et al. (1999). The psychology student writer's manual. New Jersey: Prentice-Hall.

GENERAL LIBRARY 150.72 R33 
Yaremko, R. M. et al. (1982). Reference handbook of research and statistical methods in psychology: For students and professionals. New York: Harper & Rowe. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 378.1553 C95 2000
Cryer, P.  (2000). The Research student's guide to success.  Buckingham: Open University press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 808.02 R91
Rudestam, K.E. & Newton, R.R. (2001).  Surviving your dissertation: A comprehensive guide to content and process. 2nd ed.  London : Sage.

GENERAL LIBRARY 150.151 E93 
Everitt, B. & Hay, D. F. (1992). Talking about statistics: A psychologist's guide to data analysis. New York: Halsted Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY NZ & P 300.72 D25 
Davidson, C. & Tolich, M. (eds) (1999).  Social science research in New Zealand: Many paths to understanding.  Auckland: Longman. 

Psychological Research on the Internet : an extensive annotated list of psychological research currently being conducted on the Web

Table of Contents


DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Psychology Dictionaries: A Guide (pdf)
Psychology Encyclopaedias: A Guide (pdf)

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 301.23 L665 
Levinson, D. (1994). Aggression and conflict: A cross-cultural encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 153.03 B63 and TAMAKI LIBRARY REFERENCE 153.403 E98
Eysenck, M. W. (Ed.). (1991). The Blackwell dictionary of cognitive psychology. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 301.1503 M28 and TAMAKI LIBRARY REFERENCE 302.03 M28 
Manstead, A. S. R. & Hewstone, M. (eds.) (1995). The Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 150.3 C73 
Colman, A. M. (Ed.). (1994). Companion encyclopedia of psychology. London: Routledge. 

TAMAKI LIBRARY 150.3 C82 
Corsini, R. J. & Auerbach, A. J. (eds.). (1996). Concise encyclopedia of psychology. New York: J. Wiley. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.5 E57 and TAMAKI LIBRARY REFERENCE 
Craighead, W.E. & Nemeroff, C.B. (eds) (2001). Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science. 3rd ed. New York : Wiley. (4 volumes).

Electronic link: Corsini Encyclopedia

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE  393.03 T23
Taylor, R. P. (2000). Death and the afterlife: A cultural encyclopedia.  Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio.

GENERAL LIBRARY (NOT TO BE BORROWED) 150.1943 D55 
Herson, M. & Bellack, A. S. (Eds.). (1988). Dictionary of behavioral assessment techniques. New York: Pergamon Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.3 W86 1989 
Wolman, B. B. (ed.). (1989). Dictionary of behavioral science. (2nd ed.) San Diego, CA: Academic Press.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 612.803 W77
Winn, P.  (ed.). (2001). Dictionary of biological psychology. London: Routledge.

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 136.503 D55 
Harre R. & Lamb, R. (Eds.). (1986). Dictionary of developmental and educational psychology. Oxford: Blackwell. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 612.803 G65
Goodwin, D.M. (1989). Dictionary of neuropsychology. New York: Springer-Verlag.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.3 C71
Colman, A.M. (2001). A Dictionary of Psychology.  Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Electronic link: Dictionary of Psychology

GENERAL LIBRARY (NOT TO BE BORROWED) 616.8915 S255 
Sauber, R. S. et al. (1993). The Dictionary of family psychology and family therapy. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 137.03 D55 
Harre, R. & Lamb, R. (Eds.). (1986). Dictionary of personality and social psychology. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY (NOT TO BE BORROWED) 103 B18 
Baldwin, J. M. (Ed.). (1901-1911). Dictionary of philosophy and psychology. New York: Macmillan. 3 volumes. 
This work is essentially a compendium of 19th century work in the field. 

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 300.18 V88 
Vogt, W. P. (1993). Dictionary of statistics and methodology: A nontechnical guide for the social sciences. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications. 

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 364.03 B91
Bryant, C.D. (2001).  Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior. Philadelphia, PA : Brunner-Routledge.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 306.9 H85e
Howarth, G. & Leaman, O. (2001).  Encyclopedia of death and dying.  London : Routledge.

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 170.3 E56 2001
Becker, L.C. & Becker, C.B.(2001).  Encyclopedia of ethics. 2nd ed. New York, NY : Routledge.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.3 E57r 
Ramachandran, V. S. (ed.). (1994). Encyclopedia of human behavior. San Diego: Academic Press. 4 volumes. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 152.403 L66
Levinson, D., Ponzetti, J.J. & Jorgensen, P.F. (eds) (1999). Encyclopedia of human emotions. New York : Macmillan Reference. (2 vols)

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 151 S83e TAMAKI REFERENCE 153.903 S83 
Sternberg, R. J. (ed.). (1994). Encyclopedia of human intelligence. New York: Macmillan. 

