Why use reference books? 
Reference books are a good place to start researching a topic because
the information is brief and written by experts. Use reference books for
concise introductions, facts, or definitions. Some are in print, some are
online. Some are in reference collections, some are on the open shelves.
You can find reference material by searching the Library catalogue with these
types of searches.
The reference books listed below are a selection of political science
reference sources available at the University of Auckland Library. Most of the books are located in the Arts
Reference Collection, Level 1, General Library. Links are to the Library catalogue record.
The titles are cited according to the Chicago
Manual of Style, 15th ed.
Where a book is
available online as an e-book, you need to be logged on with your Net ID and Net
Password to access the e-book link. This list is confined to recent
publications. It is not a comprehensive list. Search Voyager using subject or keyword searches
to find all material the Library has on a specific topic.
Reference Books by Topics 
General political science
Political theory
Social movements
Elections
Politics and the media
Public policy
Environmental politics
International relations
Organisations
Human rights
Military politics
Wars, conflicts
Terrorism
Women and politics
General political
science 
- Bealey, Frank. The
Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science. Malden, Mass.:
Blackwell, 1999. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Credo Reference.
- Bevir, Mark, ed. Encyclopedia of Governance. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, 2007. Available as an e-book via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Brunk, Gregory G. Theories of Political Processes:
A Bibliographic
Guide to the Journal Literature, 1965-1995. Westport, Conn.:
Greenwood Press, 1997.
- Carlisle, Rodney, ed. Encyclopedia of Politics:
The Left and the
Right. Thousand Oaks: Sage Reference, 2005. Also available as an
e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Collin, P. H. Dictionary
of Government and Politics. 2nd ed. Teddington: P. Collin,
2001. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Credo Reference.
- East, Roger, and Richard J. Thomas. Profiles of People in Power: The World's Government Leaders. London: Europa, 2003. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Europa World Plus.
- Gall, Timothy L., ed. Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations.
11th ed. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale Group, 2004. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Geer, John G. Public Opinion and Polling Around the World:
A Historical Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2004.
- The Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Modern Political Biography. Oxon:
Helicon Publishing, 2004. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Jones, R. J. Barry, ed. Routledge
Encyclopedia of International Political Economy. London:
Routledge,
2001. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Lipset, Seymour Martin, ed. The
Encyclopedia
of Democracy. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly,
1995.
- O'Hara, Philip Anthony, ed. Encyclopedia
of Political Economy. London: Routledge, 1999. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World. 2nd ed.
Available as an e-book
via the Library database Oxford Reference Online.
- Parry, Geraint, and Michael Moran, eds. Democracy and Democratization. London: Routledge, 1994. Also vailable as an e-book via the Library databaseRoutledge Politics and International Relations Online and as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco.
- Robertson, David. A Dictionary of Modern Politics. London: Europa Publications, 2002. 3rd ed. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Robertson, Roland, and Jan Aart Scholte. Encyclopedia of Globalization. New York: Routledge, 2007.
- Smelser, Neil J., and Paul B. Baltes, eds. International
Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. Oxford:
Elsevier Science, 2001. Also available online.
- Statesman's Year-
book. New York: St. Martin's Press.
- Storey, John W., and Glenn H. Utter. Religion
and Politics: a Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2002.
Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference
Center.
- Tate, C. Neale, ed. Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizens’ Rights and Responsibilities. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006.
- Vaidya, Ashish K., ed. Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor and Politics. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2006.
Political theory 
- Adams, Ian, and R.W. Dyson. Fifty Major Political Thinkers. 2nd ed. London: Routledge, 2007. First ed. available as an e-book via the Library databaseRoutledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Arrington, Robert L., ed. A
Companion to the Philosophers. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999. Also
available
as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Benewick, Robert, and Philip Green. The Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Political Thinkers. 2nd ed. London: Routledge, 1998. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Onlinee.
- Blackburn, Simon. The
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy. Oxford: Oxford UP, 1996. Also available as an
e-book
via the Library database Oxford Reference Online.
- Borchert, Donald M. Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Detroit, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Brown, Stuart, ed. Dictionary of Twentieth-Century British Philosophers. Bristol: Thoemmes Continuum, 2005.
- Caygill, Howard. A
Kant Dictionary. Oxford: Blackwell Reference, 1995. Also available
as an e-book
via the Library database Ebsco.
