Newspapers and News sites


Newspapers stand in the General Library

Introduction Top of page

This guide is intended for researchers wanting to locate newspaper articles. It lists:

  • newspapers available at the University of Auckland Library
  • databases that include some full-text newspaper articles
  • newspaper indexes
  • reference books about newspapers
  • internet sites, including news sites

The main New Zealand newspapers are held on microfilm in the Microtexts Room, Ground Floor, General Library. A small collection of print international newspapers can be found on Level 1 of the General Library. The latest months are kept for the Times, New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, New Zealand Herald, and The Australian.

Where a newspaper is not held by the University of Auckland Library, newspaper articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan. Many newspapers are accessible over the internet. Most national libraries collect their country's newspapers. Several national libraries have started to digitise these newspapers. To assist researchers, links to national libraries' newspaper collections are included.


Asian newspapers Top of page

Auckland University Library holdings
Full-text databases
Reference books
Internet sites


Auckland University Library holdings Top of page

Bangkok Post (Thailand) Electronic
Newspaper Source 01 Oct. 2001-
 
China Daily (North American ed.)

Electronic
Proquest Asian Business Jan. 2 1995-
Expanded Academic March 1999-

 
The Daily Yomiuru (Japan) Electronic
Newspaper Source 18 Jan. 2005-
 
Japan Times Electronic
Newspaper Source 1 Sept. 2006-
 
Kyodo News International (Japan) Electronic
Newspaper Source 14 April 2003-
 
The Nation (Thailand) Electronic
Newspaper Source 18 Jan. 1998-27 Dec. 2004
 
New Strait Times (Malaysia) Electronic
Newspaper Source 16 Oct. 1998 to 06 April 2004
 
Yomiuri Shimbun (Japan) Electronic
Newspaper Source 11 Jan. 2005-
 

Full-text databases Top of page

Reference books Top of page

Internet sites Top of page


Australian newspapers Top of page

Auckland University Library holdings
Full-text databases
Indexing databases
Print indexes
Internet sites

Auckland University Library holdings Top of page

The Age

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 27 Sept. 1999-
Factiva 19 Jan 1991-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1996-

Indexed in Media Scan, 1991-
The Argus

Microfilm
Tuesday, July 1st, 1890-Wednesday, 31st Dec., 1890

Indexed in the intenet site Argus Index

Print
Latest 3 months.

Microfilm
No. 1 (1964)-30 June 1987

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre, 2 Oct. 2000 -
Factiva 8 July 1996 -.
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2001-

Indexed in Media Scan, 1991 -
The Bulletin

Electronic
Factiva 2 July 2002-

Indexed in Media Scan, 1991-
Courier Mail

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre,
2 Oct. 2000 -
Factiva
20 Jan 1998-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2001-

Daily Broadsheet (Monday to Saturday)
Factiva 20 Jan 1998-
Daily Telegraph

Electronic
Factiva 8 July 1996-
ANZ Reference Centre 2 Oct. 2000-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2001-

 
Herald Sun

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre
22 Jan. 2000-
Factiva 23 July 1997-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2001-

Indexed in Media Scan, 1991 -
Sunday Age
(Melbourne)
Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 26 Sept. 1999-
Factiva 27 Jan. 1991-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1996-
 
Sunday Mail (Adelaide) Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 1 Oct. 2000-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2001-
 

Sunday Mail
(Brisbane)

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 1 Oct. 2000-
Factiva 18 Jan. 1998-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2001-

Indexed in Media Scan, 1994-

Sunday Times
(Perth)

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 12 Nov. 2000-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2004-
 
Sunday Telegraph Sunday edition of the Daily Telegraph
Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 1 Oct. 2000-
Factiva 4 Aug. 1996-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2001-
 
Sydney Morning Herald

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre Sept. 27, 1999-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1996-

Indexed in Media Scan, 1996 -
Indexed by the State Libray of New South Wales http://www.sl.nsw.gov.au/infoquick/

Full-text databases Top of page

Indexing databases Top of page

Print indexes Top of page

Internet sites Top of page

Online newspapers Top of page


British newspapers Top of page

Auckland University Library holdings
Full-text databases
Indexing databases
Print indexes
Reference books
Internet sites

Auckland University Library holdings Top of page

Daily Express

Microfilm
Jan. 1914- Dec. 1919 contained in Popular Newspapers During World War I

