Pasifika Studies Databases


Contents

Indexing Databases
Full Text Databases
Manuscripts, Archives Catalogues
Image Databases
Other Pacific Resources
General Databases


Indexing Databases
ERIC
International education database provides abstracts to articles in over 750 journals. Papers presented at conferences, research reports, surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, and resource materials. The database now includes the full text of ERIC documents (since 1996).

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
A selective index to over 50 Hawaii and Pacific Journal titles, including the Journal of the Polynesian Society back to 1892. Produced and maintained by the University of Hawaii, Mānoa.

Index New Zealand INNZ  1987- 
General index to New Zealand journals and newspapers from 1987 on.

Te Puna
Over 10 million records for New Zealand, Pacific and overseas resources, with links to New Zealand holding libraries.


Full-text Databases Top of the page   

Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, interdisciplinary database indexing more than 8,000 journals. Provides full text for more than 4,600 publications, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed publications. Also tracks the number of times an article has been cited in indexed articles.
APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text
APA-FT is an indexing and full text database of the National Library of Australia, and is part of the INFORMIT Online suite of Australian databases. It indexes over 400 Australian journals in the social sciences and humanities including Pacific Affairs, Pacific Science, Pacific Economic Review.
Asia-Studies Full-Text Online
Collection of full-text reports published by APEC on many facets of Asian, Australian, New Zealand and Pacific islands economies- finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies. 
Australia New Zealand Reference Centre
A full-text collection from Ebsco Publishing, combining content from Australian and New Zealand magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information.
ADT: Australasian Digital Theses Program
A database of Phd and Masters theses produced at Australian and New Zealand universities. Over 130,000 theses and over 9,000 available in full-text.
EBSCOhost
Mostly full-text. Will search across 19 databases, of multi-disciplinary coverage, with a focus on peer-reviewed journals. Subject areas included are: business, computer studies, health, psychology and behavioral sciences, religion, philosophy and sociology. 
Expanded Academic (Academic OneFile)
Indexes and has fulltext for academic journals, magazines and newspapers from 1980. This database is particularly strong in the social sciences. It includes interdisciplinary journals and book reviews.
Google Scholar
Searches scholarly literature from AnthroSource, Project Muse, JSTOR, publishers and academic website including full-text Google Print books. Connect via the Library's Database page to access full text material to which the University Library subscribes.Note: Google Scholar is not comprehensive and many publishers are not searched. Search results are ranked by various criteria including how often the work has been cited in other scholarly works. This means there is a bias towards older, heavily-cited, seminal works rather than the latest publications. Many full-text publishers are not searched by Google Scholar.
IBSS International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Covers all social sciences, with an emphasis on Anthropology, Economics, Political Studies, Sociology, policy studies and international relations. Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters and includes book reviews and interdisciplinary material.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Project)
A fulltext archive of scholarly journal literature. A multi-disciplinary database of the social sciences, sciences and humanities..
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Excellent coverage of the study of linguistics and applied linguistics including the Pacific. Contains a thesaurus of subject headings, theses and dissertations records,  conference proceedings, journal articles, book reviews, books and chapters in books.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, and indexes critical materials on modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore including the Pacific. It covers the history and theory of linguistics, semantics, stylistics, translation, literary theory and criticism, teaching of language and literature, and rhetoric and composition.
NewzText
A full-text database of major New Zealand newspapers and business magazines.
Niustext
A Knowledge Basket database providing searchable full-text access to several Pacific Islands news/newspaper publications.
PCI Full Text
A major online periodical archive in the humanities and social sciences, covering over 300 journals including Pacific Affairs, Pacific Historical Review and Oceania from their inception.
Project Muse
A database of current international full-text serials covering the humanities and social sciences, and includes Pacific journals like The Contemporary Pacific, Oceanic Linguistics, Pacific Science, Asian Perspectives and Manoa.
ProQuest
About 50% of content is available in full-text. ProQuest 5000 is an online serials database with multi-disciplinary coverage of more than 7,000 titles of which some 3,500 are in full text. 
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Over 2.5 million theses and dissertaions from universities worldwide, with a North American focus. Citations provided from 1861, abstracts available from 1980 and over 750,000 full-text from 1996, with approx 4,000 being added annually.
Theses and Dissertations provides information to finding theses from the University of Auckland and other universities, including Pacific theses.
Springlinker
Provides fulltext access to over 1900 journals and over16,000 books with a focus in the Sciences, Engineering and Medicine subjects, and a reasonable coverage of the Social Sciences, Business, Law and the Humanities.

Manuscripts, Archives Catalogues Top of the page 

Archive of Māori and Pacific Music
Established in 1970 the Archive houses the world’s largest ethnographic sound collection relating to the Pacific.
Auckland Museum Catalogue
The Auckland War Memorial Museum Library is one of the major research libraries in the country.  Included in the collections are important rare books, manuscripts and archives as well as maps, charts and plans.  The focus of the collection includes Maori language, whakapapa and history amongst other topics.
Australian Newspapers Online
Searchable archive of Historic Australian Newspapers 1803-1954.
Fiji Museum
The Museum holdings includes archaeological material dating back 3,500 years and cultural 
objects representing both Fiji's indigenous inhabitants and other communities that have 
settled in the island group over the past 100 years.
Manuscripts and Archives Catalogue
Index to the manuscripts and archives of Special Collections, Level G, University of Auckland General Library / Te Herenga Mātauranga Whānui.
National Register of Archives and Manuscripts
Archives and manuscripts collections in institutions throughout New Zealand.
Pacific Manuscripts Bureau
Known as Pambu, the Bureau helps long-term preservation and accessibility of the documentary heritage of the Pacific Islands with archives, manuscripts and rare printed material since 1968.The Bureau sits in the Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies at The Australian National University.
TAPUHI is the Alexander Turnbull Library's catalogue of unpublished manuscripts and archives, drawings, prints, photographs, oral history and music. Instructions on how to search the catalogue are contained in the introduction to TAPUHI.

Image Databases Top of the page

Art History Image Database
This database contains over 20,000 images that have been digitised from slides in the Art History Department Visual Resources Collection. Contains thousands of records relating to New Zealand, Maori and Pacific Art.The physical slide collection is only available to Art History teaching staff.
Images Library, Out of the Blue: Contemporary Maori and Pacific Art, Tattooing in the Pacific
Pacific and Maori Visual Arts
Maps of Australia and the Pacific
Maps and Images of the Pacific Islands
NZ & Pacific Digital
The University of Auckland Library digital collections represent an impressive and diverse range of resources, including poetry, architectural drawings, digitised books, Journal of the Polynesian Society, theses, and photographic images. The collections provide valuable teaching and research resources for both staff and students, and communities outside the University.
Picture Australia
Search for images of people, places and events in the collections of libraries, museums, galleries, archives, universities and other cultural agencies, in Australia and abroad.

Timeframes  
An online database of images from the Alexander Turnbull Library. 


Other Pacific Resources Top of the page

New Zealand and Pacific Collection
For other New Zealand and Pacific material.


General Databases Top of the page

Anthropology and Archaeology Databases
For an international perspective.

Digital Dissertations   1988- 
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses world-wide. Some can be downloaded.

Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. 

Interdisciplinary Databases
Multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary databases and includes Breakout, Current Contents, Expanded Academic etc

File last updated : 29 June, 2010
Comments and suggestions to : j.mcfall@auckland.ac.nz