- Clarke, Paul Barry, and Joe Foweraker, eds. Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought. London: Routledge, 2001. Available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Reference Resources Online and as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Davies, Peter, and Derek Lynch. The Routledge Companion to Fascism and the Far Right. London: Routledge, 2002. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Delon,
Michel, ed. Encyclopedia
of the Enlightenment. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
-
Deutsch, Eliot, and Ronald Bontekoe. A
Companion to World Philosophies. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999. Also
available
as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Grendler, Paul F. Encyclopedia
of the Renaissance. New York: Scribner's, 1999.
- Hillerbrand,
Hans J., ed. The
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation. New York: Oxford
University Press, 1996.
- Hoffman, John. A Glossary of Political Theory. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford Law and Politics, 2007.
- Honderich, Ted. The
Oxford Companion to Philosophy. Oxford: Oxford University
Press, 1995. This is also available as an e-book
via the Library database Oxford Reference Online.
- Horowitz, Maryanne Cline, ed. New
Dictionary of the History of Ideas. New York: Charles
Scribner's Sons, 2005. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Kors, Alan Charles, ed. Encyclopedia
of the Enlightenment. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Also available as an e-book via the Library database Oxford Reference
Online.
-
Martinich, Aloysius. A
Hobbes Dictionary. Oxford: Blackwell, 1995. Available
as an e-book via the Library database
Ebsco Reference Center.
- Miller, David, ed. The
Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought. Oxford: Blackwell,
1987. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Miskelly, Matthew, and Jaime Noce, eds. Political Theories for
Students. Vol. 1. Detroit: Gale Group, 2002. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Murray, Christopher John, ed. Encyclopedia of
Modern French Thought. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.
- Parker, Noel, and Stuart Sim. The A-Z
Guide to Modern Social and Political Theorists. London : Prentice
Hall/Harvester Wheatsheaf, 1997.
- Pyle, Andrew, ed. The
Dictionary of Seventeenth-Century British Philosophers. Bristol:
Thoemmes, 2000.
- Roth, John K., ed. World
Philosophers and Their Works. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press,
2000.
- Sheldon, Garrett Ward, ed. Encyclopedia
of Political Thought. New York: Facts on File, 2001.
- Stockhammer, Morris. Plato
Dictionary. London: Vision, 1963.
- Yolton,
John W. The
Blackwell Companion to the Enlightenment. Oxford: Blackwell, 1992.
- Yolton, John W., John Valdimir Price and John
Stephens, eds. The
Dictionary of Eighteenth-Century British Philosophers. Bristol:
Thoemmes Press, 1999.
Social movements 
- Extremist Groups: Information for Students. Detroit : Thomson Gale, 2006. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Garner, Roberta. Social Movement Theory and Research: An Annotated Bibliographical Guide. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1997.
- Goldstone, Jack, ed. The Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.
- Hanson, Paul R. Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2004.
- Hewitt, Christopher, and Tom Cheetham. Encyclopedia of Modern Separatist Movements. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2000. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Lerner, K. Lee, Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, and Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner, eds. Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources. Detroit, Mich.: Thomson Gale, 2006. Available as an e-book via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Manganiello, Stephen C. The Concise Encyclopedia of the Revolutions and Wars of England, Scotland, and Ireland, 1639-1660. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2004.
- Mathews, Robert A., ed. French Revolution: Overview and Bibliography. New York: Nova Science Publishers, 2002.
- Powers, Roger S., and William B. Vogele, eds. Protest, Power, and Change: An Encyclopedia of Nonviolent Action from ACT-UP to Women's Suffrage. New York: Garland, 1997.
- Schreurs, Miranda A. Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md. The Scarecrow Press, 2007.
- Van Creveld, Martin, ed. The Encyclopedia of Revolutions and Revolutionaries: From Anarchism to Zhou Enlai. New York: Facts on File, 1996.
Elections 
- Dubin, Michel J. United States Presidential Elections, 1788-1860: The Official Results by County and State. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2002.
- Friedenberg, Robert V. Notable Speeches in Contemporary Presidential Campaigns. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Publishing Group, 2002. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Martin, Fenton S., and Robert U. Goehlert. How to Research Elections. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c2000.