Electronic
Factiva Selective full-text 24 July 1997-15 Dec. 2000 ; full-text 16 Dec. 2000-

 

Daily Mail

Print
June 23 1897; June 23, 24 1911; May 6 1935; Jan. 29 1936;
Dec. 11 1936 (p. 17, 18); Apr. 21 1937; Apr. 13, 28 1945;
May 5, 7, 8 1945; Aug. 8, 9, 16 1945

Electronic
Factiva 3 Jan. 1981-
Newspaper Source Selective full text 19 July 2004-

 
Daily Mirror

Print
May 7, 1910; May 19, 1910; Apr. 17, 1912;
Apr. 19, 1912; Mar. 1, 1922

Microfilm
Jan. 1914- Dec. 1919 contained in Popular Newspapers During World War I

 
Daily News Electronic
19th Century British Library Newspapers Jan 21, 1846 - Dec 31, 1900
 
Daily Telegraph Electronic
Factiva 1 Nov. 2000-
 
Daily Star Electronic
Factiva 13 Jan. 2001- Excludes Sunday Magazine
 
Financial Times Electronic
Factiva 2 Jan. 1981- Excludes wire service articles.
Indexed selectively in British Humanities Index, 1988-
The Guardian

Electronic
Factiva 2 Jan. 1981- Selective coverage 2 Jan. 1981 to 4 Oct. 1996
ProQuest Historical Newspapers 1791-2003

Indexed selectively in British Humanities Index, 1985-
Independent on Sunday Electronic
Factiva 25 March 1990 - selective 25 March 1990 to 1 Feb. 1997
Indexed selectively in British Humanities Index, 1990-
Mail on Sunday

Electronic
Factiva Selected coverage from 8 January 1989 to 26 September 1999; full text after that.
Newspaper Source 18 July 2004-

 
News of the World

Microfilm
Jan. - Dec. 1914, Jan. 1916 - Dec. 1919 contained in Popular Newspapers During World War I

Electronic
Factiva 7 Jan. 1996- Sunday Magazine excluded.

 
Observer

Electronic
Factiva Selected coverage from 4 Jan. 1981 to 22 Jan. 2000. Full coverage after that.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers 1821-2003.

Indexed selectively in British Humanities Index, 1985-
The Sun Electronic
Factiva 1 Jan. 1996-
 
Sunday Express

Print
Nov 14, 1937

Microfilm
1918-1919 Popular Newspapers during World War I

 
Sunday Mirror Electronic
Factiva Selected coverage 5 March 1995 to 6 April 1996. Full-text 7 April 1996-
 
Sunday Telegraph Electronic
Factiva 5 Nov. 2000-
 
Sunday Times

Print
May 31, 1953

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 2 Jan. 2000- (Selective text)
Factiva 4 Jan. 1981- (Selected coverage from 4 January 1981 to 6 July 1985)
Newspaper Source 2 Jan. 2000-

Indexed selectively in British Humanities Index, 1985-
Times

Print
The latest 3 months is kept in the newspaper section in the General Library.

Electronic
Newspaper Source 14 Oct. 2000-
Factiva
2 Jan. 1981- (Selected coverage from 2 January 1981 to 30 June 1985)
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985

Times Index
July/Sept. 1950- (missing July/Sept.-Oct./Dec. (1952)
Indexed selectively in British Humanities Index, 1985-

Full-text databases Top of page

Indexing databases Top of page

Print index

Reference books Top of page

Internet sites Top of page

Online Newspapers Top of page


Canadian newspapers Top of page

Auckland University Library holdings
Full-text databases
Indexing databases
Reference books
Internet sites


Auckland University Library holdings Top of page

Financial Post

Electronic
Canadian Newsstand 1985-1998.
Factiva 1990-

 
Globe and Mail Electronic
Canadian Newsstand 1977-
Factiva 14 Nov. 1977-
 
Montreal Gazette Electronic
Factiva 1 Dec. 2001- (Gap in coverage from 29 Jan. 2002 to 2 Jan. 2003)
 
National Post

Electronic
Canadian Newsstand1998- (2 day delay)
Factiva 12 Jan. 1985-

Indexed in Expanded Academic November 1998-
Ottawa Citizen Electronic
Canadian Newsstand
1985- (2 day delay)
Factiva
1 Dec. 2001-
 
