Introduction
This page lists Library databases which contain e-books covering topics
of interest to political studies. An e-book is a book which may be viewed online. In
many instances the full text of the book is searchable. Four databases containing substantial numbers of political science e-books are Palgrave Connect, Oxford Scholarship Online, Ebsco and Ebrary. You need to be logged on with
your Net ID and Password to access Library databases.
Palgrave Connect 
Palgrave Connect contains over a thousand e-books on political science and international studies. The Library has access to the complete text of the books in the 'Political and International Studies' collection, for the years 2000-2009.
Oxford
Scholarship Online 
Oxford
Scholarship Online is a collection of scholarly books published by Oxford University
Press. It covers political science, philosophy, religion, and
economics. The database is full text searchable, and includes abstracts
for books and chapters.
Cambridge Collections Online 
The Cambridge Collections Online contains specially-commissioned collections of essays addressing philosophicial topics and figures ranging from Plato through Hobbes to Rawls. Titles include:
- The Cambridge Companion to Critical Theory
- The Cambridge Companion to Feminism in Philosophy
- The Cambridge Companion to Hobbes
- The Cambridge Companion to Locke
- The Cambridge Companion to Mill
- The Cambridge Companion to Plato's Republic
- The Cambridge Companion to Rawls
- The Cambridge Companion to Rousseau
Blackwell Reference Online 
Blackwell Reference Online includes the following titles in the Blackwell companions and Blackwell guides series.
- Alcoff, Linda Martín, and Eva Feder Kittay, eds. The Blackwell Guide to Feminist Philosophy.
- Benson, Hugh, ed. A Companion to Plato.
- Bunnin, Nicholas, and E. P. Tsui-James, eds. The Blackwell Companion to Philosophy.
- Goodin, Robert E., Philip Pettit, and Thomas Pogge, eds. A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy.
- Jaggar, Alison M., and Iris Marion Young, eds. A Companion to Feminist Philosophy.
- Jamieson, Dale, ed. A Companion to Environmental Philosophy.
- Ritzer, George, ed. The Blackwell Companion to Globalization.
- Schulzinger, Robert D., ed. A Companion to American Foreign Relations.
- Simon, Robert L., ed. The Blackwell Guide to Social and Political Philosophy.
- Snow, David A., Sarah A. Soule And Hanspeter Kriesi, eds. The Blackwell Companion to Social Movements.
- Turner, Stephen P., and Paul A. Roth, eds. The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of the Social Sciences.
Ebsco 
The Library purchases new titles in Ebsco on an ongoing basis. All books have a record in Voyager, the Library catalogue. Below is a selection of what is available.
Recent additions for Political Science
Chomsky, Noam. Barriers. Cambridge, Mass.:
MIT Press, 1986.
Hale, Bob, and Crispin Wright, eds. A
Companion to the Philosophy of Language. Oxford: Blackwell,
2000.
Giddens, Anthony. The
Third Way: the Renewal of Social Democracy. Malden, Mass.:
Blackwell, 2000.
Hegel, Georg Wilhelm Friedrich. Lectures
on the History of Philosophy: Greek Philosophy to Plato. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press
, 1995.
Honderich, Ted. After
the Terror. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2002.
Kymlicka, Will. Multicultural
Citizenship. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
Singer, Peter, ed. A
Companion to Ethics. Oxford: Blackwell, 1993.
Turner, Bryan S. The Blackwell Companion to Social Theory. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell,
2000.
Ebsco
Reference Center 
There are several reference works relevant to political studies in
the Ebsco Reference Center. These e-books may be browsed for 15 minutes.
Altschiller, Donald. Hate
Crimes: a Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
Arrington, Robert L., ed. A
Companion to the Philosophers. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999.
Becher, Anne. American
Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present. Santa
Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
Beisner, Robert L. and Kurt Hanson. American
Foreign Relations Since 1600: a Guide to the Literature. Santa
Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003.