- Moore, John L. Elections A to Z. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, c1999.
- Nohlen, Dieter, Florian Grotz, and Christof Hartmann, eds. Elections in Africa: A Data Handbook. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999.
- ---, eds. Elections in Asia and the Pacific: A Data Handbook. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001.
- Roberts, Robert North. Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.
- Rose, Richard. International Encyclopedia of Elections. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c2000.
- Rusk, Gerald G. A Statistical History of the American Electorate. Washington, DC.: CQ Press, 2001.
- Szajkowski, Bogdan, ed. Political Parties of the World. 6th ed. London: John Harper, 2005. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Politics and the media 
- Chadwick, Ruth, ed. The
Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics in Politics and the Media. San
Diego, Academic Press, 2001.
- Cull, Nicholas John, David Holbrook Culbert, and David Welch.
Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the
Present. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebsco Reference
Center.
- Danesi, Marcel. Encyclopedic
Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications. Toronto:
University of Toronto Press, 2000.
- Foerstel,
Herbert N. Banned
in the Media: A Reference Guide to Censorship in the Press, Motion
Pictures, Broadcasting, and the Internet. Westport, Conn. :
Greenwood Press, 1998. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebrary.
- Green, Jonathon, ed. Encyclopedia of Censorship. Rev. ed. New York: Facts On File, 2005.
- Greenberg, Gerald S. Tabloid
Journalism: An Annotated Bibliography of English-Language Sources.
Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1996.
- Griffiths, Dennis, ed. The
Encyclopedia of the British Press, 1422-1992. New York: St.
Martin's Press, 1992.
- Hull, Mary E. Censorship
in America: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference
Center.
- Johnston, Donald H., ed. Encyclopedia
of International Media and Communications. Amsterdam:
Academic Press, 2003.
- Keeble, Richard. The
Newspapers Handbook. 3rd ed. London, Routledge, 2001.
- Murray, Michael D., ed. Encyclopedia
of Television News. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1999. Also
available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebrary.
- Quick, Amanda, ed. World
Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide. 2nd ed.
Detroit: Gale, 2003. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Schaefer, Todd M., and Thomas A. Birkland. eds. Encyclopedia of Media and Politics. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2007.
- Schement, Jorge Reina, ed. Encyclopedia
of Communication and Information. New York: Macmillan Reference
Center, 2002. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco
Reference Center.
- Watson, James, and Anne Hill. Dictionary
of Media and Communication Studies. 6th ed. London: Arnold, 2003.
- Willings
Press Guide
Vol. 1 - guide to the UK press (print and broadcast). Vol. 2 - guide
to the leading newspapers in other countries.
Public policy 
- Breslow, Lester. Encyclopedia
of Public Health. New York: Macmillan Reference Center, 2002.
Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference
Center.
- Grafton, R. Quentin, Linwood H. Pendleton, and Harry W. Nelson. A
Dictionary of Environmental Economics, Science, and Policy.
Northampton, MA.: Edward Elgar, 2001. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebsco
Reference Center.
- Hawkesworth, Mary, and Maurice Kogan, eds. Encyclopedia of Government and Politics. 2nd ed. London: Routledge, 2004. Available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Jackson, Byron. Encyclopedia
of American Public Policy. Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, 1999.
- Midgley, James, Martin B. Tracy, and Michelle Livermore, eds. The
Handbook of Social Policy. Thousand Oaks: Sage, 2000.
- Rabin, Jack, ed. Encyclopedia
of Public Administration and Public Policy. New York: Marcel
Dekker, 2003.
- Rowley, Charles K. and Friedrich Schneider, eds. Encyclopedia
of Public Choice. Boston: Kluwer Academic, 2004.
- Schultz, David, ed. Encyclopedia
of Public Administration and Public Policy. New York: Facts On
File, 2004.
- Shafritz, Jay M., ed. International
Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration. Boulder:
Westview Press, 1998.
Environmental Politics 
International relations 
- Anderson, Ewan W. International Boundaries:
A Geopolitical
Atlas.
London: Stationery Office, 2000.
- Arnold, Guy. Historical Dictionary of the Non-Aligned Movement and Third World. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2006.
- Berridge, G. R., and Alan James. A
Dictionary of Diplomacy. New ed. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan,
2003.