Toronto Star

Electronic
Canadian Newsstand 1985-
Factiva 1 Jan 1986-
Newspaper Source 5 Oct. 2000-
ANZ Reference Centre 5 Oct. 2000-

 
Vancouver Sun Electronic
Canadian Newsstand 1987- (2 day delay)
Factiva 1 Dec. 2001- 12 Jan 1985- (Selected full-text 12 Jan. 1985 to 5 Oct.1990)
 
Winnipeg Free Press Electronic
Canadian Newsstand 2006-
Factiva Aug. 6 1991-
 

Full-text databases Top of page

Indexing databases Top of page

Internet sites Top of page

Online newspapers Top of page


European newspapers Top of page

Auckland University Library holdings
Full-text databases
Indexing databases
Print indexes
Internet sites


Auckland University Library holdings Top of page

France Top of page

France Soir    
Le Figaro Electronic
Factiva 2 August 2001-
 
Le Monde Electronic
Factiva 9 Jan. 1995-
 

Ireland Top of page

The Irish Times Electronic
Newspaper Source 28 July 2005-
 
   

Italy Top of page

Il Gionale

Electronic
Factiva 21 Nov. 2002-

 
Il Giorno

Electronic
Factiva 22 June 2005-

 
La Nazione Electronic
Factiva 22 June 2005-
 

Russia Top of page

Izvestiia Print
24 avg. 1991-
 
Moscow News Print
No. 46 (Nov. 24-30, 1995); no. 2 (Jan. 19-25, 1996)-
 
Moscow Times Electronic
Newspaper Source 29 Jan. 1999-31 Dec. 2004
 
St. Petersburg Times Electronic
Newspaper Source 02 Feb. 1999-24 Dec. 2004
 

Full-text databases Top of page

Indexing databases Top of page

Print indexes Top of page

Internet sites Top of page


New Zealand newspapers Top of page

Auckland University Library holdings
Full-text databases
Indexing databases
Reference books
Internet sites


Auckland University Library holdings Top of page

Auckland Star Microfilm
Apr. 13, 1887-Aug. 16, 1991
Indexed in Auckland Index
Auckland Evening Star Microfilm
Mar. 8, 1879-Apr. 1887
 
Bay of Plenty Times

Electronic
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2005-

 
The Daily Post (Rotorua)

Electronic
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2005-

 
The Dominion

Merged with Evening Post to form Dominion Post.

Microfilm
1907-1959 and 1979-2002.

Electronic
NewzText Plus 1 Jan. 1995-6 July 2002 (text only)
Factiva 1995-2002.

Index New Zealand indexes feature articles
The Dominion Post

Microfilm
2002-

Electronic
NewzText Plus 2002- (text only)
ANZ Reference Centre 2 Jan. 1995-
Factiva 2002-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2002-

Selectively indexed in Newzindex 1985-2002.
Index New Zealand indexes feature articles

Evening Post

Print
1865-2002

Electronic

Proquest ANZ Newstand 1996-2002

 
The Hawkes Bay Herald

Print
1877-1904

Electronic
See the internet site Papers Past

 
The Hawkes Bay Today

Electronic
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2005-

 
The Herald on Sunday

Electronic

Proquest ANZ Newstand 2007-

 
Manawatu Standard Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 15 June 1996-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1996-
 
Nelson Mail Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 2 June 1997-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1998-
 
New Zealand Herald

Print
The latest 3 months are kept in the Newspaper section of the General Library.

Microfilm
Nov. 1863- (3 month delay)

Electronic
NewzText Plus Nov 1998- (text only)
ANZ Reference Centre 10 Dec. 2001-
Factiva Aug 1986-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2004-
Some material is available on publisher's website.

Selectively indexed in Newzindex 1985-2002
Index New Zealand indexes feature articles;
New Zealand Truth

Electronic
See the internet site Papers Past

Selectively indexed in Proquest ANZ Newstand Sept. 10 1999- Feb. 15 2007
The Northern Advocate

Print
1887-1939

Electronic
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2005-
See the internet site Papers Past

 
Otago Daily Times

Microfilm
Nov 1861-

Electronic
Factiva Aug 2002-

Index New Zealand indexes feature articles

Indexed by Dunedin Public Libraries 1861- See the internet section.

The Press

Microfilm
May 1861-

Electronic
NewzText Plus 1996- (text only)
ANZ Reference Centre 7 June 1996-
Factiva 1996-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1996-

Index New Zealand indexes feature articles
Selectively indexed in Newzindex 1985-2002
Indexed by Christchurch City Libraries. See the internet section.

