DATABASES for PHYSICS
| ACCESS | SUBJECT-SPECIFIC databases |
| Campus | INSPEC, a database for physicists. INSPEC is produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. It is also useful to scholars in the subjects of electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology. | Campus | arXiv.org [Cornell] an e-print archives — alternatively use the Australian mirror site |
| Campus | Optics InfoBase, the Optical Society of America's site which is heavily used in the optics community. Please note that we do not have access to all resources on this site. |
FULL-TEXT resources |
|
| Campus | ScienceDirect, a publisher's full-text delivery system to over 2000 Elsevier journals, mostly in the sciences, including over 140 in physics or astronomy; also some full-text books. Has an Alert service. — full-text searchable! |
| Campus | SpringerLink: full-text online access to over 20,000 books and 2000 journals ... primarily published by Springer-Verlag, but also including titles from Birkhauser, Karger, & others — full-text searchable! Most of the books are also listed in the Library Catalogue. |
| Campus | PHYSICSnetBASE, an online collection of physics books published by CRC Press/Taylor & Francis; the search interface was significantly upgraded in 2010. You may browse an individual title or search across all titles. For an even broader search of all CRC ebooks (over 7700 titles), Click CRCnetBASE — full-text searchable! |
| Campus | IEEE XPLORE contains the full-text of all IEEE and IEE publications including IEEE & IEE journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from 1988 to the present. |
| Campus | IOP Science Journals: Access to over 60 online journals published by the Institute of Physics. |
| Campus | Oxford Reference Online: Simultaneously browse over 130 Oxford University Press reference resources, especially dictionaries & handbooks. This is a good resource for understanding technical terms from other subjects, as well as several English dictionaries — although the "big", multivolume Oxford English Dictionary is a separate resource, the OED online. |
MUTIDISCIPLINARY databases — usually with some full-text links |
|
| Campus | SCOPUS provides abstracts and references to over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals (across more than 4,000 publishers), many with direct links to the electronic full-text version. Citation data available from 1996 onwards. It has over 36 million items, with a strong emphasis on the Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, & Social Sciences. It also indexes over 310 million scientific web-pages. Has an Alert service. |
| Campus | Web of Science is a multidisciplinary citation database indexing 48 million items: primarily journal articles from over 10,000 journals in all subjects; also conference proceedings. Search options include: author, topic (i.e., keywords), the cited articles/books. Citation data is now available from 1898 onwards. Has an Alert service. |
| Library Only | SciFinder Scholar emphasises Chemical Abstracts Service [CAS] sources, but Physics and related areas are also covered (including spectra). This database includes journals, patents, books, reviews, meeting abstracts, dissertations, conference proceedings, and technical reports. |
| Campus | ProQuest Dissertations & Theses provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from all subject areas for doctoral dissertations and masters' theses completed at over 1000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide. |
| Campus | Compendex includes environmental, geological, civil and energy engineering. It indexes and abstracts the world's significant scientific and technological literature, including over 1,500 international journals and 600 conference proceedings. |
| Library Only | SPECTRUM: a collection of science and technology databases from former DSIR Divisions, Research Associations and the Royal Society of New Zealand also includes abstracts of RSNZ and DSIR journals from 1918-1993. |
| Campus | NZ Science, formerly also known as "SIRIS" and "STIX", is a comprehensive index of New Zealand Science provided by The Crown Research Institutes (CRIs previously the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, DSIR) and the Royal Society of New Zealand. |
| Campus | Antarctic Bibliography, published by the American Geological Institute with contributions from the Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge, Antarctic Bibliography covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism. |
| Campus | Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology, published by the American Geological Institute, and funded in part by the National Science Foundation and the U. S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory, the Bibliography includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments. |
Back to Subject Guides -- Physics
File last updated: 2011-08-08. Comments and suggestions to: Michael Parkinson (Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, and Physics)