GENERAL LIBRARY (NOT TO BE BORROWED) 154 E56  TAMAKI LIBRARY 153.103 S77 
Squire, L. R. (ed.). (1992). Encyclopedia of learning and memory. New York: Macmillan. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 616.89003 F91 
Friedman, H. S. (ed.). (1998). Encyclopedia of mental health. San Diego: Academic Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 616.8526003 C34
Cassell, D.K. and Gleaves D.H. (2000). The encyclopedia of obesity and eating disorders. 2nd ed. New York, N.Y. : Facts On File.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 616.8522 D63 2000
Doctor, R. M. & Kahn, A. P. (2000). The encyclopedia of phobias, fears, and anxieties. 2nd ed. New York: Facts on File. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.3 w86E 
Wolman, B. B., (1996). The enyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, and psychoanalysis. New York: Henry Holt. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.3 K23 and TAMAKI REFERENCE 150.3 K23
Kazdin, A.E. (ed.) (2000). Encyclopedia of psychology.  Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association Oxford [Oxfordshire] ; New York : Oxford University Press. (8 vols).

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 616.98003 F49
Fink, G. (2000).  Encyclopedia of stress.  San Diego : Acadmic Press.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 612.8203 R16
Ramachandran, V.S. (ed.). (2002). Encyclopedia of the human brain.  London : Elsevier.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.3 Z96 
Zusne, L. (1987). Eponyms in psychology: A dictionary and biographical sourcebook. New York : Greenwood Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 612.803 L87
Loring, D.W. (ed.). (1999). INS dictionary of neuropsychology.  New York: Oxford University Press.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.3 M19 
Magill, F. N. (Ed.). (1996). International encyclopedia of psychology. London: Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers. 2 volumes. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 131.303 I61 
Wolman, B. B. (Ed.). (1977). International encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, psychoanalysis and neurology. New York: Aesculapius. 12 volumes. 

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 303 I61 
Sills, D. L. (ed.). (1968-1991). International encyclopedia of the social sciences. New York: Macmillan. 17 volumes and Biographical supplement (v. 18). 

TAMAKI LIBRARY REFERENCE 150.3 S77 1995 
Sutherland, S. (1995). The macmillan dictionary of psychology. Basingstoke: Macmillan. 

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 128.03 O98 and TAMAKI  LIBRARY REFERENCE 128.03 O98 and PHILSON LIBRARY REFERENCE  BF31 G822 
Gregory, R. L. (ed.). (1987). Oxford companion to the mind. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 

Electronic link: Oxford companion to the mind

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 401.9 A46p
Altmann, G.T.M. (ed.). (2002). Psycholinguistics : Critical concepts in psychology. London: Routledge.

     Table of Contents


DIRECTORIES AND BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.6 A51m
American Psychological Association. APA membership register.(1982-). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.922 S54 
Sheehy, N., Chapman, A. J., & Conroy W. A. (eds.). (1997). Biographical dictionary of psychology. New York: Routledge. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.92 Z96 1984 
Zusne, L. (1984). Biographical dictionary of psychology. Leonard Zusne. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.3 Z96 
Zusne, L. (1987). Eponyms in psychology: A dictionary and biographical sourcebook. New York : Greenwood Press. 

 Table of Contents

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

GENERAL LIBRARY 616.978 A287 1989 
Jones, J. M., Kerby, J. L., & Landry, C. P. (Eds.). (1989). AIDS: Abstracts of the psychological and behavioral literature, 1983-1989. (2nd Ed.) Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 016.15 W34 
Watson, R. (ed.). (1974-). Eminent contributors to psychology. New York: Springer Publishing Company. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 016.13615 F32 
Schuker, E., & Levinson, N. A. (Eds.) (1991). Female psychology: An annotated psychoanalytic bibliography. Hillsdale, NJ: Analytic Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 150.973 H67 
Benjamin, L. T. (Ed.). (1989). History of American psychology in notes and news, 1883-1945: An index to journal sources. Millwood, NY: Kraus International Publications. 

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 016.1509 W34 
Watson, R. I. (1978). The history of psychology and the behavioral sciences: A bibliographic guide. New York: Springer. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 150.92 W87 
O'Connell, A., & Russo, N. F. (Eds.). (1990). Women in psychology: A bio-bibliographic sourcebook. New York: Greenwood Press. 