- Evans, Graham, and Jeffrey Newnham. The
Penguin Dictionary of International Relations. Ringwood, Vic.:
Penguin, 1998.
- DeConde, Alexander, Richard Dean Burns, and Frederick Logevall, eds.
Encyclopedia
of American Foreign Policy: Studies of the Principal Movements and
Ideas. 2nd ed. New York: Scribner, 2002. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Dent, David W. Historical Dictionary of U.S.-Latin American Relations. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2005.
- Goode, Walter. Dictionary
of Trade Policy Terms. 4th ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University
Press, 2003.
- Griffiths, Martin, ed. Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics. London: Routledge, 2005. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Griffiths, Martin. Fifty Key Thinkers in International Relations. London: Routledge, 1999. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Reference Resources Online and as an e-book in the Library database Ebrary.
- Griffiths, Martin, and Terry O’Callaghan. International Relations: The Key Concepts. London: Routledge, 2002. Available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Guide to the Archives of Member States’ Foreign Ministries and European Union Institutions. 3rd rev. and enl. ed. Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 2005.
- Hahn, Peter L. Historical Dictionary of United States-Middle East Relations. Lanham, Md.: The Scarecrow Press, 2007.
- Hanes, Sharon M., and Richard C. Hanes, eds. Cold War Reference
Library. Farmington Hills, MI : UXL, 2004. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Hewitt, Christopher. Encyclopedia
of Modern Separatist Movements. Santa Barbara, Calif. :
ABC-CLIO, 2000. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebsco.
- Hinkelman, Edward G. Dictionary
of International Trade: Handbook of the Global Trade Community.
4th ed. Novato, Calif.: World Trade Press, 2000.
- Mays, Terry M. The A to Z of Multinational Peacekeeping. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2006.
- Minahan, James. Encyclopedia of the Stateless
Nations: Ethnic and National Groups Around the World. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002. Each volume is also available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
Vol.1
A-C ; 2
D-K ; 3
L-R ; 4
S-Z.
- Ramsay, Anne, ed. Eurojargon: A Dictionary of European Union Acronyms, Abbreviations and
Sobriquets. 6th ed. Bruton, England: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
- Reynolds, Frank. A
to Z of International Trade. Paris: ICC Pub. S.A., 2002.
- Toropov, Brandon. Encyclopedia
of Cold War Politics. New York, NY: Facts on File, 2000.
- Who's
Who in International Affairs 2005. 4th ed. London: Europa, 2004.
- World
at Risk: a Global Issues Sourcebook. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press,
2002.
- Yarn, Douglas H., ed. Dictionary
of Conflict Resolution. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1999. Available
as an e-book via the Library database Credo Reference.
- Ziring, Lawrence, Jack C. Plano, and Roy Olton. International
Relations: A Political Dictionary. 5th ed. Santa Barbara,
Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1995.
- The Major International Treaties of the Twentieth Century: A History and Guide with Texts. 3rd ed. London: Routledge, 2001. Available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
Organisations 
- Babkina, A. M., ed. World
Trade Organization: Issues and Bibliography. Huntington, N.Y.:
Nova Science, 2000.
- Fomerand, Jacques. Historical Dictionary of the United Nations. New ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
- MacDougall, Derek. Historical
Dictionary of International Organizations in Asia and the Pacific.
Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2002.
- Osman´czyk, Edmund Jan. Encyclopedia
of the United Nations and International Agreements. 3rd ed.
New York: Routledge, 2003.
Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Schiavone, Giuseppe. International
Organizations: A Dictionary and Directory. 5th ed. New York:
Palgrave, 2001.
- Smith, W. Thomas. Encyclopedia
of the Central Intelligence Agency. New York: Facts On File,
2003.
Human rights 
- Altschiller, Donald. Hate
Crimes: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference
Center.
- Cartwright, Rita Cantos, and H. Victor Condé. Human
Rights in the United States: A Dictionary and Documents. Santa
Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
- Edmonds, Beverly C., and William R. Fernekes. Children's
Rights: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif.:
ABC-CLIO, 1996.
- Gorman, Robert F., and Edward S. Mihalkanin. Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organization. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
- Kabasakal Arat, Zehra F. Human Rights Worldwide: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2006. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco.
