Philson Library | Te Herenga Hauora

Research & Subject Help

Philson Library Home


Research and subject help at the Philson Library is provided by Information Services staff. We offer a wide range of services and resources to support and enhance the research, teaching and learning activities of students, staff and researchers in the Faculty of Medical & Health Sciences.  Services are available at both the Grafton and Tamaki campuses.

Information Services
Library Workshops
Endnote
Contact Information Services Staff

Information for University Staff
Services to the School of Population Health
Services to Auckland District Health Board Staff

Information Services

Information Services staff provide assistance with:

  • In-depth information queries.
  • Quick queries such as getting started researching a topic, or availability of library material or services.
  • Library workshops and seminars on databases and library use.
  • We also spend time at the Tamaki Library to support Medical and Health courses for the School of Population Health.
  • Please contact Information Services staff to discuss any queries.
  • Ask a Librarian is an electronic information service allowing you to make an online request.

Subject Librarians

Students and staff are encouraged to book a personal (or group) consultation with a Philson Subject Librarian. A Subject Librarian is an information specialist assigned to a specific academic/subject area. We provide assistance with any medical and health sciences subject area. Philson Subject Librarians also have some specialty areas (see below), and students in those areas can contact them in the first instance. We provide assistance with:

  • Information on the electronic and print resources for your topic.
  • Information on the best search strategies relevant to a specific topic.
  • Managing your bibliographies and reference lists with EndNote.
  • Using email alerting services to keep you up to date and regularly informed of the latest information in your field of interest.
  • Staff and students may also recommend library materials for purchase.

Library Workshops

Information Literacy

The Library provides a wide range of Library workshops and services free to all University of Auckland students and staff to enhance their information literacy skills. Courses are run in computer training rooms and combine demonstrations of electronic resources, discussions of search strategies, and hands-on practice. 

Generic Library Workshops

  • A variety of generic library workshops are offered at Grafton, Tamaki and the City Campus.
  • Book library workshops online from the Library homepage > Book a Library Workshop > select a campus from the drop down menu to see what courses are available at Grafton, Tamaki or the City Campus.
  • If there are no suitable courses or times please contact us to arrange a time that suits you.
  • Courses include:
    • Database Courses
      How to search major databases (such as Medline) to find journal articles.
    • EndNote
      How to use EndNote to manage your bibliographies and reference lists.
    • Internet Courses
      The City Campus runs library workshops on using Google and Google Scholar for students and staff.
    • and more ...

Subject and Course Related Library Workshops and Seminars

  • Course-related or assignment-specific library workshops, seminars, short talks, tours or orientations can be arranged in advance for your classes. 
  • Sessions can be based on any Library resources, such as using a specific database, or on topics such as the research process, advanced search techniques, referencing or finding statistical data.
  • Contact a Subject Librarian to book tailored library workshop for staff or students. 

EndNote

A specialised database programme for storing and managing references. 

  • Automatically download selected references from many databases and incorporate them into your Reference Lists or Bibliographies. 
  • EndNote is already installed on the majority of University computers. 
  • For home use purchase the latest EndNote CD for $5 from an Information Commons Help Desk.
  • There is additional information on the Library website about EndNote.
  • The Library runs free EndNote tutorials. Book online from the Library homepage > Book a Library Workshop  

Information Services Staff

We provide assistance with any medical and health sciences subject area. Please contact any one of us personally, by email or phone.

Dial 09-3737-599 then our ext no.

Megan Clark
Philson Library Manager
Subject Librarian: MBChB
ext 86130 or direct dial 09-9236130
Sue Foggin
Information Services Manager
Subject Librarian: Pharmacy, ClinEd, Geriatrics, Paediatrics    
ext 86123 or direct dial 09-9236123
Lorraine Nielsen
Subject Librarian: Nursing & Allied Health Teaching & Research staff, Postgraduate Nursing
ext 86158 or direct dial 09-9236158
Jenny Hobson
Subject Librarian: ADHB
From hospital dial: 90-90 then ext 86132 or direct dial 09-9236132
Fran Clements
Subject Librarian: Medical Sciences, Starship Cardiac [ADHB], Rehab+ [ADHB]
ext 89121 or direct dial 09-9239121
Anne Wilson
Subject Librarian: Health Informatics, Undergraduate Nursing, Obstgyn, Optometry, Palliative Care, Psychological Medicine
ext 86126 or direct dial 09-9236126


Contact: a.wilson
Updated 5 July, 2011