Introduction 
This page lists Library databases which contain ebooks covering philosophical topics. An ebook is a book which may be viewed online. In many instances the full text of the book is searchable. Four major Library databases containing ebooks are Oxford Scholarship Online, Cambridge Collections Online, Ebsco and Ebrary.
Oxford Scholarship Online 
Oxford Scholarship Online contains a substantial number of philosophy titles from Oxford University Press. The database is full text searchable, and includes abstracts for books and chapters.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture 
The Cambridge Collections Online contains specially-commissioned collections of essays addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.
Palgrave Connect
The Religion and Philosphy collectioin contains books published by Palgrave Macmillan, 2000-2010.
Blackwell Reference Online 
Blackwell Reference Online includes philosophy titles in the Blackwell companions series.
CredoReference
CredoReference contains a significant number of philosophy dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Audi, Robert, ed. The
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge
University Press, 1999.
Flew, Antony, and Stephen Priest, eds. A
Dictionary of Philosophy. London: Pan, 2002.
McLeish, Kenneth, ed. Bloomsbury
Guide to Human Thought. London: Bloomsbury Reference, 1993.
Ebsco 
Philosophy titles are regularly purchased in Ebsco. A selection is listed below.
Carroll, Noel. Philosophy
of Art: A Contemporary Introduction. London: Routledge, 2002.
Coetzee, J. M., and Amy Gutmann. The
Lives of Animals. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press,
1999.
Descartes, Renee. Discourse
on the Method and Meditations on First Philosophy. New Haven:
Yale University Press, 1996.
Guyer, Paul, ed. Kant's
Critique of the Power of Judgment: Critical Essays. Lanham, Md.:
Rowman & Littlefield, 2003.
Hegel, Georg Wilhelm Friedrich. Lectures
on the History of Philosophy: Greek Philosophy to Plato. Lincoln: University
of Nebraska Press, 1995.
Honderich, Ted. After
the Terror. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press
, 2002.
Howie, John, and George Schedler, eds. Ethical
Issues in Contemporary Society. Carbondale: Southern Illinois
University Press, 1995.
Kane, Robert. The Significance of Free
Will. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
Midgley, Mary. The
Ethical Primate: Humans, Freedom, and Morality. New York:
Routledge, 1996.
Mulhall, Stephen. Routledge
Philosophy Guidebook to Heidegger and Being and Time. New York:
Routledge, 1996.
Narveson, Jan. Moral
Matters. Peterborough, Ont.: Broadview Press, 1999.
Plantinga, Alvin. Does
God Have a Nature? Milwaukee, Wis.: Marquette UP, 1980.
---. Faith
and Rationality: Reason and Belief in God. Notre Dame: University of
Notre Dame Press, 1983.
---. Warranted
Christian Belief. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
Quine, W. V. Word & Object. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 1960.
Regan, Tom. Animal
Rights, Human Wrongs: An Introduction to Moral Philosophy.
Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, 2003.
Ross, Stephen.
Art and its Significance: An Anthology of Aesthetic Theory. Albany:
State University of New York Press, 1984.
Russell, Bertrand. History
of Western Philosophy. New York: Taylor & Francis, 2004.
Solomon, Robert C., and Kathleen Higgins. Age
of German Idealism. New York: Taylor & Francis, 2003.
Sterba, James P., ed. Social
and Political Philosophy: Contemporary Perspectives. London:
Taylor & Francis, 2001.
Thomson, Anne. Critical
Reasoning in Ethics: A Practical Introduction. London: Routledge,
2002.
Walzer, Michael. Thick
and Thin: Moral Argument at Home and Abroad. Notre Dame:
University of Notre Dame Press, 1994.
Warburton, Nigel. Philosophy:
The Basics. New York: Taylor & Francis, 1999.
Watson, Richard A. Writing
Philosophy: a Guide to Professional Writing and Publishing.
Carbondale, Ill.: Southern Illinois University Press, 1992.
Gale Virtual Reference Library 
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of online reference books containing some titles of interest for philosophy.
Borchert, Donald M. Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Detroit, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006.
Buswell, Robert E., ed. Encyclopedia
of Buddhism. Farmington Hills, MI: Macmillan Reference USA,
2004.
Martin, Richard C., ed. Encyclopedia
of Islam and the Muslim World. New York: Macmillan Reference
USA, 2004.
Miskelly, Matthew, and Jaime Noce, eds. Political
Theories for Students. Vol. 1. Detroit: Gale Group, 2002.
Post, Stephen G., ed. Encyclopedia
of Bioethics. Farmington Hills, MI: Macmillan Reference USA,
2003.