- Langley, Winston. Encyclopedia
of Human Rights Issues Since 1945. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press,
1999. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebrary.
- Lawson, Edward, comp. Encyclopedia
of Human Rights. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: Taylor & Francis,
1996.
- Lerner, K. Lee, Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, and Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner, eds. Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources. Detroit, Mich.: Thomson Gale, 2006. Available as an e-book via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Lewis,
James R., and Carl Skutsch, eds. The
Human Rights Encyclopedia. Armonk, N.Y.: Sharpe Reference, 2001.
-
Redman, Nina, and Lucille Whalen. Human
Rights: a Reference Handbook. 2nd ed. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco Reference
Center.
- Robertson, David. A Dictionary of Human Rights. 2nd ed. London: Europa, 2004. Also available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Shelton, Dinah L., ed. Encyclopedia
of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity. Farmington Hills :
Macmillan Reference, 2004. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Military politics 
- Croddy, Eric A., and James J. Wirtz, eds. Weapons of Mass Destruction: An Encyclopedia of Worldwide Policy, Technology, and History. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2005.
- Hacker, Barton C. World
Military History Bibliography: Premodern and Nonwestern Military
Institutions and Warfare. Leiden: Brill, 2003.
- The
Military Balance. Latest issue in General Library Arts Reference.
- Pennington, R. Amazons to Fighter Pilots: A Biographical Dictionary of Military Women. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 2003.
- SIPRI
Yearbook: World Armaments and Disarmament. Latest issue shelved in General
Library Arts Reference.
- Worldwide Directory of Defense Authorities: Nations, International Organizations. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2006.
Wars, conflicts 
- Bercovitch, Jacob, and Judith Fretter. Regional
Guide to International Conflict and Management From 1945 to 2003.
Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2004.
- Benson, Sonia G., Nancy Matuszak, and Meghan Appel O'Meara, eds. History
Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide. Detroit:
Gale, 2003. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Burgess, Heidi, and Guy M. Burgess. Encyclopedia
of Conflict Resolution. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1997.
- Rudolph, Joseph R. Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Publishing Group, 2003. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebsco Reference Center.
- Smith, Dan, ed. The
Penguin Atlas of War and Peace. 4th ed. New York, N.Y.:
Penguin, 2003.
Terrorism 
- Babkina, A. M. Terrorism:
A Bibliography with
Indexes. 2nd ed.
Huntington, N.Y. : Nova Science Publishers, 2001.
- Berry, LaVerle, Glenn Curtis, Rex Hudson. Bibliography on Future
Trends in Terrorism. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress,
Federal Research Division, 1998. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Ebrary.
- Grover, Verinder. Encyclopaedia of International
Terrorism. Updated
2002 ed. New Delhi: Deep & Deep Publications, 2002.
- Herbst, Philip. Talking Terrorism:
A Dictionary of the Loaded
Language of Political Violence. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press,
2003.
- Kushner, Harvey W. Encyclopedia of
Terrorism. Thousand Oaks, Calif.:
Sage, c2003. Also available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Mickolus, Edward. Terrorism,
1992-1995: A Chronology of Events and a Selectively Annotated
Bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
- Outman, James L., and Elisabeth M. Outman. Terrorism Reference
Library. Available as an e-book
via the Library database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Thackrah, John Richard. Dictionary of Terrorism. 2nd ed. London: Routledge, 2004. Available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
- Whittaker, David J. The Terrorism Reader. 3rd ed. London: Routledge, 2007. 2nd ed. available as an e-book via the Library database Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.
Women and politics 
- Kinnear, Karen L. Women
in the Third World: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara,
Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1997.
- Kramarae, Cheris, and Dale Spender. Routledge
International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and
Knowledge. New York: Routledge, 2000.
- McFadden, Margaret, ed. Women's
Issues. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1997.
- Notable
Women in World Government Magill's Choice. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem
Press, 2000. Available as an e-book via the Library database Ebsco
Reference Center.
- Rappaport, Helen. Encyclopedia
of Women Social Reformers. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO,
2001.
- Seager, Joni. The
Penguin Atlas of Women in the World. 3rd ed. New York: Penguin,
2003.
- Worell, Judith, ed. Encyclopedia
of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact
of Society on Gender. San Diego, Calif.: Academic, 2001.
Page 1, 2
|