P S Y C H O L O G Y   D A T A B A S E S
 
Access   DATABASE
Campus PsycINFO
Abstracts over 1,900 psychology journals as well as book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports. The major database for psychology.
Campus PsycEXTRA
Companion database to PsycINFO. Contains over 60,000 records, mainly full-text, for grey literature (material disseminated outside peer-reviewed journals, such as newsletters, magazines, newspaper articles and policy statements), in the fields of psychology, behavioural science and health. There is no overlap with PsycINFO.
Campus PsycBOOKS
Full-text collection of more than 600 books published by the American Psychological Association.

Campus

NEW

PsycTESTS
A research database produced by the American Psychological Association, providing access to full-text psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments, as well as descriptive and administrative information for each item.
It includes neuropsychological tests, personality assessments, skills and proficiency tests, and IQ and aptitude scales and measurements. Most entries are for research instruments available for immediate use. However the database also covers selected commercially published tests, and provides direct links to their respective publisher sites.

Campus PsycCRITIQUES
A searchable online database of book reviews in psychology produced by the American Psychological Association. PsycCRITIQUES replaces the monthly print serial Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books, which ceased publication in 2004. Updated weekly, PsycCRITIQUES provides full text reviews of current books and some popular films, videos, and software.
Campus Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed titles. Topics include emotional and behavioural characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Updated daily. Coverage: varies; full-text coverage of some titles goes back to 1965
Campus

Counseling and Therapy in Video
A collection comprising more than 300 hours of training videos, reenactments, and footage of therapy sessions conducted by psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers. The videos are designed for training and continuing education, providing a firsthand view of the realities of working with clients, and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.

Campus

Counseling and Psychology Transcripts Client Narratives and Reference Works
A searchable online collection offering transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment. The database also includes reference works.

Campus Expanded Academic
Multidisciplinary fulltext database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers.
Campus ERIC
Indexes over 750 education journals, documents produced by the Education Resources Information Centre, conference papers and reports. Useful as an additional source for locating literature on developmental psychology, social psychology, measurements and tests, and school psychology.
Campus Journals @ Ovid
Table of Contents of over 530 biomedical, nursing, and psychology journals, including access to the full-text of 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association in an online collection known as PsycARTICLES.
Campus Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
Campus Medline
Indexes more than 4,600 medical journals. Useful as an additional source for locating literature with a bio-medical focus, literature on physiological psychology, clinical psychology, physical and psychological disorders, forensic pathology and abnormal psychology.
Internet Database PubMed 
Contains not only Medline citations, but also citations which have not yet received MeSH terms. 
  *  PubMed User Guide
  *  What's the Difference Between Medline and PubMed?
  Cinahl
Contains abstracts of articles in 650 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer journals. Useful as an additional source for locating literature on health psychology.
Campus Social and Personality Psychology Compass
An online service from Wiley-Blackwell providing original, peer-reviewed surveys of current research and theory from across the entire discipline. Sections include group/intergroup processes; history, methods, philosophy; intrapersonal processes; personality processes; race, ethnicity, culture; social cognition; social influence/interpersonal relationships.
Campus Sage Full Text Journal Collection
The full text of over 30 journals, some going back 22 years, encompassing over 21,600 articles.
Campus Sage Reference Online
Includes handbooks and encyclopaedias on a variety of psychology areas
Campus PsychiatryOnline
A searchable online collection of journals, textbooks and handbooks from the American Psychiatric Association. Journals include the American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric services, Academic psychiatry, and the Journal of neuropsychiatry and clinical neurosciences. Handbooks include the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV-TR) and associated works.
Campus Sociological Abstracts
Indexes over 2,600 serials relating to sociology, including social psychology. Access is supplied by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA).
 Campus
ABI/INFORM
Indexes over 1,400 business and economics periodicals and  provides full text articles for nearly half of these.  Useful for locating material on organisational psychology.
Campus INNZ
Indexes NZ newspapers and journals. Useful for locating information from New Zealand sources.
Campus
 
ScienceDirect
Contains the full text of 290 journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences, plus abstracts for another 700 journals.
Campus
 
Current Contents
Indexes table of contents pages from approximately 7,000 science, social sciences, medical, arts and humanities journals. Specific subsets include social and behavioural sciences, and clinical medicine.
Campus
 
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index (1985-) Social Sciences Citation Index (1991-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1991-) 
Campus Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides references, abstracts, and citations from 1,400 journals in the Social Sciences including psychology.
Campus Gender Studies Database
Is a database that combines a number of separately compiled sources. It includes materials relating to all aspects of women's studies. It is an excellent source for discovering literature dealing with women in other countries and societies.
Campus Comprehensive Clinical Psychology
Online edition of the 11-volume resource Comprehensive Clinical Psychology
Campus
PsycBite
Is a searchable database that catalogues and rates studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment. It covers systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials (RCT), non-randomised controlled trials (non-RCT), case series (CS), and single subject design (SSD).
Campus Child Development and Adolescent Studies
An online indexing and abstracting service on the BiblioLine platform focusing on material relating to the growth and development of children up to the age of 21. It covers journal articles, books, technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations. Over 10,000 new records are added to the database each year.
Campus GenderWatch
Indexes a wide variety of publications, including scholarly serials, that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. A high proportion of material is full text, and begins from 1970.
Campus Google Scholar
Search engine for scholarly literature. Has good 'cited by' links.
Campus SCOPUS 
Provides citations, abstracts and references covering 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from 4,000 publishers. It includes approximately 27 million abstracts. Subjects covered are Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and General Science.
Interdisciplinary Resources
Digital Dissertations, UnCover etc. 

 
File last updated : December 21, 2011
File location : psy.htm
Comments and suggestions to : l.hardley@auckland.ac.nz