Useful links for Library Research - Psychology and Speech Science

Information and Resources - Science - University of Auckland Library


Level 1: Basic Knowledge
    Library Links Non-Library Links

Knowing the Location and layout of the General Library, KEIC, Tamaki and Other Libraries

 



Library Maps & Floorplans

Campus Maps
Familiarity with the Library Home Page  

Library and Resources Overview - handout

Library and Resources Overview - course

 
Familiarity with the Psychology Library page   Psychology Library Page
Knowledge of the Library regulations   Regulations, Guidelines and Policies  
Knowing who to contact in the Library  

Contacts

Library Liaison Officers

 

Understanding NetAccount

 

 

NetAccount course

Uni IT Essentials handout

NetID and UoA Password: video

NetAccount - Services
Knowing how to access Library resources - Catalogue, ICLDs, Course Materials (includes Short Loan Collection)  

Catalogue course

Short Loan (KEIC)

 

Knowing how to Photocopy, print and access the internet

 

 

 

Library Tours

Photocopying

Printing

Uni IT Essentials handout

Finding past exam papers   Readings & Exams  

Interpreting a reference

 

 

Interpreting references

 

 

Finding help outside the Library - Student Learning Centre (SLC), English Language Self access Centre (ELSAC), Department of Psychology

 

 

 


Student Learning

English Language Self-Access Centre

Auckland University Students' Association

Department of Psychology

       
Level 2: Intermediate Library Skills
Using the Subject Librarian Service   Psychology and Speech Science Subject Librarian web page  

Using the core databases in Psychology and Speech Science

 

 

Core databases for Psychology

Core databases for Speech Science

Database Skills: 1. Getting Started and 2. Extending your skills courses - handout

 
Understanding reading lists  

Do you understand your reading list?

Finding full text articles from a reading list

 
Writing a literature review  

 

Writing a Psychology Literature review

Sample APA papers: Literature Review

Evaluating information resources  

 

Evaluating Sources from Purdue University (Login as a Guest User, then click Evaluating Sources)

Evaluation of Information Sources

Critically Analyzing Information Sources from Cornell University

Critical Evaluation Of Resources from University of California, Berkeley

Evaluating internet resources  

Evaluating websites

Scholarly Internet Resources - handout

Familiarity with database search techniques   Boolean operators: Video  
Finding psychological tests   Psychological tests  

Referencing in APA style (including using the DOI)

 

 

 

DOI access (see 'Article Linker')

Quickcite

DOI information

DOI system

Citation management (EndNote)  

EndNote handout

EndNote course

EndNote Library web page

 

Understanding Plagiarism

 

 

Referencite > Plagiarism

 
Recognising Library and Science Acronyms      
Knowing how to access resources not held at the University of Auckland - (ILL, non-subscribed resources)   Interlibrary Loans (Interloans)  
       
Level 3: Postgraduate Library Skills

Tracking citations

 

 

Scopus

Web of Science

Who is Citing Whom handout

Who is Citing Whom course

 
Information regarding theses, including finding, writing, and binding theses  

Theses and Dissertations

Concept Maps

 
Knowledge of Ethics   Human Ethics

Finding relevant newspaper Articles & New Zealand publications

 

 

Newspapers & News Sites

IndexNZ (INNZ)

 
Current awareness familiarity (auto-alerts, RSS, list-servs)  

Staying Current handout

Staying Current course

 
History of psychology     Classics in the History of Psychology
       
Level 4: Staff Library Skills
Locating Funding Sources   Research Support  
Finding Conference & Conference proceedings  

Finding Conferences and Conference Proceedings

PapersInvited

Conference Papers Index

 
How to publish your thesis  

 

Germano, W.(2005). From Dissertation to Book. Chicago, University of Chicago Press.
Harman, E. et al. (eds). (2003). The Thesis and the Book: A Guide for First-time Academic Authors. Toronto, University of Toronto Press.
Luey, B. (ed.) (2004). Revising Your Dissertation: Advice From Leading Editors. Berkeley, University of California Press.

Understanding of Bibliometrics

 

Citation impact

 
Research Outputs   Research Outputs
Understanding the PBRF  

PBRF Information
Knowledge of Open Access Resources   ResearchSpace@Auckland  

 


File last updated : March 21, 2011 .
Comments and suggestions (including potential additions) to : Liz Hardley