Music and Dance Library

Collections


Music and Dance Library / Collections 

Music and Dance Library Collections

 
Strengths
Size
Finding Material 
Glass Case
Desk Copies 
Books
Items on Display 
Scores
Indexes & Abstracts 
Periodicals
Exams
Electronic Resources 
Theses/Compositions
Syllabi
Overseas Schools File 
Previous PageTop of Page

Strengths

The Music and Dance Library maintains a collection of books, scores, periodicals and microtext materials. The emphasis is on western art music since the Middle Ages and, to a lesser extent, ethnomusicology, jazz and popular music. More recently, the Music and Dance Library has acquired books, journals and videos relating to dance. The collections are particularly strong in the following areas: 
  • Medieval and renaissance music 
  • Russian music materials 
  • Opera 
  • Twentieth century music (particularly the music of Stockhausen) 
  • New Zealand composers' published works 
The Russian collection is the main special collection, now integrated with the rest of the stock. It is one of the largest collections in the Southern hemisphere; included are books, scores and collected editions of several major composers, sheet music and over 300 microfilms and microfiche.

Sound and video recordings are housed in the Listening Room which adjoins the Music and Dance Library. Some lending cds are also held by the library. 

The School of Music administers a collection of choral and orchestral music which is available for hire. 

Previous PageTop of Page

Size of Collection

  • over 15,000 books with more than 1000 reference books and 173 rare items in the Glass Case 
  • over 30,000 scores including sets of parts, study scores and collected works of significant composers 
  • over 5,000 cds with more than 4,000 lps
  • 2415 periodical volumes, current subscriptions - over 90 titles 
  • over 140 theses 
  • Microfilm and microfiche material. The library has 1 microfilm reader and 1 microfiche reader. 
  • Music Databases - the Music and Dance Library subscribes to: 
  • Indexes and abstracts (print) - The Music and Dance Library has: 
    • the Music Index (to 1999) 
    • RIPM 
    • RILM to 1993 
  • Most of the non-lending sound and video recordings are held in the Listening Room adjacent to the Music and Dance Library. There are listening and viewing facilities available there and in the Audio-Visual Library in the Arts 1 Building on Level 2 . The Music and Dance Library has a small lending collection of cds.
Previous PageTop of Page

Finding MateriaL

  • Voyager - the library catalogue, includes all books, scores and periodicals held in the Music and Dance Library, apart from some collected works editions. Tutorials on using Voyager can be booked at the General Library Information Desk or will be arranged on request by the Music Librarian. 
  • Library web site - gives access to electronic resources held by the library, as well as links to other Internet resources in music and dance
  • guides are available beside the terminals
Previous PageTop of Page

Organisation

The different formats of books and music are shelved in separate sequences (see Library Map) using the Dewey Decimal Classification system. Scores are specified by an "M" after the call number. 

e.g.

  • 785.73 (books about trios) 
  • 785.73M (trio music) 
Previous PageTop of Page

Books

  • reference books are shelved in the two stacks at the front of the library. The Reference collection includes dictionaries of music, encyclopedias, bibliographies and thematic catalogues of composers, and indexes and guides to repertoire. 
    • loan period - reference material generally cannot be borrowed; if you feel you have a special case please approach the Music Librarian and a short loan may be arranged if appropriate 
  • borrowable books are shelved in the first three and a half large stacks with yellow call number signage. (N.B. Some books are "NOT TO BE BORROWED" - check inside the front cover.) 
Previous PageTop of Page

Music scores

  • the main sequence of scores follows the book shelves and has blue call number signage 
  • the vertical file, containing sheet music, is housed in the filing cabinets opposite the front desk 
  • miniature scores are shelved at the far end of the library on the stacks with white call number signage 
Previous PageTop of Page

Periodicals

  • latest issues are displayed on the shelves facing lending desk 
  • back runs are shelved alphabetically by title along the back wall of the library 
  • older material may be housed in off-campus storage - please check Voyager for location details 
Previous PageTop of Page

Theses/Compositions

  • theses, research essays and compositions submitted for post-graduate work are shelved in the Music Librarian's Office 
  • please ask the library staff for assistance 
Previous PageTop of Page

Items on Display

  • when new material comes into the library it is put on the new books/periodicals display opposite the lending desk, for 1-2 weeks 
  • while material is on display it may not be borrowed by students but can be reserved 
Previous PageTop of Page

Desk copies/Short Loan

  • material that is in high demand or needed for course work is placed on short loan at the front desk 
    • loan period - short loan material in the Music and Dance Library may be taken out overnight or for the weekend on Saturday - it must be collected no earlier than 5pm (1pm on Saturday) and must be returned by 10am the next open day 
Previous PageTop of Page

Glass case

  • the Glass Case is housed in the Music Librarian's office 
  • The Music and Dance Library Glass Case contains: 
    • comparatively rare and early editions 
    • several important facsimile editions, including the series "Monuments of Music and Music Literature in Facsimile" 
  • please ask library staff if you wish to see this material 
    • Loan Period - the same as for other scores 
Previous PageTop of Page

Indexes and Abstracts (Print)

  • the Music Index (1949-1999) 
  • RIPM (Repertoire International de la Presse Musicale) 
  • RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) 
  • All of the print indexes can be found in the Reference collection. 
    • loan period - under special circumstances abstracts and indexes may be issued on short loan (up to 1 week) 
Previous PageTop of Page

Electronic Resources

  • RILM, which contains the RILM abstracts and the Library of Congress Music Catalog, is available around the Library system.
  • IIMP (International Index to Music Periodicals) is available, using NetID, via the web, and on Library workstations. (See Music Databases
  • New Grove (New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed) is available, using NetID,  via the web and on Library workstations.
Previous PageTop of Page

Overseas Schools File

The Music and Dance Library holds a small file of material on overseas Schools, Universities and Conservatories. 
  • it is shelved, by geographical area (in boxes) on the last stack 
Previous PageTop of Page

Examination papers from previous years

  • years held from 1970 on 
  • 1970 to 1989 are shelved in the Reference Section above the Music Index 
  • 1996-2004 are held behind the front desk as desk copies 
    • loan period - examination papers are not loaned 
  • 2001 on are available online on Exam Base
Previous PageTop of Page

Syllabi

  • The Music and Dance Library holds syllabi for the following: 
    • Trinity College
    • Associated Board of Royal Schools
  • these are shelved on the last stack 
Previous PageTop of Page

  Music and Dance Library pic 1
 

Contact: Music and Dance Library