I N T E R N E T   G A T E W A Y   :   P H Y S I C S 

S E L E C T E D     W E B     RESOURCE     SITES


This page contains a combined list of links to datasets, websites, and resources on the internet which will be of interest to Physicists.


Current Interest Items:

USGS - Earthquake Hazards Program - Latest Earthquakes


Auckland Observatory Stardome
Information about the Auckland Observatory and Stardome Planetarium, New Zealand astronomy, southern sky guide, space news, etc.

Australian ArXiv mirror site

BUBL Link - Physics Education
A catalogue of internet resources in physics education.

College Physics for Students of Biology and Chemistry
Hypertext book written for first-year undergraduate physics students, written by Kenneth R. Koehler,  Raymond Walters College at the University of Cincinatti. Requires JAVA 1.1 or later version and Mathematica or MathReader software. The second edition is also available.

Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
Presents citations of 20th century women who have made original and important contributions to physics. The citations describe briefly, and document, selected major scientific contributions. They also contain biographical information - mainly pertaining to the scientific lives of the women.

The Discovery Schools Channel

Education Index for School Physics
An annotated guide to the 'best' physics education-related sites on the Web.

Emilio Segre Visual Archives
A collection of some 25,000 historical photographs, slides, lithographs, engravings, and other visual materials, focussing on American physicists and astronomers of the twentieth century, but also including many scientists in Europe and elsewhere, in other fields related to physics, and in earlier times.

Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
Online encyclopedia of physics created by Eric Weisstein, an excellent resource for definition of physics terms.

Famous Physicists
Yahoo's index of sites of famous physicists, such as Richard Feynman, Niels Bohr, and Marie Curie.

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Fermilab is a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory for research exploring the fundamental nature of matter and energy. This site provides information on the Lab and its research, particle physics, etc.

General Relativity around the World
Links to internet resources on relativity from the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece.

Global climate change: research explorer - the exploratorium
Designed by a team of non-experts with advice and input from a range of scientists, this provides straightforward answers in a well-structured and concise format to some frequently voiced questions about climate change.

HEP Virtual Phonebook
This High Energy Physics directory has links to phone books and directories of HEP sites or experiments around the world compiled by the HEP Network Resource Center.

High Energy Physics Libraries Webzine Homepage
Launched in March 2000. It aims to discuss issues relevant to high energy physics libraries from the point of view of both information workers and library clients.

Kiwi Physicists Abroad
Provides contacts for New Zealand undergraduates who may be considering visiting the United States of America to go to graduate school in Physics.

Learn Physics Today
Online physics tutorial developed by faculty at Colegio Franklin D. Roosevelt in Lima, Peru. Requires JAVA to run the tutorial. 

Los Alamos e-Print Archive
This is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Covered areas include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.

Lunar and Planetary Institute Imagery
The Lunar and Planetary Institute has made available the Lunar Map Catalog of Lunar Charts (LAC's) and Lunar Map series (LM's), and the Apollo Image Atlas.

NASA
NASA aims to use this site to spread the unique knowledge that flows from its aeronautics and space research.

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Managed for NASA by the California Institute of Technology, the Jet Propulsion Laboratory is the lead U.S. center for robotic exploration of the solar system. Provides much information on its research and various missions.

NIST Physical Reference Data
National Institute of Science and Technology site maintained by its Physics Laboratory operating unit. A searchable resource containing physical constants, spectroscopy data, and other data.

Nobel Prize in Physics
Information on the Nobel Laureates in Physics since the Prize's inception in 1901.

Online Particle Physics Information
This guide links to and describes a carefully chosen set of the most useful Internet accessible particle physics resources and is constantly being updated online. Sections of the guide include: particle and properties data, collaborations and experiments, conferences, current notices and announcement services, directories of research institutions, people, libraries, publishers, scholarly societies, e-print repositories and databases, journals and review literature, education sites and software directories.

Optics.Org
Photonics resources for scientists and engineers. A collaboration between the International Society for Optical Engineering and the Institute of Physics, this site includes the latest industry information from around the world, a keyword searchable Buyer's Guide of over 3000 companies, an online Technical Library with access to over 900,000 technical citations and abstracts and a worldwide recruitment service.

Particle-Surface Physics Resources on the Internet
Annotated list of internet resources maintained by Mark Shapiro at California State University in Fullerton.

Physical Reference Data (NIST)
This information is compiled by the Physics Laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Its mission is to support United States industry by providing measurement services and research for electronic, optical, and radiation technologies. Data is provided in the following areas: Physical Constants; Atomic Spectroscopic; Molecular Spectroscopic; Ionization; X-Ray and Gamma-Ray; Nuclear Physics; Condensed Matter Physics.

Physics 2000
An interactive introduction to modern physics developed by Professor Martin V. Goldman at the University of Colorado, Boulder. Requires JAVA.

Physics Applets
University of Oregon's collection of JAVA applets for use in physics, astronomy, or environmental sciences courses.

Physics Web
A comprehensive index to on-line physics resources, including information about companies, the media, institutions and organisations, reference, computers, exhibitions and museums, and educational resources.

Review of Particle Physics
An international collaboration that reviews Particle Physics and related areas of Astrophysics, and compiles/analyzes data on particle properties.

Scitopia
A federated vertical search portal to access electronic libraries for over 3 million documents, plus patents and government data. Scitopia is supported by the following 15 societies:

SkyView
A Virtual Observatory on the Net generating images of any part of the sky at wavelengths in all regimes from Radio to Gamma-Ray. Users tell SkyView the position, scale and orientation desired, and SkyView gives users an image made to their specification.

Space Telescope Science Institute
Provides information of general interest (such as pictures, movies, fact-sheets, etc.) regarding the Hubble Space Telescope (HST) and the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI). This includes information or interest to educators, students, the media and the general public; pictures resulting from observations by HST instruments; press releases of important science results made possible by HST observations.

UV and Ozone Index
New Zealand Ozone and UV Index Maps are provided for 12pm for yesterday, today, with a forecast for the next two days, supplied by NIWA.

WebElements
Periodic Table of Elements Database.


Subject Librarian: Physics - Michael Parkinson (webpage)


File last updated: 2011-08-08
Comments and suggestions to: Michael Parkinson (Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, and Physics)