I N T E R N E T  G A T E W A Y  :  P L A N N I N G

P L A N N I N G    D A T A B A S E S

Access DATABASE
Campus ABI/INFORM
Worldwide business and economics database indexing and abstracting over 1,400 journals and magazines.
Library Only
APId
Architectural Publications Index - to architecture & allied arts, constructional technology, design & environmental studies, landscaping, planning. 
Campus Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a full-text version of Art Abstracts, containing some full-text articles from more than 100 periodicals from 1997.  Subject areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography.
Campus Auckland Regional Council Information Centre Database
Auckland Regional Council library catalogue.
Campus Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS)
APAIS : Australian Public Affairs Information Service indexes articles from a wide range of periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books in the social sciences and humanities.
Campus
Auckland Cityscope
Auckland Cityscope includes descriptions and sale histories of more than 2,000 properties in Auckland Central and the north part of Newton (plus some buildings in Viaduct Harbour, Grafton and Parnell). Auckland Cityscope includes details of 1,078 buildings or sites and 1,006 office or retail strata units.
Campus
Avery Index
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,800 US and foreign periodicals published worldwide on architecture, city planning, landscape architecture, historic preservation, interior design and archaeology, with more than 550,000 records.

    Campus

Brookers Online
Provides access to over 50 full-text New Zealand legal resources.
Campus
BUILD: Australian Building Construction & Engineering Database
Bibliographic database that indexes worldwide information on building, construction, engineering, urban and regional planning.
Campus Butterworths Online. See LexisNexisNZ
LexisNexis NZ replaces Butterworths Online. LexisNexis NZ provides access to an extensive range of full text New Zealand and Australian legislation and legal resources.  
Campus
Current Contents
Indexes table of contents pages from approximately 7,000 science, social sciences, medical, arts and humanities journals.
Campus
China Academic Journal
Abstracts are available for the Architecture and Engineering sections, including the sub-section Layout of Regions, Towns and Rural Areas. Place interloan requests to obtain full text articles.
Campus DSL Environmental Databases. Accessible via Brookers Online
Legislation, case law, and commentary relating to environmental law and local government issues .
Campus DSL Local Government databases. Replaced by the Brookers Local Government databases, accessible via Brookers Online
Legislation, case law, and commentary relating to  environmental law and local government issues .
Campus
EconLit
Citations to, and selected abstracts of, the international literature in the field of economics. Topics include economic theory and history, labor economics, international, regional, and urban economics, and other related subjects.
Campus
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
This database provides comprehensive coverage of environmental sciences from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources.
Campus Expanded Academic
Multidisciplinary fulltext database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers.
Campus GEOBASE
Physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies.  Interdisciplinary coverage makes it an ideal file for searching environmental and green issues. 
Campus Index New Zealand: INNZ
The key NZ database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material.  Indexes NZ newspapers, journals, conferences etc. 
Campus Index to Theses
A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland.
457,000 theses entries in total, with 15,000 new theses added every year.
Campus LexisNexis NZ
LexisNexis NZ replaces Butterworths Online. LexisNexis NZ provides access to an extensive range of full text New Zealand and Australian legislation and legal resources.
Campus LinxPlus
LexisNexis NZ hosts LinxPlus and is published by the District Law Society libraries of NZ. LinxPlus provides access to the full text of many unreported judgments and also indexes  legal journal articles and books received by the Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch District Law Society libraries.
Campus Maori Land Legislation database
The Maori Land Legislation Database provides a summary of all New Zealand legislation since 1840 (including private and local Acts) which has affected Maori or Maori land. It also gives brief notes on the historical context and the impact of each Act cited, with references to other Government publications.
Campus
Newzindex
Indexes articles of interest to business from 4 major daily NZ newspapers and business periodicals.  Focuses on major national, political and social issues as well as business-related topics.
Campus
NewzText Plus
Fulltext of key NZ business publications including the NBR. 
Campus New Zealand Science
Index of scientific publications from the Crown Research Institutes (CRI) including NIWA and Landcare.  Also contains abstracts of the  Royal Society of New Zealand journals. 
Campus PAIS International
Covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. 
Campus Philosopher's Index
Subject and author index to philosophy articles, books, anthologies. 
Campus ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) was formerly known as Digital Dissertations. It provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from doctoral dissertations and masters' theses. There are 2.5 million references to theses and dissertations from universities worldwide, especially from North America. Indexed from 1861, abstracts from 1980, and 750,000 full text theses from 1996.
Campus RUDI (Resource for Urban Design Information)
An internet resource for teaching, research and professional activity in urban design and its related disciplines. Urban design in this context includes the physical design, management, planning and use of buildings and landscape in terms of their relationship to public and open space. Full access to website's content is restricted to subscribers.
Campus
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect, from Elsevier, contains the full-text of over 2000 journals, including graphics and tables. These journals are primarily in the Sciences and Medicine -- but also include titles in Business, Economics, Education, Engineering, Geography, Linguistics, Management, Marketing, Sociology, etc. 
Campus Scopus
Multidisciplinary database allowing navigation via citation data. Scopus covers the citations, abstracts and references from articles from over 15,000 publications.
Campus Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts is a primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage is from 1963 onwards and approximately 2,500 new records are added monthly.
Campus
Te Puna
Includes the National Bibliographic Database - over 10 million records for New Zealand and overseas resources, with links to New Zealand holding libraries.
Campus Urban Studies Abstracts
Covers areas relevant to urban studies including urban affairs, community development and urban history. Journals indexed include the Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Affairs Review, Urban Studies, Journal of Urban History, Journal of Planning History, and the Canadian Journal of Urban Research.
Campus
Web of Science
The Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database listing over 34 million items from over 8000 journals. Most items are in the Sciences, but it is also useful for the Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities.
Campus
Wellington Cityscope
A searchable online database offering detailed information, including descriptions and sale histories, on more than 1,100 buildings and sites (including some 550 commercial and retail strata units) located in central Wellington and Te Aro.

Comments to Simon Coates
Last updated :  June 16, 2011