M U S I C  D A T A B A S E S

RILM
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature from 1969 onwards. The leading international database of music scholarship.

IIMP
International Index to Music Periodicals, indexing nearly 400 international music periodicals from over 30 countries.

RIPM
Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals, fully indexes over 140 music periodicals published 1800-1950.

Index New Zealand : INNZ
General index to Aotearoa New Zealand newspapers, journals, conferences etc. from 1987 on. Abstracts only.

Oxford Music Online
A database from Oxford University Press comprising Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, the Oxford Companion to Music and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A searchable encyclopaedia aiming to cover music of all the world's peoples, including entries by more than 900 expert contributors.

SOUNZ : Centre for New Zealand Music
Searchable catalogue for the Centre for New Zealand Music, biographical information and works lists for New Zealand art composers.
(Internet traffic charges apply)

Naxos Music Library
Streaming audio database including the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 75,000 tracks, comprising classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, and folk music.

Naxos Video Library
A streaming video library of over 500 classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.

Opera in Video
A streaming video collection of staged productions, interviews, and documentaries for 290 significant operatic works.

Classical Scores Library
An online collection of over 24,000 classical music scores provided by Alexander Street Press.

Naxos Music Library Sheet Music
A music score download service provided by Naxos Music Library. It includes over 45,000 titles in all classical genres.

IMSLP : International Music Score Library Project
A collaborative music score library and download service. It includes over 73,000 scores in all classical genres.
(Internet traffic charges apply)

ChoralWiki : Choral Public Domain Library
A free sheet music website which specializes in choral music. It includes over 12,000 scores.
(Internet traffic charges apply)

RISM : International Inventory of Musical Sources
An index (series A/II) of 700,000 music manuscripts mainly composed before 1800. The original sources are available from the libraries, music archives, and private collections as indicated in the RISM database.
(Internet traffic charges apply)

Rock's Backpages
An archive of over 13,000 popular music reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day.
(Internet traffic charges apply)

Interdisciplinary Resources
Full-text databases covering a range of academic disciplines, including Academic Research Library, Academic Search Premier, Current Contents, Expanded Academic, FirstSearch, Google Scholar, JSTOR, ProQuest, etc.


File last updated: 11 October 2011
Comments and suggestions to: p.mckeown-green@auckland.ac.nz