Back to Pasifika Subject Resource Page

Reference Material: Print & Electronic


Contents
Reference Resources Directories Methodologies
General References E - Books Libraries & Archives
Bibliographies E - Journals Pacific Studies
Conceptual Frameworks Guidelines Publishers
Dictionaries Indexes Statistical Information
  Indigenous References  


Reference Resources Top of page

Reference books are a good place to start researching a topic. The information is brief and written by experts. Use reference books for concise introductions, facts, or definitions. Some are online.

The resources listed below are a selection of research references, some are available online and others in the New Zealand & Pacific Collection of the General Library, University of Auckland. Links are to the full-text or to Library catalogue record. You can find other reference material by searching the Catalogue and Articles & more search options in Library Search..

General ReferencesTop of page

Campbell, I.C. (1992). A history of the Pacific Islands. Christchurch: University of Canterbury Press.

The Cambridge History of the Pacific Islanders edited by Donal Denoon with Raymond Firth et al. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1997.

Craig, R.D. (2004). Handbook of Polynesian mythology. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO.

Craig, R.D. (2011). Historical dictionary of Polynesia. 3rd Ed. Lanham Md.; London: Scarecrow.

Crocombe, R. (2008). The South Pacific. 7th Ed. Suva, Fiji: IPS Publications, University of the South Pacific.

The cyclopedia of Samoa, Tonga, Tahiti and the Cook Islands Sydney : McCarron, Stewart & Co., 1907.

Guampedia: The encyclopedia of Guam edited by Shannon Murphy with Tanya M.C. Mendiola et al. Mangilao, Guam: Guampedia UOG Station, 2009.[Excellent online resource on Guam]

Historical dictionary of Oceania edited by Robert D. Craig and Frank P. King. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1981.

The Pacific Islands : an encyclopedia edited by Brij V. Lal and Kate Fortune. Honolulu : University of Hawai'i Press, 2000.

Pacific Islands yearbook Sydney : Pacific Publications, 1932 1994.
Last ed. 17th (1994).

Political and economic encyclopaedia of the Pacific Harlow : Longman, 1989.

Quanchi, M., & Robson, J. (2005). Historical dictionary of the discovery and exploration of the Pacific Islands. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press.

SOPAC Pacific Islands Applied GeoScience Commission. Up-to-date data and information on Pacific islands environment, including national and regional data in table, graph, and map form.

Who's who in Australasia and the Pacific nations.A list of political leaders and senior officials in Pacific Island countries.

Bibliographies Top of page

Anae, Melanie. New Zealand based research on the Pacific Islands compiled by Melanie Anae; edited by Marjorie Tuainekore Crocombe. Auckland: Centre for Pacific Studies, University of Auckland, 1993.

AnthroGlobe. Contains bibliographies for Cook Islands, Fiji, Tonga, Polynesian Outliers, Chinese in Oceania, as well as a bibliography for Vanuatu languages. Also contains topic bibliographies.

Bibliographic Database lists literature on Oceania that has been published in Oceania Newsletter No.11/12, February/August 1993 - No. 56, December 2009. Centre for Pacific and Asian Studies, Radboud University, Nijmegen.

Blain Biographical Directory (2010) on Project Canterbury of all Anglican clergy ordained before 1931 who were licensed to work in the ecclesiastical province of New Zealand (including dioceses of Melanesia and Polynesia).

Chinese in the Pacific: a bibliography by Alex Golub

Fiji Bibliographies & Indexes by Rod Ewins and his Just Pacific webiste contains anthropological work relating to the Pacific

Journal of Pacific History bibliography. Supplement to the Journal of Pacific History.

Kiribati Bibliography compiled by Stephen Trussel.

Pacific Island studies : a survey of the literature. New York : Greenwood Press, 1986.

Samoan Free Online Bibliography This bibliography of about 550 entries is the result of searches of many different online library systems. It is sorted by author, title and date.

South Pacific bibliography. Suva : University of the South Pacific, Pacific Information Centre, 1982 . Latest issue 1998/99.

Taylor, C. R. H. (Clyde Romer Hughes), 1905- . A Pacific bibliography; printed matter relating to the native peoples of Polynesia, Melanesia, and Micronesia. 2nd ed. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1965.
Although out-of-date this is the most comprehensive bibliography on the Pacific including 
books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses. Especially useful for historical and ethnographical references.