Locating Bibliographies
To locate bibliographies on particular subjects or persons, do a subject search on the library catalogue, Voyager. Choose an "Author/Title/Subject/Call no." search. Click on "Subject Heading". Click in the box. Type in the person or subject you are interested in, followed by a space (n.b. Not dashes) and then the word "bibliography". 

Web sites
Bibliographies are also available via the internet. 

Table of Contents

JOURNAL DATABASES, INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS

Electronic Databases
The following selected databases are available via the Library home page

PsycINFO 1887-. Abstracts over 1,500 psychology journals as well as book chapters and books. The major database for psychology. 

  • American Psychological Association (2004). Thesaurus of psychological index terms. (10th ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. (This is a reference tool for use with PsycINFO).  GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE AND GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 150.5 p977t 2004
ABI/INFORM. 1987-.  Business and economics database indexing and abstracting over 1,400 journals and magazines.  Useful as a source for locating literature on organizational psychology. 

Cinahl. Contains abstracts of articles in 650 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer journals. Useful as an additional source for locating literature on health psychology. 

Expanded Academic. 1980-. Multidisciplinary fulltext database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. 

ERIC. 1966-. Indexes over 750 education journals, documents produced by the Education Resources Information Centre, conference papers and reports. Useful as an additional source for locating literature on developmental psychology, social psychology, measurements and tests, and school psychology. 

Mental Measurements Yearbook. Contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language  standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. 

Medline. 1966-. Indexes more than 3,000 medical journals. Useful an additional source for locating literature with a bio-medical focus, literature on physiological psychology, clinical psychology, physical and psychological disorders, forensic pathology and abnormal psychology. 

Sociofile. 1974-. Indexes 1,900 journals in the field of sociology. Useful as an additional source for locating literature on social and cultural psychology. 

Current Contents. Cumulative from mid-1995. Indexes table of contents pages from approximately 7,000 science, social sciences, medical, arts and humanities journals. Specific subsets include social and behavioural sciences, and clinical medicine. 

Index New Zealand : INNZ. 1987-. Indexes NZ newspapers and journals. Useful for locating information from New Zealand sources. 

Social Sciences Citation Index. 1995-.Provides references, abstracts, and citations from 1,725 journals in the Social Sciences including psychology via the Internet, through the Web of Science, covering 1995 - present. 
SSCI is also available: 

  • on a standalone pc in the Electronic Resources Area, covering 1980 - 1995. 
  • in print form in the General Reference Collection 011 S67 
Printed indexes
GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 136.705 C53 
Child development abstracts and bibliography. Vol 25 (1951) - v.32 (1958); v.39 (1965) - 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.5 C357
Social and behavioral sciences documents. Washington; v. 1, 1971 - v.18, 1988.

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 011 S67 
Social sciences citation index. 1969, pt. 1-3; 1971/75, pt. 1-1993, pt. 6 

      Table of Contents


BOOK REVIEWS

Print Resources
GENERAL LIBRARY 150.5 C76 
Contemporary psychology. Vol 1, 1956- 
Produced by the American Psychological Association, the entire journal is devoted to book reviews. 

Reviews published in journals are indexed by the following: 

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 028 B721 
Book review digest.  Vol 1, 1905-

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 028 B72 
Book review index. Vol 1, 1965- 

Electronic resources
Learn
ABI/Inform
Current Contents
Expanded Academic
ScienceDirect
Sociofile

Standalone
Social sciences citation index

Table of Contents


PSYCHOLOGICAL TESTS

Psychological Tests: A Library Guide (pdf)

The University of Auckland Library does not hold copies of psychological tests.  Psychometric tests are held in the Test Library in the Psychology Department.

The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, publisher of the Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in
Print, provides information about tests, test reviews and test publishers.

Below are listed several guides to tests which relate to psychology. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 151.2 C55 
Stuart-Hamilton, I. (1996). Dictionary of psychological testing, assessment, and treatment. London: Jessica Kingsley. 
Includes key terms in statistics, psychological testing, experimental methods, and therapeutic treatments 

GENERAL LIBRARY 150.1943 D55 
Hersen, M. & Bellack, A. S. (eds.). (1988). Dictionary of behavioral assessment techniques. New York: Pergamon Press. 

