I N T E R N E T G A T E W A Y : P H Y S I C S
Physics - Select an Internet Category... ------------------------------------------- Databases Reference Selected Web Sites, Datasets & Internet Resources People & Organisations Internet Gateway (other subjects)
P E O P L E & O R G A N I Z A T I O N S
This page contains a number of links to New Zealand, Australian and International university physics departments, government departments, and organizations.
Massey University Institute of Fundamental Sciences
University of Auckland Department of Physics
University of Canterbury Physics and Astronomy Department.
University of Otago Department of Physics
University of Waikato Physics Programme
Victoria University of Wellington School of Chemical and Physical Sciences
Auckland Astronomical Society
Auckland Observatory
Carter Observatory
Foundation for Research, Science and Technology Statutory authority which is responsible for about 60% of the public expenditure on research and development in New Zealand. It covers almost all fields of science, including the social sciences but excluding defence and health.
Industrial Research Ltd. Aims to be New Zealand’s leading provider of scientific and technological research and development in the processing, manufacturing and energy industries.
Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences Ltd.
Kiwi Physicists Abroad Provides contacts for New Zealand undergraduates physics students who may be considering going abroad for graduate studies.
National Radiation Laboratory
New Zealand Association of Science Educators. This is a national institution which represents the interests of teachers of science.
New Zealand Geophysical Society
New Zealand Government Online
New Zealand Institute of Physics
New Zealand Limnological Society
NIWA - National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research
Royal Astronomical Society of New Zealand
Royal Society of New Zealand
Australian National University Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics Research School of Physics and Engineering
Curtin University of Technology Discipline of Applied Physics
Flinders University School of Chemical and Physical Sciences
James Cook University School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences
La Trobe University Department of Physics
Macquarie University Department of Physics
Monash University School of Physics
Murdoch University Physics and Nanotechnology
Newcastle University School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences
University of Adelaide Mathematical Physics Group National Institute for Theoretical Physics School of Chemistry and Physics
University of Melbourne School of Physics
University of New England Physics and Electronics
University of New South Wales School of Physics
University of Queensland School of Mathematics and Physics
University of Southern Queensland Faculty of Sciences: Astronomy
University of Sydney School of Physics
University of Tasmania Discipline of Physics Theoretical Physics Group
University of Technology, Sydney Department of Physics and Advanced Materials
University of Western Australia School of Physics
University of Wollongong Department of Engineering Physics
Anglo-Australian Observatory (AAO) Operates the Anglo-Australian and UK Schmidt telescopes on behalf of the astronomical communities of Australia and the UK.
Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA)
Australasian Society for General Relativity and Gravitation
Australian Academy of Science
Australian Antarctic Division
Australian Institute for High Energy Physics
Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE)
Australian Institute of Physics
Australian Mathematical Society
Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organization (ANSTO)
Australian Synchrotron Research Program (ASRP) Provides Australian researchers with access to state-of-the-art synchrotron radiation research capabilities at overseas synchrotron light source facilities.
Australian Telescope National Facility (ATNF)
Canberra Deep Space Communication Complex Responsible for the tracking of spacecraft that partake in interplanetary missions. The complex is a NASA facility operated under a USA-Australian Government agreement which involves JPL, CSIRO Australia and British Aerospace Australia.
Commonwealth Science and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO): Australia’s largest scientific research agency. See particularly its Divisions for Astronomy and Space Science, "CSIRO’s provider of technology and services for radio astronomy, spacecraft tracking and space sciences", and Mathematics, Informatics and Statistics
Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO)
Federation of Australian Scientific and Technological Societies (FASTS) Aims to have a significant influence in the formulation of science and technology policy; and by improving the overall climate for research and development, to bring useful economic, environmental and social benefits to Australia.
Ionosphere Prediction Service (IPS) Radio and Space Services A unit of the Department of Industry Science and Tourism, part of the Australian Government. IPS provides the Australian radio propagation and space environment services.
Joint Australian Centre for Astrophysical Research in Antarctica (JACARA) Constituted to facilitate Australian participation in the development of Antarctic astronomy. It has joint nodes at the School of Physics in the University of New South Wales, and at Mount Stromlo and Siding Springs Observatories in the Australian National University.
Mount Stromlo and Siding Spring Observatories, Australian National University
Perth Observatory
Vacuum Society of Australia
PhysicsWeb : Directory for Physics Departments Search Engine for international university departments.
Scholarly Societies Project - Physics An up-to-date site maintained by the University of Waterloo, with links to professional and scholarly physics societies around the world.
Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (Trieste, Italy).
Acoustical Society of America includes the ASA Digital Library.
American Astronomical Society
American Geophysical Union
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
American Institute of Physics
American Mathematical Society
American Meteorological Society
American Nuclear Society
American Physical Society
American Society for Mass Spectrometry
AVS - American Vacuum Society
Astronomical Society of the Pacific
Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES)
Biophysical Society
British Council - Science
Canadian Association of Physicists
Clay Minerals Society
Croatian Physical Society
Environmental and Engineering Geophysical Society
European Biophysical Societies Association
European Colloid and Interface Society
European Federation of Organisations for Medical Physics
European Geophysical Society
European Mathematical Society
European Nuclear Society
European Optical Society
European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)
European Physical Society
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Geological Society of America
Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker
IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society
Institute of Physics
International Association of Geodesy
International Association of Mathematical Physics
International Association of Physics Students
International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior
International Centre for Diffraction Data
International Liquid Crystal Society
International Meteor Organization
International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE)
International Union for Physics and Engineering in Medicine
International Union for Pure and Applied Biophysics
International Union of Crystallography
International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics
International Union of Materials Research Societies
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics
International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics
Lunar and Planetary Institute (LPI)
Microscopy Society of America
Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS)
NASA
Oceanography Society
Optical Society of America
Remote Sensing and Photogrammetry Society
Royal Astronomical Society
Royal Meteorological Society
Royal Microscopical Society
Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics
Seismological Society of America
Société de Chimie Industrielle
Société Française de Chimie
Society for Applied Spectroscopy
Society of Exploration Geophysicists
Society for Imaging Science and Technology
Society of Rheology
Space Telescope Science Institute
SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering)
Subject Librarian: Geology and Physics - Elva Leaming
File last updated : 05-Oct-2010 Comments and suggestions to : Michael Parkinson [Physics Subject Librarian]