|
Most of the University of Auckland Library's printed material on the New Zealand government is located
in the New Zealand and Pacific Collection, Ground
Level, General Library. Legal material is located in the
Davis Law Library.
Sources for finding New Zealand official information are listed below.
Links are
usually through
to the Voyager record. To access links to Library electronic
resources, such as databases, or e-journals, you need to log on with your Net ID and Net
Password.
Official publications

House of Representatives

- Journals of the House of Representatives.
The Journals are the official record of the
proceedings of the House of Representatives. The Journals list accounts and papers
presented to the House, Bills and their progress, members of select
committees, and petitions presented. Useful to track when something
happened, and who was involved. Produced sessionally.
- Parliamentary Debates
(Hansard)
Hansard is the official report of parliamentary debates. All speeches
are included in Hansard. Proceedings without debates are not
recorded. Each volume has an index. A sessional index is published every
three years. Index entries are listed under names
of MPs, and broad categories. Most
debates generated by a Bill occur at the Second Reading.
Hansard is broadcast on
radio on
the AM network. 'Week in Parliament' is broadcast on
Sundays.
Uncorrected Hansards are available via Parliament's website. See the internet
section below. Advance Hansard goes on the
internet within four days of debate. A weeks worth of Hansard appear as
three individual days. The Library database Hansard
has the full text of the transcripts, from 1987.
- Parliamentary Bulletin

Published every week that the House sits. The Bulletin contains progress of
Bills, presentation of
papers and petitions, and the business scheduled for Select
Committees.
- Questions and Answers
Available online
via tParliament's website. See the internet section below. TVNZ films question time, and this is available on TVNZ's website.
To find these, click on the 'News' tab and then click on the
'Politics' tab. Also available on Sky TV. Oral Questions from 1995 and Written
Answers from 1987 are searchable via the Library database Hansard. Oral Questions is published on the internet around 11.30 am.
- Notice paper
- Order Paper
There are two versions of the Order paper, the Provisional and the
Final. The Provisional Order Paper
is available on the internet, the Friday prior
to a Tuesday sitting. The Final Order Paper is available
on Parliament's website, 10.30 am on the day of
sitting. See the internet
section below.
- Appendix to the Journals of the House of Representatives of New
Zealand
The Appendix to the Journals contains parliamentary papers and reports printed by Order of
the House of Representatives. Cumulative indexes are
available, 1854-1963 in Special Collections, Level 1, General
Library.

The material is arranged by shoulder
number. Earlier issues are bound. Unbound issues are in pamphlet
boxes at the end of the bound sequence. Also available online as Parliamentary Papers. See the internet section below.
Appendix to the Journals of the House of Representatives Shoulder numbers
A Legislative and foreign affairs
B Finance,
revenue, etc
C Land,
agriculture and environment
D Resources
and Energy
E Welfare
and justice
F Communications
G General
(Includes annual reports of Departments)
H Royal
Commissions
I Select
Committee Reports (Not all Select Committee Reports are tabled
in Parliament)
To find a detailed list of shoulder numbers check this site
from University of Canterbury Library.
- New Zealand Gazette.
Also available online.
The official newspaper of the Government. There are two editions,
the main
edition and the customs
edition. Reports the day to day business of government -
proclamations, Orders in Council, a summary of Parliamentary proceedings,
appointments to and resignations from all ministerial
portfolios. Current ministers
are found in the New Zealand Official Year
Book and on the government
web pages. Recent reshuffles will be reported in newspapers.
Select Committee Reports 
Select Committees meet weekly. A schedule is available from
Parliament's website. See the internet
section below. The schedule records when a Select Committee is open to the public. Proceedings of Select Committees are closed to the public.
Submissions to
Select Committees are given in public, and are released. Select
Committees may make public statements via press releases and the internet. Some
recent press releases are available from the Parliament's website. See the internet
section below. Search newspaper indexes such as the Library databases Index New Zealand, and
NewztextPlus,
to find press releases, or browse the government's web pages.
Select Committee reports tabled in Parliament are published in the Appendix
to the Journals of the House of Representatives, at the shoulder no.
I. Recent NIAs (National Interest Analysis) are part of the Select
Committee Report.
Consult Parliamentary
Bulletin, or Journals of the House of Representatives to track the progress of Select Committee
reports, and when they are presented to the House. Information on the
shoulder number is included.
Consult Appendix
to the Journals of the House of Representatives to find government responses to Select
Committees. (Shoulder no. A5.)
Unbound government responses are shelved in the pamphlet boxes with the A shoulder number.
Bound
government responses are bound in with shoulder no. I (eg I A5)
Recent Select Committee reports are available on Parliament's website. See the internet
section below.
E-journals