The Southern Cross (Auckland)

Print
Vol. 3, no. 110 (1847)

Microfilm
1843-1855

Electronic
See the internet site Papers Past

 
The Southern Cross (Wellington) Print
Vol. 1, no. 1 (1946); v. 1, no. 134 (1946)-v. 2, no. 25 (1947)
 
The Southland Times

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 1 March 1997-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1998-

 
Sun Mircrofilm
23 Mar. 1927-20 Sept. 1930
 
Sunday News Electronic
NewzText Plus 8 Dec. 1995- (text only)
 
Sunday Star Times

Print
Current year only. Ask at Special Collections, General Library.

Microfilm
1994-

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 3 Dec. 1995- (text only)
NewzText Plus 1995- (text only)
Factiva 1996-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1996-

Index New Zealand indexes feature articles
Taranaki Daily News Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 12 Aug. 1996-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1996-
 
Thames Star Print
Jan. 1893-1938; 1943 ; 1945
 
The Timaru Herald

Print
Vol. 18, no. 860 (1873); v. 24, no. 1304 (1876)

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 24 June 1996-
NewzText Plus 1 July 1996- (text only)
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1996-

 
Truth Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 2 Aug.1996-
NewzText Plus 27 Dec. 2002- (text only)
 
The Waikato Times

Electronic
ANZ Reference Centre 13 Dec. 1995-
NewzText Plus 1 May, 1996- (text only)
Proquest ANZ Newstand 1996-

See the internet site Papers Past for Jan. 1873-Dec. 1886

 

The Library also holds an extensive collection of Maori language newspapers and newsletters from the 1840s on.

Full-text databases Top of page

Indexing databases Top of page

  • Auckland Index
    Auckland Index, also known as Index Auckland, is owned and updated by the Auckland City Libraries. This is a unique research tool indexing the local history, art, theatre, music and film of the greater Auckland region. The collection covers primarily the Auckland region particularly biographical and subject entries, and is sourced mainly from regional newspapers.
  • Index New Zealand
  • Newspaper Index 1993-2003.
    Newspaper Index was created by the New Zealand Parliamentary Library. Professional indexers index the content of all major New Zealand newspapers on a daily basis. Previously, newspaper articles were indexed from a social and political perspective, but 2002-2003 indexing focus is on stories about MPs, their electorates and activities.
  • Newzindex
    Includes newspapers 1985- 2002.

Reference books Top of page

Internet sites Top of page

Online newspapers Top of page


South Pacific newspapers Top of page

Auckland University Library holdings
Full-text databases
Print indexes
Reference books
Internet sites


Auckland University Library holdings Top of page

Cook Islands Top of page

Cook Islands News

Print
1967-

Microfilm
27 May 1960-30 Dec. 1966; 1961/72

 

Fiji Top of page

Fiji Times

Print
Sept. 4, 1969; Apr. 1973-June 1977 incomplete; 14, 30 Aug. 1979; 12 Sept 1979.

Microfilm
Jan. 1,1990-Dec. 31, 1992; Jan. 2, 1995-Dec. 31, 1997

Electronic
Factiva 1 Jan 2004- Selective full-text
ANZ Reference Centre
Jan. 24, 2004- Selective full-text
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2004-

 

 

Sunday Times

Electronic

Proquest ANZ Newstand 2004-

 

Papua New Guinea Top of page

Post Courier

Print
30 May, 1969- (incomplete)
Current issues are kept at Special Collections, General Library.

Electronic
Factiva 5 July 2000-
ANZ Reference Centre 20 Feb., 2004-
Proquest ANZ Newstand 2004-

Papua New Guinea Post courier selective index.(1972-1986)

Samoa Top of page

Samoa Observer Print
Vol. 5, no. 32 (25 May 1983)-Dec. 1999 ; Jan. 2000- .
Current issues are kept at Special Collections, General Library.
 
Samoa Times Print
Vol. 4 (1966/67)-v. 27 (1994) incomplete
 
Savali

Print
Vol. 62, no. 24 (1966); v. 63, no. 1-5, 7, 10-11, 24 (1967); v . 66, no. 19 (1970)-1988 ; 1989-2003; 2006-

Solomon Islands Top of page

Solomon Star

Print
1986- .
Current issues are kept at Special Collections, General Library.

