POLITICAL   STUDIES :    DATABASES



Access DATABASE
 

International databases
Fulltext databases
Regional databases
Social science databases
Newspapers

International databases

The following databases index political science journal articles. Some index books, and some contain full text. Content is mainly overseas publications.
 
International Political Science Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles in political science journals and yearbooks.
 
 
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Covers all social sciences, with an emphasis on Anthropology, Economics, Political Studies and Sociology. Indexes journals and books.
 

International Studies Encyclopedia
Contains review essays on topics in international studies.

 
PAIS
Public Affairs Information Service is a selective index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues.

Palgrave Connect
The Library has access to the complete text of the books in the 'Political and International Studies' collection, for the years 2000-2009.

Philosopher's Index
Provides citations and abstracts to books, book reviews, and articles in over 300 philosophy journals.  Useful for political theory. 
  Politics and International Relations (Sage Full Text)
Complete text of journals covering Political science, American government & politics, Political sociology, Comparative politics, Policy studies, Political communication, Peace / Conflict studies, Presidential studies, Political theory / Philosophy, International relations, and Area studies.
 
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts political science books and articles in political science journals. One of the CSA group of databases.
 

Fulltext databases

 
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online
Covers the theory of international relations. Includes the full texts of working papers from international research organizations.
CQ Electronic Library
Comprises CQ Weekly, Historical Documents, CQ Global Researcher, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, Political Handbook of the World.

Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive is a primary source collection that contains de-classified United States documents.

Europa World Plus
This database provides in depth geo-political information for countries.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Based on the Chadwyck-Healey microfiche edition of the 19th century House of Commons Sessional Papers. A detailed primary source for 19th century research.
MilitaryNetBASE
Online collection of over 100 books on warfare and military history.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Covers topics currently debated in society. Contains opinion pieces, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Oxford Handbooks Online
This e-book collection includes several political science handbooks such as The Oxford Handbook of Political Theory, The Oxford Handbook of Public Policy, and The Oxford Handbook of International Relations.
Oxford Scholarship Online
This database contains abstracts and full text of a selection of Oxford University Press books. Covers Political Science, Philosophy, Economics and Religion.
Past Masters
Past Masters contains the full-text of classical scholarly editions and translations of significant works in the Western tradition of philosophy.
Politics and International Relations (Sage Full Text)
Complete text of journals covering political science, American government & politics, political sociology, comparative politics, policy studies, political communication, peace / conflict studies, presidential studies, political theory / philosophy, international relations, and rea studies.
  Routledge Politics and International Relations Online
This is a collection of reference books in the area of international relations and political theory.
 

Regional databases

The following databases focus on publications in a specific country, or region.

New Zealand

ANZ Reference Centre
Contains full text of several Australian, New Zealand, and international newspapers.
Hansard
Hansard gives access to debates in the New Zealand House of Representatives. You may search and view the transcripts of the debates.
 
Index New Zealand (INNZ)
General index to New Zealand newspapers and journals.
New Zealand Government Directory Online
Newzindex
Index to major New Zealand business newspapers and magazines.
 
 
NewztextPlus
Contains fulltext articles from many New Zealand newspapers.

Australia

APAFT (Australian Public Affairs - Full Text)
Indexing and full text database covering scholarly articles in the social sciences and humanities published in Australia, and selected periodical articles, conference papers, book and newspaper articles on Australian economic, social, political and cultural affairs.
APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) 
Indexing database covering scholarly articles in the social sciences and humanities published in Australia, and selected periodical articles, conference papers, book and newspaper articles on Australian economic, social, political and cultural affairs. (Some of the items indexed in APAIS are available full text in APAFT.)
Media_Scan
Indexes nine Australian newspapers.

Asia

Bibliography of Asian Studies
More than 410,000 records (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Bibliography of Indonesian Politics and the Economy (BIPE)
Indexes and abstracts items on Indonesian politics, government, economy, political culture and demography.

Latin America

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals)
Indexes journals published in the western world. Indexes articles, book reviews, documents and other material on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage includes politics and government, foreign relations, economic development and policy issues, public administration, drug trade and gender studies.
 

Social science databases

The following databases index articles in social science journals.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
English-language scholarly journals and specialized magazines covering a wide range of topics within the humanities and social sciences.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Series I)
19th Century Masterfile is an accumulation of various indexes to printed materials from the nineteenth century. Series I includes Pooles Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907.
Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue
Indexes printed materials published in the United States and the British Empire from 1801 to 1919.
 
Political Studies Audio-Visual Database
Catalogue of departmental material in the Audio-Visual Library.
Proquest Social Science Journals
Previously called Social Science Plus. Has full-text and images for some titles.
 
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts over 2,600 journals, conference papers, books, dissertations, and also web sites. Covers political sociology, media and policy sciences. One of the CSA group of databases.
 
 
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index (1945-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-)

Newspapers

The following databases index, or include the full text of, newspaper articles.
17th-18th Century Burney Collection of Newspapers
700 volumes of newspapers collected by Charles Burney (1757-1817) and now held at the British Library.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
48 newspapers from the United Kingdom.
Academic Research Library
Indexes newspapers from around the world. Some are full text.
Academic Search Premier
Indexes newspapers from around the world. Some are full text.
ANZ Reference Centre
Contains full text of several Australian, New Zealand, and international newspapers.
APAFT (Australian Public Affairs - Full Text)
Indexing database with some full text of newspaper articles on Australian economic, social, political and cultural affairs.
APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service)
Selectively indexes Australian newspapers.
Expanded Academic
Indexes newspapers and newswires. Some are full text.
  Factiva
Factiva contains the full text of articles in newspapers from around the world. Includes the Washington Post, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Guardian and Observer (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Index New Zealand (INNZ)
Selectively indexes several New Zealand newspapers.
Media Scan
Indexes nine Australian newspapers.
Newspaper Source
Cover-to-cover full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star. The database also contains selected full text from more than 180 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Newzindex
Indexes many New Zealand newspapers.
NewztextPlus
Contains fulltext articles from many New Zealand newspapers.

Press Display
Facsmilies of recent newspapers from around the world. Includes local and regional New Zealand newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Contains archival full text for New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Guardian, Observer and Atlanta Constitution.

Times Digital Archive
Full text database of The Times, London, 1785-1985.
Interdisciplinary databases
Useful for finding articles on inter-disciplinary topics. 

File last updated: February 4, 2011
File location : pol.htm