PHILOSOPHY DATABASES

Philosophy databases
Primary sources
Secondary literature
Indexes and abstracts

Philosophy databases
Philosopher's Index
Provides citations and abstracts to articles in over 300 journals from 1940 to the present.
Philosophy Online (POIESIS)
Contains the full text of a number of philosophy journals.
Philosophy Compass
This is a good place to start your research. This journal has topic overviews.
International Philosophical Bibliography
International index of journal articles, books, and reviews.
Past Masters
Classical scholarly editions and translations of significant works in the Western tradition of philosophy.

Primary sources Top of page
Aristoteles Latinus
Contains the medieval translations of Aristotle’s works.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
Complete text of the standard editions of classical Latin literature.
Early English Books Online
Facsimile access to over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Full text collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera, published in England during the eighteenth century.
Library of Latin Texts
Patristic and medieval texts covering authors of the second to the fifteenth centuries.
Patrologia Latina Database
This is a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
This is a full text database of primary sources of Greek literature from Homer to the 6th century A.D.


Secondary sources Top of page
Blackwell Reference Online
eBook collection containing Blackwell guides and companions.
Cambridge Collections Online - Philosophy, Religion and Culture
Complete text of the Cambridge Companions series.
JSTOR
An archive of scholarly journals.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Covers topics currently debated in society. Contains opinion pieces, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Oxford Handbooks Online
This includes The Oxford Handbook of Plato, The Oxford Handbook of Ethical Theory, and The Oxford Handbook of Continental Philosophy.
Oxford Scholarship Online
This collection includes ebooks in philosophy, religion, political science, literature, history, linguistics and classics.
Palgrave Connect
eBook collection.
Periodicals Archive Online
Contains the full text of arts, social sciences and humanities journals indexed in Periodicals Index Online.
Project Muse
Current international full-text serials covering the humanities and social sciences.

Indexes and abstracts Top of page
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
English-language scholarly journals and specialized magazines covering a wide range of topics within the humanities and social sciences.
IBZ (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
IBZ is an international, interdisciplinary bibliography of academic journal literature from the humanities, social sciences and arts.
MLA International Bibliography
Modern language and literature.
Top of page

File last updated: 8 July, 2011
File location: phi.htm
Comments and suggestions to the Philosophy Subject Librarian: p.abela@auckland.ac.nz