INTERNET   RESOURCES:   POLITICAL STUDIES

WWW Databases

International
Asia - Pacific
Europe - Eurasia
Middle East - Africa
North America Canada  United States
South America - Central America
INTERNATIONAL
Cold War International History Project (CWIPH)
Disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War.
The Commonwealth
Website of the Commonwealth, and the Commonwealth Secretariat in London.
Constitution Finder
This index offers constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents. 
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series offers a comprehensive description and analysis of a country or region's historical setting, geography, society, economy, political system, foreign policy, and national security. 
CyberJournalist.net
Focuses on the Internet and new technologies, always looking to see how technology is affecting journalism. 
Dart Center for Journalism & Trauma
Global network of journalists, journalism educators and health professionals dedicated to improving media coverage of trauma, conflict and tragedy. 
Economist Country briefings
Each report includes forecasts, economic and political profiles, core statistics, essential recent articles and in-depth surveys from The Economist.
Note: some information on this site is not freely available over the Internet.
Elections Around the World
Information on every independent country in the world.
Chief George Manuel Memorial Library
This website contains over 500 documents on Fourth World nations in the Americas, Africa, Asia, Europe, Melanesia and the Pacific.
Human Rights Internet
Aims to serve the information needs of international scholars, human rights activists, asylum lawyers, and other organizations. 
Human Rights Watch
Organisation dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world. Offers information on campaigns, publications and news. 
IGC: PeaceNet
Covers peace, human rights, and social and economic justice. 
Institute for the Study of Conflict, Ideology, and Policy
Maintained by Boston University's Institute for the Study of Conflict, Ideology, and Policy. Studies the political and security developments of conflict-prone societies in crisis, particularly Russia and other post-Soviet republics. 
IntellectualCapital.com
IntellectualCapital.com is a weekly e-zine of public policy ideas and opinions edited by Pete du Pont and featuring two dozen respected public policy experts representing a spectrum of views.
ISN: International Relations and Security Network
ISN covers the fields of international  relations and security. 
Investigative Reporters and Editors Inc.(IRE)
IRE is a member-supported, international organization run by investigative journalists. 
Nations of the World
UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
This site offers an extensive collection of United Nations human rights documents, as well as international human rights instruments, news, and other publications.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
World Values Survey
Worldwide investigation of sociocultural and political change, conducted by social scientists at leading universities.
 ASIA-PACIFIC Top of page
Australian Government 
Australasian Constitutional Conventions of the 1890s
The records of the Australasian Federation Conference of 1890 and the Australasian Federal Conventions of 1891 and 1897/8. 
AGIP (Australian Government Information)
AGIP contains bibliographic entries for publications sold by the Government Info Shops, and publications distributed through the Commonwealth Library Deposit and Free Issue Schemes
Australian Policy Online
Australia's Prime Ministers
CocoNET Wireless: Pacific Islands news and information
Documenting a Democracy: Australia's Story
Contains documents which tell the story of Australia's democracy.
Pacific Islands Report
Parliament of Australia
This includes the Australian Hansard and the Index to Parliamentary Papers
Tonga Legislation Online
EUROPE-EURASIA Top of page
BOPCRIS
This site allows you to search and browse information from British Official Publications over the period 1688-1995.  A limited number of these publications are available as fulltext. 
EurActiv Portal on EU affairs
Aims to provide news monitoring, policy positions, discussion forums and contacts on selected EU affairs topics. 
Europa
A guide to the European Union and its constituent bodies. 
Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe
Provides authoritative background and topical information on the regional security organization.
Government of Ireland's web site
Parliament of Ireland - Houses of the Oireachtas
United Kingdom Parliament
This site includes Hansard for the House of Commons and the House of Lords.
MIDDLE EAST-AFRICA Top of page
Arabnet
News and general information on 22 Arab countries, including the Comoros, Djibouti, and Somalia; excluded are Iran and Turkey.
AFRICA Top of page
AllAfrica.com
Primary news provider for the African continent.
Africa Point: Africa News and Media Sites
Links to web-based news resources probided by local newspapers and magazines.
BBC News Online: World Africa
Presents news reports from the BBC regarding African current events.
MIDDLE EAST Top of page
ABC News: International
Arab News Media and Database
BBC News: Middle East
NORTH AMERICA Top of page