Thawley, John. Australasia and South Pacific islands bibliography. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997.

Williams, Esther Winiamaori. Lisitala : a bibliography of Pacific writers. Suva, Fiji: Pacific Information Centre in association with the 4th Festival Pacific Arts Committee, 1984.

Conceptual Frameworks/Research ModelsTop of page

Health Models
Agnew, F., Pulotu-Endemann, F. K., Robinson, G., Suaalii-Sauni, T., Warren, H., Wheeler, A., Erick, M., Hingano, T. & Schmidt-Sopoaga, H. (2004). Pacific models of mental health service delivery in New Zealand ("PMMHSD") project. Auckland, N.Z.: Health Research Council of New Zealand.

Kakala Model
Helu-Thaman, K. (1988). Ako and faiako: Educational concepts, cultural values and teacher role perceptions in Tonga. Unpublished PhD Thesis, University of the South Pacific, Suva.

Vaka Model
Nelisi, L. (2004). Ko e vaka fakaako he faiaoga Pasifika he moana Okalana: Teaching from the heart. Unpublished MEd Research project, University of Auckland.

Tā-Vā/Tauhi Vā/Teu le Vā
Airini., Anae, M., & Mila-Schaaf, K. (2010). Teu le va-relationships across research and policy in Pasifika education: a collective approach to knowledge generation & policy development for action towards Pasifika education success. Report to the Ministry of Education. [Wellington,N.Z]: Ministry of Education.

Anae, M. (2008). ‘Teu Le va: Theorising the importance of nurturing relationships in research praxis’. Women’s Studies Journal. Special Issue: Pacific Knowledges.

Lilomaiava-Doktor, S. (200). Beyond "Migration": Samoan Population Movement (Malaga) and the Geography of Social Space (Vā). Contemporary Pacific Journal 21 (1), 1-32.

Tā-Vā Theory Papers Online. A collection of online material on Tā-Vā which includes the thesis by Ka’ili, Tēvita O. (2008). Tauhi vā: Creating beauty through the art of sociospatial relations.Unpublished PhD Thesis, University of Washington.

Dictionaries Top of page

A Grammar and Dictionary of the Samoan Language, with English and Samoan vocabulary A dictionary by Reverend George Pratt originally published in 1984 and digitised by the New Zealand Electronic Text Centre.

Cook Islands Maori Dictionary a free online dictionary of Rarotongan and Cook Islands Maori

Fijian-English and English-Fijian Dictionary A basic Fijian to English and English to Fijian Dictionary with a guide to pronunciation and lists of common phrases.

Mangaian dictionary: dictionary of Cook Islands languages Bilingual dictionary.

MAORI-POLYNESIAN Comparative Dictionary
A dictionary by Edward Robert Tregear originally published in 1891, and revised in 2005 by Colin Doig.

Oceanic Languages Dictionaries and Resources Languages Dictionaries includes Nauruan, Rotuman, Tongan, Gilbertese-French Wordlist, Samoan, Hale's Tarawan Vocabulary, and Maori Word Database as well as Samoan and Tongan Languages Resources, Pacific Newspapers and Radio Stations.

Pohnpeian English Dictionary

Samoan Dictionary A Samoan language dictionary with English translations adapted from the Learners Samoan Dictionary by Mautanoa Lisi Va'ai.

Tongan Dictionary Project
A basic Tongan-English, English-Tongan dictionary put together by the Brookvale Public School, Sydney Australia.

Tokelau dictionary 1986 compiled by Ropati Simona and published by the Office of Tokelau Affairs.

DirectoriesTop of page

PacificResearchOnline is a database of Pacific research expertise mainly based within New Zealand universities. A collaborative partnership between Pacific Cooperation Foundation (PCF) and the Build Research Capacity in the Social Sciences (BRCSS)network

Te Puna Web Directory to Pasifika websites
Pasifika websites in alphabetical order, hosted by the National Library's Te Puna Web Directory.

Te Puna Web Directory by Subject
A subject list of Pasifika internet resources, hosted by the National Library's Te Puna Web Directory.

E - Books Top of page

Best, Elsdon. Polynesian Voyagers. The Māori as a Deep-sea Navigator, Explorer, and Colonizer. Wellington: Dominion Museum, 1923.