TAMAKI LIBRARY REFERENCE 796.01025 O85 
Ostrow, A. C. (ed.). (1990). Directory of psychological tests in the sport and exercise sciences. Morgantown, W. VA: Fitness Information Technology. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 153.93 G61 and 153.93 G61 1996 
Goldman, B. A. (1974-). Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. 
The Library holds Vols 1-7

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 016.37126 E11 
Test Collection, Educational Testing Service. (1986-). The ETS test collection catalog. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY 155.283 C88 
Craig, Robert J. (1999). Interpreting personality tests: a clinical manual for the MMPI-2, MCMI-III, CPI-R, and 16PF.  New York: John Wiley. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 151.2 C55 
Chun, K. (1975). Measures for psychological assessment: A guide to 3,000 original sources and their applications. Ann Arbor, MI: Institute for social Resesarch. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 151.2 B96s 
Mental measurements yearbook. (3rd ed.1941 - 13th ed. 1998). Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurement. 

Mental Measurements Yearbook  (9th ed. 1989-) is also available via the Library home page. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 151.2 B96 p
Buros, O. K. (ed.). (1970). Personality tests and reviews: including an index to The Mental Measurements Yearbook. Highland Park, NJ: Gryphon Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 151.2 B96 P2 
Buros, O. K. (ed.). (1975). Personality tests and reviews II: A monograph consisting of the personality sections of the seventh Mental Measurements Yearbook (1972) and Tests in Print II (1974). Highland Park, NJ: Gryphon Press. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 151.2 K94
Krug, S.E. Psychware: A reference guide to computer-based products for behavioral assessment in psychology, education, and business. Kansas City, Mo: Test Corporation of America.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 151.2 B96r
Buros, O.K. (ed). Reading tests and reviews, including a classified index to the Mental measurements yearbooks (1968).  Highland Park, NJ: Gryphon Press.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 371.260973 A51
American Educational Research Association (1999).  Standards for educational and psychological testing. Washington, DC: American Educational Research Association.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 151.2 B96s 
The supplement to the mental measurements yearbook. (1988-). Lincoln, NE: The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements.

American Psychological Association.  Testing and Assessment
Provides information on standards and guidelines governing testing.  Links are provided to other testing-related sites. Includes FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 151.22 T34c 
Keyser, D. J. & Sweetland, R. C. (Ed.). (1984-). Test critiques. Kansas City, MO: Test Corporation of America. Volumes1-. 

TestLink: the ETS Test Collection
Includes information on over 20,000 tests from the early 1900s to the present day, which are held in the Education Testing Service Library. Tests are from the United States, Canada, Great Britain and Australia.

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.287 M17 
Maddox, T. (ed.). (1997). Tests: A comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education and business. (4th ed.). Austin, TX: Pro-Ed. 

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 153.93 B96t 1999 
Tests in print V: An index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests. (1999). Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements. 
Includes index to the Mental measurements yearbook

Table of Contents


THESES

Information regarding theses is available from the Theses and Dissertations page on the Library home page.

A Guide to finding theses (pdf) contains useful information about locating theses using the Library resources.

University of Auckland Theses:
All University of Auckland theses deposited in the Library are accessible via the library catalogue, VOYAGER. Search by title or author if known. If not known, try a guided keyword search, with thesis as one of your terms. 

Theses completed at other New Zealand Universities:
GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 013.37895 U581 and GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 016.995 N53u
The union list of higher degree theses in New Zealand libraries. (1969-). Wellington, N.Z.: New Zealand Library Association. 

Look by broad subject classification, for example, Psychology or Education. However, there is a big publication lag, so it is only good for locating slightly older theses. 

Te Puna is also an excellent source for locating theses published in New Zealand libraries. 

Click on Other Libraries from the the Library home page and follow instructions to check the holdings of individual institutions.

International theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) (formerly Digital Dissertations) is a database available on the Library home page that indexes higher degree theses (mainly PhD) from international institutions. Coverage 1861 to the present (abstracts are included from 1982). The full text of theses is available in PDF format for more than 100,000 titles from 1996. More than 40,000 titles are added each year. 

Sociofile: A database available on the Library home page that indexes international theses in sociology. 

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 013.37842 A83 
Index to theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland and the Council for National Academic Awards. (1950-). London: Aslib.

Electronic link: Index to theses

GENERAL LIBRARY ARTS REFERENCE 013.37894 U58 
Union list of higher degree theses in Australian University libraries. (1959/65-1989). Hobart, Tamania: University of Tasmania Library. 


Submitting Manuscripts

GENERAL LIBRARY SCIENCE REFERENCE 150.5 J862 1997 
American Psychological Association. (1997). Journals in psychology (5th ed.). Washington DC: APA. 

Lists 350 English-language journals specializing in the behavioral and social sciences.  Provides information about each journal's publisher, editor, editorial policy, manuscript preparation requirements, number of articles and pages published per year, number of subscribers, frequency, book review inclusion, and rejection rate.
T

Comments to Liz Hardley. Last updated  September 25, 2009