PACIFIC HEALTH: RESEARCH, INFORMATION & RESOURCES

Pacific Health Research | Resources for Medical and Health SciencesPacific Studies Resources


  Useful Subject Headings


To locate all the items held in the Library on a certain subject, conduct a keyword search or more specifically a Subject Heading search.
Tips: 
Subject headings can be obtained through conducting a basic keyword search in Library Search. A basic search like Pacific health may include items from Japan and Asia. Try Pacific islands health to be more specific. Find an item from the result list that is relevant and look at the details for Subject Headings. Subject Headings are specially assigned to retrieve all items held in the Library catalogue (or in database) on that subject or topic.
Islands of the Pacific is a Subject Heading which will retrieve all items relating to the Pacific islands
.
Oceania  is another Subject Heading that will provide an overview of the Pacific region. Use (Pacific? OR Oceania? AND Health) as Keywords or Subject Headings in your searches
To make your searches more specific to an area of the Pacific island region or Oceania, use Polynesia, Melanesia , Micronesia
Use country names to refine your search further e.g. Samoa, Tonga ,Cook Islands, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea etc.
Other useful Subject Heading terms:
Pacific Islanders Medical Care New Zealand
Health Research Council of New Zealand
Mentoring in Medicine
Search for mentor? AND med? as Subject Headings
Pacific Mental Health
Use Subject Headings Pacific? Oceania? AND mental health (as a phrase)
Pacific Health Research Guidelines Use Subject Headings Pacific? Oceania? AND Health? AND Research? OR Guideline?
Other General Subject Headings
Pacific Islanders New Zealand
Oceania Social Life and Customs
Pacific Area, etc.

Pacific Islanders New Zealand Social Life and Customs

 Pacific Health New Zealand Top of page


Auckland District Health Board - Pacific Health

Auckland Regional Public Health Service

Centre for Gambling Studies, School of Population Health, University of Auckland

Counties-Manukau District Health Board – Pacific Health

Health Research Council of New Zealand and Pacific Health Research

Health Foundations, NGOs & Research Centres in NZ Top of page

AUT - Centre for Pacific Health & Development Research

Health Promotion Forum of New Zealand

Le Va Pacific Mental Health Workforce Development Unit

National Heart Foundation of New Zealand


New Zealand Ministry of Health - Pacific Health

Pacific Islands Heartbeat programme

Problem Gambling Foundation of New Zealand

University of Auckland – Pacific Health   

Professional Associations and Health Providers Top of page

Ministry of Health - National & Regional Website Links relating to Pacific Health

Pasifika Medical Association

Pasifika Integrated Health Care Ltd

Pasifikology

Primary Health Organisations (PHO) in New Zealand

 Education & Training Top of page
 Resources & Publications Top of page

Databases for Pacific Health
  • Medical and Health Sciences Databases
  • Medline
  • Australia New Zealand Reference Centre fulltext Australian,New Zealand and overseas news.
  • Index New Zealand INNZ  General index to New Zealand journals and newspapers from 1987 onwards. Indexes some Pacific serials. 
  • NewzText Plus : a full-text database of major New Zealand newspapers and business magazines. 
  • Pacific islands index compiled by New Zealand and Pacific Dept., Auckland City Libraries.1978-1996. Location : Central City Auckland Research Centre - Serials - Basement - Ask at Desk
    Includes an index to Pacific Islands Monthly 1978-1992. Islands business, and the New Zealand Herald were also included in the index.

Directories & Bibliographies   Top of page

Guidelines, Models, Tools & Resources on Pacific Health Research  Top of page

Journals Top of page

  • Asia Pacific Journal of Public Health
  • Inform Action
  • Journal of  Maori and Pacific development
  • New Zealand Medical Journal online issue
  • Pacific Health Dialog (PHD) Journal
  • Progress in community health partnerships : research, education, and action
  • Public Health Pacific Area Periodicals
  • Pacific Islands monthly - indexed in INNZ Index New Zealand database. General Library holds vol 1 (1930) - vol.70 (2000).
  • South Pacific Journal of Psychology
  • Free Medical Journals

Open Access Information includes resources like the Directory of Open Access Journals and other Health Open Acess Journals
 
Conferences  Top of page

Find a conference relating to the Pacific and subscribe free to receive alerts from Conference Alerts Academic Conferences Worldwide
University of the South Pacific ; East West Center ; Centre for Pacific and Asian Studies ; Center for Pacific Island Studies and Oceania Newsletter.

News Media  Top of page

Maps  Top of page
 Statistics Sources Top of page
Theses and dissertations Top of page

The Theses and dissertations page on the Library home page, helps you search for all theses in the University of Auckland Library system and overseas theses too. The Bibliographic Index of Pacific Theses in New Zealand Universities 2008 is a useful tool to find health related theses by university.

Te Puna the National Bibliographic Database, produced by the National Library of New Zealand, has both New Zealand and some international theses. In an ADVANCED search you can construct searches similar to those described above eg. thesis / health / samoa (make the search KEYWORD ANYWHERE not TITLE).

The Union List of Higher Degree Theses is an annual print bibliography of theses lodged in New Zealand libraries, with coverage going back to 1910. Available from the Arts Quick Reference shelves Level 1 in the GENERAL LIBRARY

Internet Gateway: Other libraries Access the online catalogues of the other New Zealand universities

Regional & Country Information Top of page

In New Zealand 
Top of page General Country & Regional Health Information Resources Top of page Regional Organisations in the Pacific   Top of page

Pacific Island Information Top of page

Cook Islands  Cook Islands Government Website 

Fiji  Fiji Government website and Ministry of Health, Ministry of Women, Children & Poverty Alleviation

Niue Government of Niue website

Papua New Guinea Papua New Guinea WHO country profile and Health reports & publications

Samoa  Samoa Government website and Samoan Ministry of Health

Solomon Islands Ministry of Health, National Health Plan and more country information available from Solomon Islands Ministry of Commerce site

Tonga Kingdom of Tonga Government portal and Ministry of Health

Vanuatu Government of Vanuatu

Other links Top of page

Comments and suggestions to: Judy McFall
File last updated: November 16, 2014