Dixon, Roland B. Oceanic Mythology. Boston: Marshall Jones Company,1916.

Grey, Sir George. Polynesian mythology & ancient traditional history of the New Zealanders as furnished by their priests and chiefs. Revised 2002, 1854.

Westervelt, W. D. Legends of Ma-ui : a demi god of Polynesia and of his mother Hina. Honolulu: Hawaiian Gazette Co., 1910.

Turner, George. Samoa, a hundred years ago and long before. Suva, Fiji : Institute of Pacific Studies, University of the South Pacific, 1984.

Tidal Pools: Digitized Texts from New Zealand and Oceania by the New Zealand Electronic Text Centre,  Victoria University of Wellington, includes some of the above texts and other historical, contemporary and language e-texts relating to Māori and Pacific.

E - Journals Top of page

Asian-Pacific Law & Policy Journal The APLPJ is the first fully-functional, web-based, American legal journal dedicated to issues facing Asia and the Pacific Rim. It is maintained by the University of Hawaii, William S. Richardson School of Law.

Asian Perspectives: the Journal of Archaeology for Asia and the Pacific

AtoJs Online contains some reports on Pacific Islands from selected volumes of the Apppendices to the Journals of the New Zealand House of Representatives from 1858.

The Contemporary Pacific
A publication for interdisciplinary work in Pacific studies and contemporary issues in the Pacific region. It features refereed articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, cultural, and literary topics, and includes reviews, and a dialogue of diverse genres of writing, including interviews and short essays. Each issue highlights the work of a Pacific Islander artist.

Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society. An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, online Open Access journal committed to decolonization work within education, as part of a larger project of decolonization in society.

Graduate Journal of Asia-Pacific Studies A peer reviewed interdisciplinary journal showcasing articles, commentaries, reviews, and visual works of graduate students of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Auckland.

The Journal of Pacific History From 1998 includes section: "Pacific History bibliography". Invaluable annual review which lists all Pacific-related theses from around the world, as well as books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses.

Journal of Pacific Rim Psychology continues the fine work of the South Pacific Journal of Psychology

The Journal of the Polynesian Society. Available in hardcopy in the Library and online from Vol. 1 (1892) at http://www.jps.auckland.ac.nz/index.php. Earlier volumes (1892-1941) contain the transactions and proceedings of the society with memoirs now being added. Vocabularies of some of the languages of Polynesia are included with "A list of Polynesian languages" in v. 21.

Oceania covers social and cultural anthropology of the peoples of Australia, Melanesia, Polynesia, Micronesia and Southeast Asia. Includes peer-reviewed ethnographic research.

Oceania Newsletter
Published by the Centre for Pacific and Asian Studies (CPAS), University  of Nijmegent, this newsletter includes short articles on topical issues concerning the  Pacific, announcements of workshops, seminars, conferences and exhibitions, and a list of recent publications on Oceania.

Oceanic Linguistics is the only journal devoted exclusively to the study of the indigenous languages of the Oceanic area including Austronesian (or Malayo-Polynesian) languages and parts of Southeast Asia.. Cover issues of linguistic theory, report research on historical relations, and information about inadequately described languages.

Pacific Arts Journal includes topics pertinent to the visual and performing arts of the peoples of Polynesia, Micronesia, Melanesia, Australia, and Indonesia, and the Pacific Arts Association Newsletter are both published by the Pacific Arts Association with a very useful blog.

The Pacific Economic Bulletin is a peer-reviewed research publication covering issues relating to economics, governance and policymaking in the Pacific Islands and Papua New Guinea.

Pacific Health Dialog: the Journal of Community Health and Clinical Medicine for the Pacific Region is the only Medline listed medical and public health journal published specifically for Pacific island countries.

Pacific Science focuses on the Biological and Physical Sciences of the Pacific Region.

Pacific Studies. A multidisciplinary journal devoted to the study of the peoples of the Pacific Islands.

Pacific News Sources and Journals Online maintained by Just Pacific lists scholarly online journals and indexes relating to the Pacific including American Anthropologist, Anthroglobe Journal, Directions, Early New Zealand Books, Island Business and others.

