Back to Pasifika Subject Resource Page

Pacific Resources, Information and News


Contents

Arts and Literature

Business

Churches

Conferences

Education and Languages

Film and Television

Health

History

Maps

Navigation and Voyaging

News and Newspapers

Research Institutions and Organisations

Others


Arts and Literature Top of page

Art of Pacific Cultures - Art History Resources page by Christopher Witcombe

New Zealand Electronic Poetry Centre NZEPC University of Auckland, is an electronic gateway to poetry resources in Aotearoa/New Zealand and the Pacific region. Has a Pasifika Poetry section with fulltext, commentary and interviews with authors.

New Zealand Museums and Galleries Directory of New Zealand museums and galleries.

O'kaioceaniaikart contemporary work of established and emerging artists of the Pacific and Oceania.

Pacific Islands Literature - a selective reading guide compiled by Dr Karen Peacock. Last updated 2007.

Pacific Islands Pacific Literature Resources Cornell University

Pacific Writers Connection An organisation dedicated to encouraging creative writing, cultural and arts activities, and supports people and cultures in Hawai’i and the Pacific to ensure their voices and issues are heard.

Paul Sharrad (1988). Bibliography of non-indigenous literary writings on the Pacific. Sydney: University of Wollongong.

SPACLALS or South Pacific Association for Commonwealth Language and Literary Studies, is the association for writers, literary scholars and language scholars of the Pacific region, and publishes the SPAN Journal.

Tautai, Contemporary Pacific Arts Trust, has a directory of Pacific artists with information about their work.

Te Puna Web directory Pacific Arts and Literature resources.

Zeroland A web directory of New Zealand Arts and Culture including New Zealand artists.

Business Information and Resources Top of page

Pasifika Business Research: Information and Resources pages provides a comprehensive listing of printed and internet resources on Pasifika business information from the Pacific Islands, New Zealand and the South Pacific region.

Churches and MissionariesTop of page

Pacific Christian Churches Directory of Christian churches across Pacific and Asia.

Project Canterbury The Biographical Directory of Anglican Clergy includes biographical information on clergy and deaconesses of the Anglican Church in New Zealand, Polynesia, and Melanesia, from the visit of Samuel Marsden in 1814 onwards and Anglicanism in Oceania.

Council for World Missions Archives with information on the PacificIsland missions

Marist Studies Wiki: Letters of French Catholic Missionaries in the Pacific 1836-1854

ConferencesTop of page

Conferences relating to the Pacific can be found on institutional websites like: the University of the South Pacific, Pacific Science Association, East-West Center, Pacific History Association, Australian Association for the Advancement of Pacific Studies AAAPS, The European Society for Oceanists, The Pacific Islands Political Studies Association, The Tonga Research Association, and others. Contact the International Council for the study of the Pacific Islands ICSP for a list of Pacific conferences.
University faculties like Arts and departments also lists conferences and postgraduate seminars. Academic Conferences Worldwide also provides information on upcoming conferences.

To find other conferences and proceedings information check the Finding Conferences and Conference Proceedings Library page.

Education and Languages Top of page

Pasifika Education links to information on Pacific education available from the New Zealand Ministry of Education site which includes the Pasifika Education Plan, Pasifika Education Strategy, a newsletter Talanoa Ako: Pacific Education Talk, statistics, reports and other important resources.

Education Counts, New Zealand Ministry of Education provides online statistical data, quantitative information and research about the education sector including Pasifika education publications.

Pasifika Education Community News and Resources News and information in developments and resources on Pasifika education in Aoteroa New Zealand including Language Curriculum, and other useful Resources for teachers and the community.

Pacific Archive of Digital Data for Learning and Education (PADDLE) a regional online resource of Pacific Island education provided by PRIDE (Pacific Regional Initiatives for the Delivery of basic Education), University of the South Pacific.

Other Resources include:
Ako Aotearoa Resources;
MultiLingual Audio
includes Pacific Languages resources;
Multi-cultural Childrens Resource Centre
includes resources in Pacific Languages for children
Pasifika Digital Legends are based on traditional stories from the TurtlePacific
Global Education Pacific Information about global issues for use by school communities and general public. Island country profiles cover land, people, economy, achievements and challenges, and links with Australia.
Pacific Studies Initiatives Project : Syllabus and Bibliography Collection online instructional materials for teaching about the Pacific Islands. Includes course descriptions, reading lists and bibliographies in general humanities and social science curricula. A Pacific Studies Initiative by the University of Hawai`i Center for Pacific Islands Studies, the East-West Center, and Kapi`olani Community College Library.
Pacific Resources for Education and Learning PREL hosts some Pacific language resources. Other language resources sites include the Papua New Guinea Summer Institute of Linguistics SIL PNG
Fulltext Indigenous Language Books Full Text of Indigenous Language and Education Books available online from Northern Arizona University's College of Education with references to Maori and Pasifika languages revival.
UNESCO Education Planning and Financing Portal includes country cases

Film and Television Top of page

Cinematographical Database contains information on films (mainly documentaries) on Oceania (without Australia and New Zealand) that has been collected by Saskia Goëken in pre-WWW and pre-DVD times: 1984-1986, including the University of Hawaii’s “Moving Images of the Pacific Islands” database.

Film Archive New Zealand contains documentaries, short films, newsreels, posters, and photographs from Pacific islands associated with New Zealand administration.

Journal of Pacific History Pacific Filmography Archive

Health ResourcesTop of page

Pacific Health Research information and resources from New Zealand and the Pacific region on Pacific Health.

History ResourcesTop of page

Library resources for Pacific History, contains references to materials on general histories of the Pacific; yearbooks; bibliographies; atlases and maps; indexes; periodicals and newspapers; theses and dissertations; databases; government publications; manuscripts and archives; and statistics.