Microfilm
May1982-June1987

 

Tonga Top of page

Times of Tonga Print
Jan. 2000- .
Current issues are kept at Special Collections, General Library.
 
Tonga Chronicle Print
Vol. 5, no. 19 (1968)-v. 36, no. 52 (Dec. 22, 1999) incomplete ; Vol. 36, fika 52 (Tisema 29, 1999) ; Vol. 37, fika 1 (2000)- .
Current issues are kept at Special Collections, General Library.
 

Full-text databases

Print indexes Top of page

Reference books Top of page

Internet sites Top of page


United States newspapers Top of page

Auckland University Library holdings
Full-text databases
Indexing databases
Print indexes
Reference books
Internet sites


Auckland University Library holdings Top of page

Atlanta Constitution

Electronic
ProQuest Historical Newspapers 1868-1945

 
Chicago Tribune

Electronic
Factiva 1 Jan, 1985-
Newspaper Source 27 Feb. 1997-
Expanded Academic March 2000-April 2007
ProQuest Historical Newspapers 1849-1986

 
Christian Science Monitor

Print
Latest 6 months

Electronic
Christian Science Monitor Online March 2007-
Newspaper Source 1 Jan. 1995-
Academic Search Premier

 
Daily News (New York)

Electronic
Factiva 21 Dec. 1992-
Newspaper Source 27 Feb. 1997- 25 March 2006

 
Dallas Morning News Electronic
Factiva 12 Aug. 1984 - (Gap in coverage from 1 July 1999 to 2 September 2002; Selected coverage form 2 September 2002 to 15 May 2003)
Newspaper Source 27 Feb. 1997-
 
Houston Chronicle

Electronic
Factiva 2 Jan. 1985-
Newspaper Source 31 Aug. 1997-

 
Los Angeles Times

Electronic
Factiva 1 Jan. 1985-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers 1881-1986

Indexed in Expanded Academic January 1982-
New York Times

Print
Latest 3 months received by the Library. (note there is erratic delivery)

Electronic
Expanded Academic Jan 1, 1995-
Factiva 1 June 1980-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1851-2006)

Indexed in The New York Times Index
Indexed in Expanded Academic, January 1980-
Indexed in Newspaper Source 1 Jan. 1994-

Indexed in Academic Search Premier 1 Jan. 1989-

Newsday (Long Island, New York) Electronic
Factiva 15 July 1985- (Selected coverage from 15 July 1985 to 14 August 1985)
Newspaper Source 25 May 2003-
 
USA Today

Electronic
Factiva 1 April 1987-
Newspaper Source 1 Feb, 2002-
Academic Search Premier 1 Feb. 2002-

Indexed in Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature, 1983-
Wall Street Journal

Electronic
ABI Inform 1984-
Factiva 13 June 1979- (Selected coverage from 13 June 1979 to 1 January 1984)

Eastern edition indexed in Newspaper Source 1 March 1995-

Eastern edition indexed in Academic Search Premier 9 Sept. 1994-

Washington Post

Electronic
Factiva 1 Jan. 1984- Includes articles from the final ed.
Newspaper Source 1 January 2003-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers 1877-1993

Indexed in Expanded Academic February 1980-

Full-text databases Top of page

Indexing databases

Print indexes

Reference books Top of page

Internet sites Top of page

Online newspapers Top of page


Reference books Top of page


Internet sites Top of page

News search engines
Blog search engines
News archives
News directories
Newswires
News broadcasters
Specialty news sites
RSS Feed Readers
Referencing

News search engines Top of page

Blog search eEngines Top of page

News archives Top of page

News directories Top of page

Newswires Top of page

News broadcasters Top of page

Speciality news sites Top of page

Front page news Top of page

Citizen journalism Top of page

News in images Top of page

RSS feed readers Top of page

News feeds allow you to see when websites have added new content. You can view these feeds via a Feed Reader.

Web based Top of page

Mac OS X Top of page

Windows Top of page

Referencing Top of page

Consult the Student Learning Centre's web site Quick©ite for examples on citing newspaper articles in MLA, APA, or Chicago A. reference styles.

Consult the Chicaco Manual of Style for examples showing how to cite newspaper articles in Chicago' in-text' or 'Footnote and bibliography' styles.

  File Last updated: April 7, 2011