Pambu Newsletters Published by the Pacific Manuscripts Bureau of the Australian National University, Pambu carries news of the Bureau's activities, microfilming projects,  recent releases, fieldtrips, advertises books and presents articles by a wide range of people with an interest in the Pacific Islands region.

Revue juridique polynésienne In French and English this journal publishes legislation and legal issues in Tahiti, Pacific French territories, and the Pacific Islands.

Spasifik magazine publishes Pacific and Maori current news and events in New Zealand and in the Pacific Islands.

The South Pacific Journal of Natural Science

Trout Online journal of arts & literature from Aotearoa/New Zealand and the Pacific Islands.

Guidelines - Pacific ResearchTop of page

Anae, M., Coxon, E., Mara, D., & Wendt-Samu, T. (2001). Pasifika education research guidelines: Final report. Wellington, N.Z.: Ministry of Education Research Division, Auckland UniServices.

Health Research Council of New Zealand. (2005). Guidelines on Pacific health research (3rd ed). Auckland, N.Z.: Health Research Council of New Zealand.

Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs. (2005). Pacific consultation guidelines. Wellington, N.Z.: Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs.

Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs. (2006). Pacific analysis framework 2006 with Pacific consultation guidelines : analysing public policy through Pacific lenses. Wellington, N.Z: Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs.

Tiatia, J. (2008). Pacific cultural competencies a literature review. Wellington, N.Z.: Ministry of Health.

University of Otago (2011). Pacific Research Protocols 2011. Dunedin: University Council of the University of Otago.

IndexesTop of page

Rasmussen-Paese, P., AUT University, Office of Pasifika Advancement, & BRCSS Network. (2008).Bibliographic index of Pacific theses in New Zealand universities. Auckland: Office of Pasifika Advancement, AUT University and BRCSS Network Pacific Team. Three volume index listing doctoral and masters’ theses conducted in New Zealand universities to 2008. Also available in Endnote X Library in CD-ROM.

Indigenous ReferencesTop of page

Baba, T. L., Mahina, O., Williams, N., & Nabobo-Baba, U. (2004). Researching Pacific and indigenous peoples: Issues and perspectives. Auckland, N.Z.: Centre for Pacific Studies, The University of Auckland.

Cultural Mapping Planning and Policy for Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Palau, Solomon Islands, and Tonga

Efi, Tuiatua Tupua Tamasese. (2008). Su'esu'e manogi = In search of fragrance : Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Ta'isi and the Samoan indigenous reference / edited and compiled by Tamasailau M. Suaalii-Sauni ...[et al.]. Samoa : Centre for Samoan Studies, National University of Samoa, 2008, c2009.

Community Research Engagement Mai Review Online Journal Special Edition 2010, Issue 3.

Nabobo-Baba, U. (2011). A taxonomy of silence In Nabobo-Baba, U (Ed), Knowing and Learning: an indegenous Fijian approach, pp 94-98, Suva: IPS Publications.

Smith, L. T., (1999). Decolonising Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples. New York: Zed Books; Dunedin: University of Otago Press.

Teaiwa, K. & Mercer, C. (2011). Pacific Cultural mapping, Planning and Policy Toolkit. Noumea: Secretariat of the Pacific Community.

Methodologies - Pacific ResearchTop of page

Airini, Anae, M., & Mila-Schaaf, K. (2010). Teu le va - relationships across research and policy in Pasifika education: a collective approach to knowledge generation & policy development for action towards Pasifika education success : report to the Ministry of Education: Wellington, N.Z. : Ministry of Education.

Halapua, S. (2000). Talanoa process: The case of Fiji. Honolulu: East West Centre, Hawaii.

Manu'atu, L. (2003). TalanoaMālie: Innovative reform through social dialogue in New Zealand. Cultural Survival Quarterly, 27(4).

Otsuka, S. (2006). Talanoa research: Culturally appropriate research design in Fiji. Proceedings of the Australian Association for Research in Education (AARE) 2005 International Education Research Conference: Creative Dissent-Constructive Solutions. Melbourne, Australia.

Robinson, D., & Robinson, K. (2005). Pacific ways of talk - hui and talanoa. Unpublished research project for the New Zealand Institute for Economic Research. Wellington: Social and Civic Policy Institute (SCPI).

Vaioleti, T. M. (2006). Talanoa research methodology: A developing position on Pacific research. Waikato Journal of Education, 12, 21-34.

