Internal Politics of States 
New Zealand
Australia
Asia
Europe
Middle East
Africa
Central and South America
United States
New Zealand 
Many of these items are located in the New Zealand and
Pacific Quick Reference Collection.
- Directory of Official
Information. Wellington: State Services Commission.
Gives details of government depts., organizations, and state owned
enterprises subject to the Official Information Act 1982.
- Kirk, Allan R. The Dictionary of the New Zealand
Parliament. Wellington: Capital
Letters, c1995.
- New Zealand Government
Directory. Also available online.
Three sections: Who's who in politics; Who's who in government
departments and official organisations; Our system of government.
- New Zealand Who's
Who Aotearoa. Auckland: New Zealand Who's Who Aotearoa.
- Radio New Zealand, comp. New
Zealand Parliament's Who's Who. Wellington: Radio New
Zealand, 1996.
- Who's Who in the New Zealand
Parliament. Wellington: Parliamentary
Service, 1987-1993.
- Wilson, J. O. New Zealand Parliamentary Record,
1840-1984. 4th ed.
Wellington: Govt. Print., 1985.
Lists details of parliamentary careers of all ministers, under
secretaries, MPs, MLCs.
- Wood, G. A., ed. Ministers and Members in the New Zealand
Parliament. Dunedin: Tarkwode, 1987.
- ---, ed. Ministers and Members in the New Zealand
Parliament. 2nd ed. Dunedin: U of Otago P, 1996.
Australia 
- A Guide to the Australian Government ... : Structure, Organisations and Key People. Canberra, A.C.T. : The National Office for the Information Economy. The information is compiled from the Government On-Line Directory.
- Coates, John. An Atlas of Australia's Wars. Melbourne: Oxford University Press, 2001.
- Jaensch, Dean. Australian Politics Guide. South Melbourne: Macmillan Education Australia, 1996.
- McAllister, Ian, Malcolm Mackerras, and Carolyn Brown Boldiston. Australian Political Facts. 2nd ed. South Melbourne: Macmillan Education Australia, 1997.
- Far East and Australasia. London: Europa Publications. This is also available online via the Library database Europa World Plus.
Asia 
- Copper, John Franklin. Historical Dictionary of Taiwan (Republic of China). Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2000. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Donald, Stephanie. The State of China Atlas. London: Penguin, 1999.
- Durand, Frédéric. East Timor: A Country at the Crossroads of Asia and the Pacific; A Geo-Historical Atlas.Chiang Mai, Thailand: Silkworm Books, 2006.
- Hoare, James, and Susan Pares. Conflict in Korea: An Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
Available as an e-book via the Librarydatabase Ebsco Reference Center.
- Hoare, James, and Susan Pares. A Political and Economic Dictionary of East Asia. London: Routledge, 2005.
- Hudson, Christopher. The China Handbook. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997. Available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online
- LaRue, C. Steven, ed. The India Handbook. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997. Available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online
- Leifer, Michael. Dictionary of the Modern Politics of South-East Asia. 3rd ed. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online
- Mackerras, Colin, with Donald H. McMillen and Andrew Watson, eds. Dictionary of the Politics of the People's Republic of China. London: Routledge, 1998. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco.
- A Political Chronology of Central, South and East Asia. London: Europa, 2001.
- A Political Chronology of South-East Asia and Oceania. London: Europa, 2001.
- Tucker, Spencer, and Jinwung Kim. Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military History. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2000. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Wang, Ke-wen. Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism. New York: Garland, 1998. Available as an e-book via Ebsco Reference Center.
- Stockwin, J. A. A. Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Japan. New York: Routledge, 2003. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
Europe 
- Annesley, Claire. A Political and Economic Dictionary of Western Europe. London: Routledge, 2005.
- Bainbridge, Timothy. The Penguin Companion to European Union. 3rd ed. London: Penguin, 2002.
- Cook, Bernard A. Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 2001. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online
- Day, Alan, Roger East and Richard Thomas, eds. A Political and Economic Dictionary of Eastern Europe. London: Europa, 2002. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Dinan, Desmond, ed. Encyclopedia of the European Union. Updated ed. Boulder: Lynne Rienner, 2000. Available as an e-book via the Librarydatabase Credo Reference.