Other ebook databases 
Aristoteles Latinus
Texts that have been critically edited in the printed Aristoteles
Latinus series.
Early
English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English Books Online includes more than 125,000
early printed works, covering the years 1475 - 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A digitised collection of every significant English-language and
foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, 1701-1800, along
with thousands of important works from the Americas. Consists of books,
pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.
Library
of Latin texts
Almost all works published in the Corpus Christianorum, both Series
Latina and Continuatio Mediaeualis, the literature from
Antiquity Bibliotheca scriptorum Romanorum Teubneriana and 600,000 words
for the modern period.
Medieval
Sourcesonline
Contains
annotated and edited fulltext medieval sources.
Oxford
Reference Online
Contains subject encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford
University Press.
Past
Masters
Past Masters
is a collection of databases the Library subscribes to. The Library
purchases individual databases within the collection. Each
database contains the full text of works by a philosopher, or group of
philosophers. You may search a specific database, several, or all
databases the Library has purchased.
Patrologia
Latina
An electronic version of the Latin portion of the Patrologiae
Cursus Completus, published by Jacques-Paul Migne, containing the
works of the Latin Fathers, from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to Pope Innocent
III in 1216, including all prefatory material, critical apparatus,
indexes, and illustrations.
Routledge
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Online philosophy encyclopedia.
Thesaurus
Linguae Graecae
Full text database of primary sources of Greek literature from Homer to
the 6th century A.D. Initially, each person must set up their own
individual login account. When setting up a brand new account, a second
screen will ask for some further information. After that initial set up,
each person will need to enter only their username and password. From
there, the search screen will come up.
How to cite an ebook 
There are many citation styles. Each style might require different information is included in a citation for an ebook. The order and appearance of the parts within a citation might be different.
For the Chicago style include the same information as for a printed book, with the addition of the URL and the date accessed.
Chicago Bibliography
Author's last name, First name(s). Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of publication. URL. Date accessed.
Sen, Amartya. Development as Freedom. New York: Knopf, 1999. http://site.ebrary.com.ezproxy.auckland.ac.nz/lib/auckland/docDetail.action?docID=2002145 (Accessed November 18, 2009).
Chicago Reference List
Author's last name, First name(s). (Date of publication.) Title. Place of Publication: Publisher. URL. Date accessed.
Sen, Amartya. (1999) Development as Freedom. New York: Knopf. http://site.ebrary.com.ezproxy.auckland.ac.nz/lib/auckland/docDetail.action?docID=2002145 (Accessed November 18, 2009).
Another factor to take into consideration when citing an ebook is that some databases require the name of the database as well as the URL and date accessed are included in the citation.
Author's last name, First name(s). Title of publication. Place of publication: Publisher, Date of publication. Name of database. Name of the publisher of the database. (date accessed) <URL>
If you are citing an ebook from a Library database always check to see if the database provides examples of how to cite the ebooks. A few examples for ebooks in a range of databases are listed below. If there is a discrepancy between a database citation example, and the manual for the style you are using, use the style manual.
Routledge Politics Online
MLA style
Handbook Of Conflict Analysis And Resolution. Edited by Dennis J. D. Sandole , Sean Byrne, Ingrid Sandole-Staroste , Jessica Senehi. Europa Publications,2008. Politics Online. Taylor & Francis.Wednesday, November 18, 2009 <http://www.routledgepoliticsonline.com.ezproxy.auckland.ac.nz/Book.aspx?id=w183>
Oxford Scholarship Online
MLA style
Aoki, Masahiko, and Yujiro Hayami. Communities and Markets in Economic Development. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. Oxford Scholarship Online. Oxford University Press. 18 November 2009 <http://dx.doi.org.ezproxy.auckland.ac.nz/10.1093/0199241015.001.0001>
Oxford Reference Online
"development n" The Oxford Business French Dictionary. Ed. Marianne Chalmers and Martine Pierquin. Oxford University Press, 2002. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press. Auckland University. 18 November 2009 <http://www.oxfordreference.com.ezproxy.auckland.ac.nz/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t109b.e2815>
Credo Reference
Harvard style
'femme' 2007, in Collins French Dictionary Plus, Collins, London, United Kingdom, viewed 18 November 2009, <http://www.credoreference.com.ezproxy.auckland.ac.nz/entry/collinsfrench/femme>
APA style
femme. (2007). In Collins French Dictionary Plus. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com.ezproxy.auckland.ac.nz/entry/collinsfrench/femme
To find out more 
- Book a Library tutorial on how to search and use ebooks.
- Download the tutorial handout.
|