Reference
material 
Reference books are a good place to start researching a topic because
the information is concise and written by experts. Use reference books for
brief introductions, facts, or definitions. Some are in print, some are
online. Some are in reference collections, some are on the open shelves.
- Bateman New Zealand
Encyclopedia. 5th ed., updated and expanded.
Auckland: Bateman, 2000.
- Directory of Official
Information. Wellington: State Services Commission.
Gives details of government depts., organizations, and state owned
enterprises subject to the Official Information Act 1982.
- Haughey, E. J., and J. L. Fairway. Royal Commissions and
Commissions of Inquiry. Wellington: Govt. Print., 1974.
- Index to New Zealand Periodicals
Use this to find articles
in New Zealand journals prior to 1987. Use the Library database Index New Zealand
to search for material published from 1987.
- Levine, Stephen, and Paul Harris, eds. New Zealand Politics
Source Book. 3rd ed. Palmerston North: Dunmore Press, 1999.
- Martin, John E. The
House: New Zealand's House of Representatives, 1854-2004.
Palmerston North: Dunmore Press, 2004.
- Ringer, J. B. An Introduction to New Zealand Government: a Guide to
Finding Out About Government in New Zealand, its Institutions,
Structures and Activities. Christchurch: Hazard Press, 1991.
- Robertson, Evelyn, and Peter H. Hughes, comps. A Checklist: New
Zealand Royal Commissions, Commissions and Committees of Inquiry,
1864-1981: a Checklist. Wellington: New Zealand Library
Association, 1982.
- Key
statistics. Wellington: Dept. of Statistics.
- Kirk, Allan R. The Dictionary of the New Zealand
Parliament. Wellington: Capital
Letters, 1995.
- New Zealand Government Sector
Directory. Wellington: Tennant
Print Media.
Includes structures and membership of Cabinet, Caucus, and Select
Committees, lists of electorates, government departments, Ministries,
State Owned Enterprises (SOEs), selected statutory bodies, including
producer boards, New Zealand overseas representatives, and political
party headquarters.
- New Zealand Government
Directory. Also available online. See the databases
section below.
Three sections: Who's who in politics; Who's who in government
departments and official organisations; Our system of government.
- New Zealand National Bibliography.
Includes government publications. For recent publications, search the Library database
Te Puna.
- New Zealand Official Year
Book. Wellington, Govt. Printer.
- New Zealand Who's
Who Aotearoa. Auckland: New Zealand Who's Who Aotearoa.
- Speakers'
Rulings, 1867 to 1989 Inclusive. Wellington: A. R. Shearer,
Govt. Print., 1976. Also available
from the Clerk of the House of Representatives' site. See the internet
section below.
- Statements by Ministers of the Crown. Wellington, N.Z. : Govt.
Printer, 1955-1971.
- Statutes of New
Zealand. Wellington: Govt. Print.
- Statutory Regulations: Being the Regulations Issued Under the
Regulations Act.
- Radio New Zealand, comp. New
Zealand Parliament's Who's Who. Wellington: Radio New
Zealand, 1996.
- Who's Who in the New Zealand
Parliament. Wellington: Parliamentary
Service, 1987-1993.
- Wilson, J. O. New Zealand Parliamentary Record,
1840-1984. 4th ed.
Wellington: Govt. Print., 1985.
Lists details of parliamentary careers of all ministers, under
secretaries, MPs, MLCs.
- Wood, G. A., ed. Ministers and Members in the New Zealand
Parliament. Dunedin: Tarkwode, 1987.
- Wood, G. A., ed. Ministers and Members in the New Zealand
Parliament. 2nd ed. Dunedin: University of Otago Press, 1996.
Newspapers 
To find press releases or articles in New Zealand newspapers, search an index that
indexes New Zealand newspapers, such as Index New Zealand, ANZ
Reference Centre, Factiva or Newzindex.
Some libraries maintain indexes to their local newspapers, and have made
these available over the internet, eg Christchurch City Libraries Papers
Index. Auckland Public Library's index to newspapers is now
available via the Library database Superindex.
Selected full text of the major New Zealand newspapers is available in the
Library database NewtextPlus. If the complete text is not available
online, search Voyager, using the Serial title search, to see if
our Library holds the newspaper. We keep back issues of the main New Zealand newspapers on
microfilm. These are located in the Microtext Room, Ground Level, General
Library.
Databases

Internet

For further New Zealand government pages click here. |