R E F E R E N C E: P H Y S I C S


This page contains links to dictionaries and glossaries available on the Internet that will be of interest to Physicists.


Acoustics || Astronomy || Atmospheric Sciences || General || Laser Physics || Mathematical Physics || MatterNuclear || Principles || Solar

Acoustics

Springer Handbook of Acoustics
Searchable electronic book. Subjects covered include: Physics, Acoustics, Animal Physiology, Classical Electrodynamics, Wave Phenomena, Physics and Applied Physics in Engineering and Signal, Image and Speech Processing.

Astronomy

Eclipses of the Sun and Moon: 1501-2100
Maps, global circumstances, local circumstances, and animations for all solar and lunar eclipses from 1501 through 2100 inclusive. The information is provided by H. M. Nautical Almanac Office.  

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
The most comprehensive collection of recent references on astronomy and astrophysics to date.

Encyclopedia of the Solar System
Edited by Lucy-Ann McFadden, Paul R. Weissman and Torrence V. Johnson. A new (2007) print book held in the Science Reference Collection, Level M, General Library, at call number: 523.203 W42 2007.

Maps of Recent and upcoming Eclipses of the Sun and Moon
From the United States Naval Observatory, maps are provided as PDFs.

On-line Glossary of Solar-Terrestrial Terms
From the Solar Terrestrial Physics section of the (American-based) National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC).

Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme (PACS)
PACS is designed to classify and categorize the literature of physics and astronomy for such products as journal subject indexes, catalogs, computerized databases, online journals, CD-ROM versions of journals, and any other collection of physics and astronomy material. PACS enables the indexes and databases from all of physics, astronomy and related fields to be cumulated together and searched efficiently under a single coherent scheme. PACS can be used either alone or in combination with keywords or free-language text phrases for retrieval. PACS can be downloaded directly to your computer.

To Top of this page

Atmospheric Sciences

Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences
A wide-ranging encyclopedia covering all major aspects of atmospheric science and related subjects such as oceanography and hydrology. As well as the traditional topics of atmospheric dynamics, cloud physics, and weather forecasting, more recently established fields such as atmospheric chemistry and global climate change are fully covered.

General


ASA Digital Library
Technical articles from journals published by the Acoustical Society of America.

A Dictionary of Physics (also known as the Oxford Dictionary of Physics).
5th edition. Edited by John Daintith. Oxford University Press, Oxford, 2005.
The dictionary contains over 3,700 entries, covering commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, including terms relating to astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry.

Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform. covering areas such as optics, laser physics, solid state and semiconductor physics, atom and nuclear physics, and biophysics.

Encyclopedia of Energy
This work consists of a total of 380 overview articles in 20 discrete subject areas. All forms of energy are covered, as well as the interplay between energy use and the environment and the effect of energy on history and society. An extensive glossary of energy terms and a chronology of important energy-related events from earliest times to the present are included.

EquPlus.net - Science and Math equations
Includes calculations for Physics in general terms, as well as pages for Electricity and Magnetism, Mechanics, Modern Physics, Optics, Oscillations and Waves, Thermodynamics, as well as several other subjects.

Weisstein's World of Science: Physics
Contains 2,690 entries, 13,882 cross-references, 164 figures, 22 animated graphics.

Who's Who In Atomic and Plasma Physics
Searchable site at the Plasma Laboratory at the Weizmann Institute of Science with more than 980 entries of physicists working in atomic and plasma physics.

To Top of this page

Laser Physics

Encyclopedia of Laser Physics and Technology
Part of the WWW Virtual Library. Explains basic terms and principles of laser physics and technology, with additional content from other topics such as general optics, nonlinear optics, fiber optics, and quantum optics.

Mathematical Physics

Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform, providing articles on a wide range of subjects in the field of mathematical physics.

 

Matter

BEC Matters!
Hosted by the Institute of Physics, this is the online portal for Bose-Einstein condensation and matter waves research. It includes abstract and citation information for PhD dissertations in this research area dating back to 1968.

To Top of this page

Nuclear

Glossary of Nuclear Terms
A comprehensive compilation of definitions.

Radiation Related Terms
A glossary of radiation terms, including common types, units of measurement, and radiation dosage.

Principles

Calculators On-Line Center
An extensive collection of physics-related calculators.

Laws, rules, principles, effects, paradoxes, limits, constants, experiments, and thought-experiments in physics.
a list of various laws, rules, principles, and other related topics in physics and astronomy.

To Top of this page

Solar

Solar Physics Glossary
Compiled by the NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center.

Miscellaneous

Advanced Mechanics Concepts: Glossary
Glossary from the Concord Consortium, an American organization interested in the development and dissemination of dynamic and successful educational tools nationwide.

Subject Librarian: Physics - Michael Parkinson (webpage)

To Top of this page


File last updated: 2011-08-08
Comments and suggestions to: Michael Parkinson (Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, and Physics)