Libraries, Digital Collections & Archives Top of page

Digitised Pacific resources: Global Collections A gateway to collections of digitised documentary materials relating to the history, culture and people of the Pacific region including Micronesia, Melanesia, Polynesia and New Zealand listed on the National Library of Australia website.Pacific Island Governments resources and Pacific Collection.

NZ & Pacific Digital Collections University of Auckland Library
The Librarys digital collections represent an impressive and diverse range of resources, including poetry, architectural drawings, digitised books, theses, and photographic images. The University Library has a comprehensive collection of Pacific research material including notable archives such as the Western Pacific Archives, and the Archive of Māori and Pacific Music.

Pacific Research Collections of the Australian National University.

Oceania Digital Library is a collaborative project of the University of Hawai'i Library, the University of Auckland Library and The University of California San Diego Libraries, which begun in late 2007 to digitise, preserve and provide searchable access to a range of cultural & heritage resources from Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia.

Pacific Studies WWW Virtual Library of the Australian National University College of Asia and the Pacific. Resources includes historical photographs, bibliographies, dictionaries, maps and atlases, Pacific Manuscripts Bureau archival material, microfilms and unpublished material.

Te Puna Matauranga o Aotearoa : Catalogue & Directories - National Library of New Zealand
Catalogues, directories and databases managed by the National Library including digital collectionsTe Puna Web Directory is a collection of links to selected New Zealand, Māori and Pacific Island websites. You can browse the directory or search by a word or phrase.

Other Libraries Catalogues: New Zealand universities and overseas
Tertiary institutions in New Zealand, Australia, Britain, Europe and Library of Congress.

Pacific Collection University of Hawaii
Selected online Full Text Documents & Digital Resources and references from the University of Hawaii at Manoa's Pacific Collection.Libraries Archives and Associations listed on this website.

Pacific StudiesTop of page

Baba, T. L., Mahina, O., Williams, N., & Nabobo-Baba, U. (2004). Researching Pacific and indigenous peoples: Issues and perspectives. Auckland, N.Z.: Centre for Pacific Studies, The University of Auckland.

The Contemporary Pacific, A Journal of island Affairs, 13 (2), Fall 2001. Issue with articles on Pacific Studies.

Fairbairn-Dunlop, T.P. (2008). Reconnecting to Our Sea of Islands: Pacific Studies in the next decade AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples, 4(1), 45-56.

Hau'ofa, E. (1993). Our sea of islands. In E. Waddell, V. Naidu, E. Hau'ofa (Ed), A new Oceania: Rediscovering our Sea of Islands, pp. 2-19. Suva: University of the South Pacific.

Hviding, Edvard. (2003). Between Knowledges: Pacific Studies and Academic Disciplines. The Contemporary Pacific, 15, 43-73.

Mamak, A., & McCall, G. (1978). Paradise postponed: essays on research and development in the South Pacific. Rushcutters Bay, N.S.W.: Pergamon Press.

Rose, S., Quanchi, M., & Moore, C. (2009). A national strategy for the study of the Pacific [electronic resource]. Brisbane: Australian Association for the Advancement of Pacific Studies.

Wesley-Smith, T. (1995). Rethinking Pacific Islands Studies. Pacific Studies, 18(2), 115-137.

SEE ALSO Resources & Information for Research Institutions with a focus in Pacific Studies.

Publishers Top of page

Oceania Publications
University of Sydney, includes Oceania and Archaeology in Oceania monographs and journals.

PIDP Publications Research publications by the Pacific Islands Development Program, East-West Center, Hawaii.

Institute of Pacific Studies Publications University of the South Pacific, Suva, Fiji.

University of Hawaii Press publisher of academic books and journals on Asia and the Pacific.

Statistical InformationTop of page

Selected Pacific regional organisations, research, country, and statistical information are available on the Pacific Regional Information System (PRISM) site.

Statistics New Zealand
The website includes statistics and information about Pacific peoples living in New Zealand.

Te Puna Web Directory by country or territory
A list of Pasifika internet resources by country hosted by the National Library's Te Puna Web Directory.


Contact: j.mcfall@auckland.ac.nz
File Last updated by Judy McFall McCaffery: 1 March, 2013