Referencing for the Faculty of Medical & Health Sciences

Philson Library | Te Herenga Hauora

Philson Library Home  Tamaki Library home

This guide provides background information on referencing and the major referencing styles used in the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences

What is Referencing
Why Reference?
Selecting a Referencing Style

Steps Involved in Referencing
Referencing Resources

EndNote


What is Referencing?

A system for acknowledging all sources used to obtain information and ideas when writing essays or articles. Referencing involves:

  • Indicating (or citing) the original author(s) as well as the specific location of the facts, arguments and quotations you have used. 
  • Creating a bibliography or reference list of all sources (print and electronic) from which you have taken information either directly (by literal quotation) or indirectly (by paraphrase).

Why Reference?

Referencing is important to:

  • Strengthen your academic argument, and show the breadth of your research, by supporting your statements and opinions with references to scholarly/scientific research studies.
  • Ensure others reading your work can locate and consult the documents you have listed.
  • Avoid plagiarism. The University takes a serious view of plagiarism. Even when you are not intending to copy, it is clear that submitting someone else's work or ideas is not evidence of your own grasp of the material and cannot earn you marks. University guidelines and other resources are available to help you avoid plagiarism.

Selecting a Reference Style

  • There are a variety of referencing styles available. Ask your lecturer what the preferred referencing style for your course is, and if it is acceptable to refer to Internet material in your research.
  • Once you have selected a referencing style you must follow the style consistently without mixing elements from other styles. 
  • The referencing styles used in the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences are Vancouver (a numbered style), and the American Psychological Association (APA) Style, an author/date style.
  • See Referencing Resources below for manuals and online guides on how to set out references in a particular style.

Steps Involved in Referencing

1. Before writing your essay

Note down all the necessary details at the time you are using the material (this will save you time later). The following details are needed for most referencing styles, however, for more information you should consult a style guide or manual (see Referencing Resources below):

Books Journal Articles Electronic media and URLs
  • Author(s)/Editor(s)
  • Year of publication
  • Title of book
  • Edition
  • Place of publication
  • Publisher
  • Title and pages of chapter
    (if appropriate)
  • Author(s)
  • Year of publication
  • Title of article
  • Title of journal
  • Volume
  • Issue or number
  • Pages of article

  • Author(s)
  • Title of document
  • Title of complete work 
    (if appropriate)
  • Version or file number 
    (if appropriate) 
  • Document date or date of last revision
  • The date on which you accessed/cited the material
  • Url/protocol/site/path/file

2. In-Text Citations (in the body of your essay)

In the body of your essay you will need to refer to particular references to show where the information or thinking came from. 

  • In an author/date style (e.g. APA) the citation in the text of your essay (in-text citation) looks like this:  
    "The researchers found that much more DNA was being transcribed than expected, given the number of genes that are thought to be present on these chromosomes (Kapranov et al., 2002)".
  • In a numbered style (e.g. Vancouver), each reference cited in the text is simply given a consecutive number, so an in-text citation looks like this:
    "The researchers found that much more DNA was being transcribed than expected, given the number of genes that are thought to be present on these chromosomes (1)".

3. Reference List (at the end of your essay)

At the end of your essay provide a list of all the resources you have cited in the text. This is called the Reference List (or List of References). 
  • A Reference List includes only those sources actually mentioned in the essay. 
  • A Bibliography would include all sources used in preparing the essay, even if you have not specifically referred to them in text of the essay. However, for most assignments, this is not what is wanted. 
  • Note: sometimes the term bibliography is used interchangeably with reference list. 
  • Check with your lecturer if you are unsure, and consult the information on avoiding plagiarism.
  • Your reference list should be set out according to the guidelines provided by the referencing style you are using.

In an author/date style (e.g. APA) references are listed in alphabetical order by author e.g. 

Durie, M. (2001). Mauri ora: The dynamics of Maori health. Auckland, New Zealand: Oxford University Press.

Hughes, E., & Rodgers, J. (1999). Changing times in diabetes care. Diabetes Primary Care, 1(1), 4.

In a numbered style (e.g. Vancouver) references are listed in numerical order according to the order in which they have been cited in the text of the essay e.g.

1. Martin MJ, Hulley SB, Browner WS, Kuller LH, Wentworth D. Serum cholesterol, blood pressure, and mortality: implications from a cohort of 361,662 men. Lancet. 1986;2:933-6.  

2. Gordon DJ, Probstfield JL, Garrison RJ, Neaton JD, Castelli WP, Knoke JD et al. High-density lipoprotein cholesterol and cardiovascular disease; four prospective American studies. Circulation. 1989;79:8-15.    

EndNote

  • A valuable time-saving tool, EndNote is a specialised database programme for storing and managing references. 
  • Automatically download selected references from many databases.
  • Automatically incorporate references into your Reference List or Bibliography.
  • More Information about EndNote, tutorials, user guides, filters, etc.

Referencing Resources

Resources for APA 

Resources for Vancouver 

Avoiding Plagiarism


Contact: Ross MacDonald
Updated: 03 July 2008