CANADA Top of page

Government of Canada
Parliament of Canada
Including Senate debates and House of Commons debates.
Government of Canada (GoC) Core Subject Thesaurus  
A bilingual standardized vocabulary designed to facilitate the indexing and retrieval of resources available on Government of Canada Web sites. 
CIIA (Canadian Institute of International Affairs
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA Top of page
Government websites and websites about government information

US House of Representatives
Links to the membership directory, committee and subcommittee list, information on chamber organization and operation, an overview of the legislative process, daily updates of legislative action, schedules, and Internet law library, and access to links from the other branches of government.

CongressLInk
Information about how the U.S. Congress works, its members and leaders, and the public policies it produces.
GAO US Government Accountability Office
The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress.
Rollcall Online
This site has a more specialized coverage of Congress than many others.
Dept. of State's International Information Programs
Consists of press releases, texts of speeches, transcripts of radio broadcasts. This site presents the US government position and perspective on major international relations issues.
United States Senate
This site provides links to the current membership directory, a list of committees and subcommittees, current legislative activities, and Senate procedures.
White House
Includes links to biographical information on the President and Vice-President, various federal programs, and a citizen's handbook.
Fedstats
A useful starting point for anyone who wants to find federal statistics on a particular topic on the Web, but is unsure which federal agency gathers or publishes them.
Foreign Relations of the United States
This site offers a permanent archive of material released prior to January 20, 2001. For material released since George W. Bush took office see the Department of State's web site.
GovFresh: Government 2.0
Live feeds of offical U.S. Government news on social networking sites Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Flickr
THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet
Provides the full text of bills (103rd Congress and after), laws, Congressional Record (103rd and after), and most committee reports.
Social issues
Center for the American Woman and Politics - CAWP
Specialized research unit devoted to researching, evaluating, and promoting the changing role of women in positions of political leadership. 
American Civil Rights Review
American Civil Rights Review is an extensive library of materials dealing with  the good and bad sides of the civil rights movement worldwide.
Foreign Policy Association
National Security Archive
Research institute on international affairs, a library and archive of declassified U.S. documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. It is the world's largest non governmental library of declassified documents.
Political Advocacy Groups
An online directory of United States political pressure groups, special interest groups and lobbyists. 
Terrorism Project
This site looks at all aspects of fighting terrorism. 
Welfare Reform and the General Welfare
This site includes the text of US welfare legislation, speeches by public officials, articles from professional journals, and reports from conservative and liberal think tanks.

Elections

Living Room Candidate
Presidential campaign commercials, 1952-2008.

Presidential Elections : 1789-2000
This page features the printable maps for the Presidential Elections 1789-2000.
Presidential Elections, 1860-1912
Features political cartoons and prints from Harper's Weekly, Vanity Fair, Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, Puck, and the Library of Congress political print collection. Each cartoon or print is accompanied by a note explaining the historical context, identifying the people and events caricatured, and interpreting the symbols and artistic perspective.
Think Tanks
Brookings Institution
Cato Institute
U.S. Institute of Peace
SOUTH AMERICA-CENTRAL AMERICA Top of page
HLAS Online
Handbook of Latin American Studies indexes books, book chapters, journal articles, and conference papers. Disciplines covered include anthropology, economics, government and politics, international relations, philosophy and sociology. 
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
Contains over 60 surveys analysing public opinion on topics in the political and social sciences.
Political Database of the Americas
A comprehensive resource of current primary source documents and political information about Western Hemisphere politics. This site focuses on Latin American politics.
Top of page

File last updated: February 4, 2011
File location : poldb.htm