- Eccleshall, Robert, and Graham S. Walker, eds. Biographical Dictionary of British Prime Ministers. London: Routledge 2002. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Eurojargon: A Dictionary of European Union Acronyms, Abbreviations and Sobriquets. 6th ed., ed. Anne Ramsay. Bruton, England: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
- European Foundations and Grant-Making NGOs. London: Europa, 2004.
- Frucht, Richard. Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe. London: Taylor & Francis, 2000. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online
- Gower, Jackie. The European Union Handbook. 2nd ed. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2002. Also available as an e-book via the Library database R Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- A Political Chronology of Europe. London: Europa, 2001.
- Phinnemore, David, and Lee McGowan. A Dictionary of the European Union. 2nd ed. London: Europa, 2004. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco and as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Polley, Martin. A-Z of Modern Europe Since 1789. London: Routledge, 2000. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
Middle East 
- Clements, Frank. Conflict in Afghanistan: A Historical Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Mattar, Philip, ed. Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa. 2nd ed. Detroit, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. Available as an e-book via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- ---. Encyclopedia of the Palestinians. Rev. ed. New York: Facts On File, 2005.
- Political Handbook of the Middle East 2006. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2006.
Africa 
Central and South America
- Calvert, Peter. A Political and Economic Dictionary of Latin America. London: Europa, 2004.
- Kapiszewski, Diana, ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics. Westport, Conn.: Oryx Press, 2001.
- Kohut, David. Historical Dictionary of the Dirty Wars. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2003.
- Werner, Michael S. Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online
United States 
- The Almanac
of American Politics. Gambit.
- Becher, Anne. American
Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present. Santa
Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2000. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco
Reference Center.
- Beisner, Robert L., ed. American
Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature. 2nd
ed. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database
Ebsco Reference Center.
- Cartwright, Rita Cantos, and H. Victor Condé. Human
Rights in the United States: A Dictionary and Documents. Santa
Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
- Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly.
- DeConde, Alexander, Richard Dean Burns, and Frederick Logevall, eds.
Encyclopedia
of American Foreign Policy: Studies of the Principal Movements and
Ideas. 2nd ed. New York: Scribner,
2002.
Also available as an e-book via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- DeRouen, Karl R., ed. Historical
Encyclopedia of U.S. Presidential Use of Force, 1789-2000.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebrary.
- Duchak, Alicia. The A-Z of Modern America. London:
Routledge, 1999. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebrary.
- Greene, Jack P., and J. R. Pole, eds. The Blackwell Encyclopedia of the American Revolution. Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell Reference, 1991.
- Hahn, Peter L. Historical Dictionary of United States-Middle East Relations. Lanham, Md.: The Scarecrow Press, 2007.
- Hall, Kermit L., ed. The
Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
- Hill, Kathleen Thompson, and Gerald N. Hill. The
Facts on File Dictionary of American Politics. New York:
Checkmark Books, 2001.
- Hoffmann, Frank W., and Richard J. Wood. Guide to Popular U.S.
Government Documents. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1998.
Available as an e-book
via the Library database
Ebsco Reference Center.
- How
Government Works: Selections from the Encyclopedia of the United
States Congress, the Encyclopedia of the American presidency, the
Encyclopedia of the American judicial system. New York,
N.Y. : Macmillan Library Reference USA, 1999.
- Hull, Mary E. Censorship in America: a
Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999. Available as an
e-book
via the Library database
Ebsco Reference Center.
- Jackson, Byron. Encyclopedia
of American Public Policy. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
- Karsten, Peter, ed. Encyclopedia of War and American Society. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2005.
- Lea, David, and Collette Milward, eds. A
Political Chronology of the Americas. London: Europa, 2001.
- Ness, Immanuel, ed. The Encyclopedia of Interest Groups & Lobbyists in the United States. Armonk, New York: Sharpe Reference, 2000. Available as an e-book via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Patrick, John J. , Richard M. Pious, and Donald A. Ritchie. The
Oxford Guide to the United States Government. Oxford: Oxford University
Press, 2001. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Oxford Reference Online.