Breslow, Lester. Encyclopedia
of Public Health. New York: Macmillan Reference Center, 2002.
Clements, Frank. Conflict
in Afghanistan: a Historical Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara,
Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003.
Copper, John Franklin. Historical
Dictionary of Taiwan (Republic of China). Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow
Press, 2000.
Cull, Nicholas John, David Holbrook Culbert, and David Welch. Propaganda
and Mass Persuasion: a Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the Present.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003.
Deutsch, Eliot, and Ronald Bontekoe. A
Companion to World Philosophies. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999.
Eccleshall, Robert, and Graham S. Walker, eds. Biographical Dictionary of British Prime Ministers. London: Routledge
2002.
Friedenberg, Robert V. Notable
Speeches in Contemporary Presidential Campaigns. Westport,
Conn.: Greenwood Publishing Group, 2002.
Garson, G. David. Guide
to Writing Empirical Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. New
York: Dekker, 2002.
Hewitt, Christopher, and Tom Cheetham. Encyclopedia of Modern Separatist
Movements. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
Hoffmann, Frank W., and Richard J. Wood. Guide
to Popular U.S. Government Documents. Englewood, Colo.:
Libraries Unlimited, 1998.
Hoare, James, and Susan Pares. Conflict in Korea: An
Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
Hull, Mary E. Censorship
in America: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
The Hutchinson Chronology of World History. Volume IV,
(1901-2003) Abingdon, England: Helicon, 2004.
The
Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Modern Political Biography. Oxon:
Helicon Publishing, 2004.
Martinich, Aloysius. A Hobbes Dictionary.
Oxford: Blackwell, 1995.
Miller,
David. The Blackwell
Encyclopaedia of Political Thought. Oxford: Blackwell,
2000.
Minahan, James. Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations : Ethnic and
National Groups Around the World. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 2002.
Vol.1 A-C ; 2 D-K ; 3 L-R ; 4 S-Z.
Notable Women in World Government Magill's Choice. Pasadena, Calif.:
Salem Press, 2000.
Polley, Martin. A-Z
of Modern Europe Since 1789. London: Routledge, 2000.
Redman, Nina, and Lucille Whalen. Human
Rights: a Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
Rudolph, Joseph R. Encyclopedia
of Modern Ethnic Conflicts. Westport, Conn. Greenwood Publishing
Group, 2003.
Schement, Jorge Reina, ed. Encyclopedia
of Communication and Information. New York: Macmillan Reference
Center, 2002.
Storey, John W., and Glenn H. Utter. Religion
and Politics: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO,
2002.
Tucker, Spencer, and Jinwung Kim. Encyclopedia
of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military History.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
Wang, Ke-wen. Modern
China: an Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism. New
York: Garland, 1998.
Ebrary 
Ebrary is a collection of ebooks
which the Library subscribes to. Our subscrition gives access to the
entire collection. To view Ebrary titles, you need to download
the Ebrary reader from the Ebrary website. This software is already
installed on Library pcs. From time to time Ebrary updates the
reader, and you may need to download the software again. You do not need to create an account to view
an e-book at Ebrary. However, if you want to create bookmarks or make
notes, you do need to create an account first.
All books have a record in Voyager, the Library catalogue.
However, the books appear in Ebrary before a record comes into
Voyager, so it is a good idea to search Ebrary to find out what is available. Use the Advanced search to search in
specific fields, such as author or title.
Gale Virtual Reference
Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of online reference books
containing several
titles relevant to political studies. The links below go to the
individual book. They may take a few minutes to load.
Bleiberg, Edward, ed. Arts
and Humanities Through the Eras. Detroit: Gale, 2005.
Borchert, Donald M. Encyclopedia
of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Detroit, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA,
2006.
Carlisle, Rodney P., ed. Encyclopedia
of Politics: The Left and the Right. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage
Publications, 2005.
Deconde, Alexander, ed. Encyclopedia
of American Foreign Policy: Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas.
2nd ed. New York: Scribner, 2002.