MapsTop of page

David Rumsey Collection – historic maps of many Pacific Islands

GeoNetwork of the Applied Geoscience Commission, SOPAC geological maps of the Pacific Islands, Australia and New Zealand.

Historical Maps of Oceania. Maps of Oceania available on Pacific-encounters and on ODSAS in the Historical Maps collection are originals from Serge Tcherkezoff's collection. Conditions of use apply.

Map South Pacific and Maps of the South Pacific

Matapihi – access digital collections from NZ libraries and archives includes historic maps of Pacific Islands and a large number of historic photographs

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection University of Texas Libraries has an excellent online collection of current and historical maps of the Pacific Islands.

Navigation and VoyagingTop of page

Discoverers Web  Information on Pacific exploration

Polynesian Voyaging Society (PVS), is an organisation committed towards research and education on the art and science of traditional Polynesian voyaging and a digital Archive Hookele.

South Seas is an online resource of the National Library of Australia on the history of European voyaging and cross-cultural encounters in the Pacific between 1760 and 1800.

News and Newspapers Top of page

Pacific islands news and information links to Pacific newspapers, magazines, journals, radio/TV news etc.,. by the Pacific Islands Development Program/East-West Center and Center for Pacific Islands Studies, University of Hawaii.

CocoNET wireless: Pacific Islands news and information Pacific Islands news and information including archive, media directory, telephone directories, policy documents, economic reports and links to other Pacific sites.

Other Newspapers and News sites
Newspapers and News Sites
Oceania Newspapers and News Media Guide
Pacific Beat of ABC Radio Australia
Pacific Internet News Resources of the University of Hawaii's Pacific Collection
Historic Australian Newspapers 1803-1954
Niupepa Māori Newspapers 1842-1933
PapersPast New Zealand papers and periodicals 1839-1932
Historic American Newspapers
Online Newspapers.com
Newspaper ARCHIVE.com

Research Institutions and Organisations Top of page

Center for Pacific Islands Studies, University of Hawaii at Manoā.

Centre for Pacific Studies, University of Auckland.

Center for Pacific and Asian Studies (CPAS) , University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands. CPAS has an undergraduate Pacific Studies programme and a postgraduate research programme. Resources includes the Oceania newsletter, and bibliographical databases.

East-West Center is Center for cooperative research, education, training and dialogue on critical issues of common concern to the Asia Pacific region and the United States. The Pacific Islands Development Program (PIDP) is the forum and arm for research, education and training for the Pacific islands.Lists Pacific Related Organisations

Macmillan Brown Centre for Pacific Studies, University of Canterbury. The main areas of research of the Centre are the societies and cultures, past and present, of the indigenous peoples of Oceania (including New Zealand).

Micronesian Seminar popularly knownas MicSem, is a private non-profit, non-governmental organization engaged in the public education of the people of the Federated States of Micronesia, the republics of Palau and the Marshall Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Hosts an online collection of historical photographs of Micronesia.

Ministry Of Pacific Island Affairs, New Zealand and publishes a range of the Ministry's publications such as: Statement of Intent 2005-2008, Pacific Vision, Pacific Directions Report and other useful resources and publications.

Pacific Cooperation Foundation is a partnership between the public and private sectors in New Zealand and the Pacific Island countries and promotes cooperation primarily in Media, Public Affairs, Business, Communities, Culture and Education. Publishes Pacific Connections and e-newspaper articles, recordings, speeches, letters and current issues information are available online.

Pacific Islands Development Program PIDP), East West Center, Hawaii.PIDP focuses on enhancing the quality of life in the Pacific islands.Supports research and dialogue, and produces regular online news reports on the Pacific. Publications of research activities

Pacific Islands Networking lists Pacific-related projects, programs, agencies and contacts.

Pacific Islands Marine Portal: the portal of the Pacific Islands Marine Resources Information System (PIMRIS), and contains news, articles and directories of websites relevant to Pacific fisheries and to the coastal and marine environment of the Pacific.

PIMRIS Repository is a regional e-repository of published and unpublished documents produced by marine and fisheries departments in the Pacific Island Countries.

Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)
Provides general information including resources on land, marine, social and socio-economics. Many of the publications are available in PDF format. Access to the Library online catalogue.

Regional Organisations and forums of Pacific Islands.See also listings of regional organisations under Pasifika Business.

Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies  (RSPAS) is  Australia's pre-eminent centre for research and postgraduate  training on Asia and the southwest Pacific region. Other Australian Pacific research institutions and resources.

School of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies, University of Otago, delivers programmes about the languages, cultures and societies of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous societies.

University of St Andrews Centre for Pacific Studies

University of the South Pacific delivers programmes in Pacific Studies and is a major publisher of Pacific books, and is a research and resource institution for the development of the Pacific Islands. Regional projects includes the Pacific Archive of Digital Data for Learning and Education (PADDLE)

Va'aomanū Pasifika, Victoria University of Wellington, delivers programmes in teaching and research in Pacific knowledge, skills and understandings.Va'aomanū Pasifika comprises two programmes—the Pacific Studies Programme and the Samoan Studies Programme.

Others Top of page

NativeWeb
An excellent scholarly Internet site for information about Indigenous Peoples around the world.

The  PacificInfo a United Nations database that provides Millennium Development Goals  (MDGs) data on 15 Pacific Island Countries, and monitors and tracks progress on human development and other national priorities.

Pacific Pictures 
A gallery of Pacific travel photographs from the Pacific islands including maps, directories and travel guides.

Pacific Law Introduction to Researching South Pacific Law


Contact: j.mcfall@auckland.ac.nz
File Last updated by Judy McFall McCaffery, May 1, 2012