- Ragsdale, Lyn. Vital
Statistics on the Presidency: Washington to Clinton.
Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1998.
- Rose, Cynthia, ed. American
Decades Primary Sources. Detroit: Gale, 2004.
- Schultz, Jeffrey D., and Laura van Assendelf. Encyclopedia
of Women in American Politics. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1999.
- Shelley, Fred M. (et. al) Atlas
of American Politics, 1960-2000. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2002.
- Stempel, Guido H., and Jacqueline Nash Gifford. Historical
Dictionary of Political Communication in the United States.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999.
- Schulzinger, Robert D. A Companion to American Foreign Relations. Blackwell Publishing, 2005. Available as an e-book via the Library database Blackwell Reference Online.
- Theoharis, Athan G., with Tony G. Poveda, Susan Rosenfeld, and
Richard Gid Powers. The
FBI: A Comprehensive Reference Guide. New York: Checkmark
Books, 2000.
- Turner, Michael A. Historical Dictionary of United States Intelligence. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2006.
- Woronoff, Kristen. American Inaugurals: the Speeches, the
Presidents, and Their Times. San Diego, CA: Blackbirch Press,
2002. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Social Science Research Methods 
Research methods
Style manuals
Thesauri
Research methods

- Berry, Ralph. The Research Project: How to Write It. 5th ed. London: Taylor & Francis Routledge, 2004. Also available as ane-book via the Library database Ebsco.
- Garson, G. David. Guide
to Writing Empirical Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. New York:
Dekker, 2002. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco
Reference Center.
- Hunt, Andy. Your Research Project: How to Manage It. London: Taylor & Francis Routledge, 2005. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco.
- Lewis-Beck, Michael S., Alan Bryman, and Tim Futing Liao, eds.
The
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. Thousand
Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2004.
- Michie, Jonathan , ed. Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Miller, Robert L., and John D. Brewer, eds. The
A-Z of Social Research: A Dictionary of Key Social
Science Research Concepts. London: SAGE, 2003.
- Schwand, Thomas A. Dictionary
of Qualitative Inquiry. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif .: Sage, 2001.
Thesauri

Thesauri covering a specific subject give you terminology to use when
searching reference tools, such as a print or online index.
- APAIS
Thesaurus: a List of Subject Terms Used in APAIS; The Australian Public
Affairs Information Service. 7th ed. Canberra: National
Library of Australia, 2000. Also available online.
- Capek, Mary Ellen S., ed. A
Women's Thesaurus: an Index of Language Used to Describe and Locate
Information By and About Women. New York: Harper & Row,
1987.
- Berman, Barbara L. Library
of Congress Subject Headings in Philosophy: A Thesaurus.
Charlottesville, Va.: Philosophy Documentation Center, 2001.
- Dickstein, Ruth, Victoria A. Mills, and Ellen J. Waite, eds. Women
in LC's Terms: A Thesaurus of Library of Congress Subject Headings
Relating to Women. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1988.
- Knapp, Sarah. The
Contemporary Thesaurus of Search Terms and Synonyms: A Guide for
Natural Language Computer Searching. 2nd ed. Phoenix, AZ:
Oryx Press, 2000.
- The
Philosopher's Index Thesaurus. Rev. 2nd ed. Revisions by
Kelly M. Broughton.
Bowling Green, Ohio: Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green.
Style manuals 
Library catalogue searches 
Search for encyclopedias or dictionaries on a topic by
combining the keyword encyclopedias or the keyword dictionaries with a word or phrase for your
topic, eg:
Boolean Keyword search
encyclopedias and "international relations"
dictionaries and "human rights"
(encyclopedias or dictionaries) and relations and (international
or foreign)
Alternatively, use the Library of Congress subject heading for your topic followed by
the subject subdivision 'Encyclopedias' or the subject subdivision
'Dictionaries', eg.
Subject Heading search
Terrorism Encyclopedias
Political
science Dictionaries
Reference Databases
Political science
Biography
|