Ember, Melvin, and Carol R. Ember, eds. Countries
and Their Cultures. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001.
Gall, Timothy L., ed. Worldmark
Encyclopedia of the Nations. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale Group,
2004.
Goethals, George R., Georgia J. Sorenson, and James MacGregor Burns,
eds. Encyclopedia
of Leadership. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, c2004.
Hanes, Sharon M., and Richard C. Hanes, eds. Cold
War Reference Library. Farmington Hills, MI: UXL, 2004.
Horowitz, Maryanne Cline, ed. New
Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Farmington Hills: Charles
Scribner’s Sons, 2005.
Kushner, Harvey W. Encyclopedia
of Terrorism. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, c2003.
Martin, Richard C., ed. Encyclopedia
of Islam and the Muslim World. New York: Macmillan Reference
USA, 2004.
Mattar, Philip, ed. Encyclopedia
of Modern Middle East and North Africa. Detroit, Mich.:
Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.
Miskelly, Matthew, and Jaime Noce, eds. Political
Theories for Students. Vol. 1. Detroit: Gale Group, c2002.
Munn, Ted, Michael MacCracken, and John Perry, eds. Encyclopedia
of Global Environmental Change. Chichester, West Sussex: Wiley,
2002.
Quick, Amanda C., ed. World
Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide. 2nd ed.
Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2003.
Shelton, Dinah L., ed. Encyclopedia
of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity. Farmington Hills:
Macmillan Reference, 2004.
Woronoff, Kristen. American
Inaugurals: The Speeches, the Presidents, and Their Times. San
Diego, CA: Blackbirch Press, 2002.
Other
e-book databases 
Books
@ OVID
Books@Ovid includes the full text, references, updates, and
graphics from 46 texts in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.
You may search a specific title, several titles, or the entire
collection.
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online
Covers research and theory in international relations. Approximately ten
books are added per annum. Coverage 1991 onwards.
Digital
Dissertations
Digital Dissertations provides bibliographic citations and abstracts
for doctoral dissertations and masters’ theses completed at over 1000
accredited colleges and universities worldwide. Some are available in
full text.
Early
English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English Books Online includes more than 125,000
early printed works, covering the years 1475 - 1700.
Eighteenth
Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A digitised collection of every significant English-language and
foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, 1700-1800, along
with thousands of important works from the Americas. Consists of books,
pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.
Medieval
Sourcesonline
Provided by Manchester University Press, Medieval Sourcesonline contains
annotated and edited fulltext medieval sources.
Militarynetbase
Online collection of over 100 books on warfare and military history.
Oxford
English Dictionary
Oxford
Reference Online
Contains subject encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford
University Press. You may search a specific work, or the entire
collection.
Past
Masters
Past Masters is a collection of databases the Library subscribes to. The Library
purchases individual databases within the collection. Each
database contains the full text of works by a philosopher, or group of
philosophers. You may search a specific database, several, or all
databases the Library has purchased.
Routledge
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Online encyclopedia of philosophy.
Sage Reference Online
SourceOECD
Contains many useful titles, published from 1998 onwards. The books
are arranged by themes, such as Governance; Employment; Social
Issues/Migration/Health; Environment & Sustainable Development;
Education & Skills.
Women
Writers Online
Women Writers Online is a full text collection from Brown University
of women's writing that can be browsed, searched, and analysed. From the
entire collection, a section of texts are also accessible via
Renaissance Women Online. 1400-1850.
Credo Reference
120 dictionaries, directories and encyclopaedias.
Includes:
Bealey, Frank. The
Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science. Malden, Mass.:
Blackwell, 1999.
Collin, P. H. Dictionary of Government and
Politics. 2nd ed. Teddington:
P. Collin, 2001.
Dinan, Desmond, ed. Encyclopedia of the European
Union. Updated ed. Boulder:
Reinner, 2000.
Yarn, Douglas H., ed. Dictionary
of Conflict Resolution. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1999.
|