Postgraduate Library Skills

For Doctoral, Masters, Diploma and other postgraduate students in the Faculty of Medical & Health Sciences

Philson Library | Te Herenga Hauora

Philson Library Home

Feedback - contact Sue Foggin or Megan Clark with comments about this programme.


Postgraduate study requires a range of skills to do with information and its use. A list of workshops and links to useful online material is provided below, to assist with:

  • Searching the Literature: - identify the best resources and best search techniques for a literature review of your topic.
  • Critical Appraisal: - appraise and evaluate the results of your searching - which articles to select?
  • Endnote: - manage the references you find and cite them correctly.
  • Writing in the Sciences: - writing style for assignments, dissertations, theses; how to format your thesis with Word.
  • Subject Librarian Service: - assistance with problems or questions; tuition in use of resources
  • Miscellaneous - other useful links (not necessarily library-related!)

Searching the Literature

The following workshops will help you with using databases to find scholarly journal articles for your study and research.


1. Medline, Embase, and other OVID Databases

In-depth tutorial on databases which share the OvidSP search interface and so use similar search techniques. Medline and Embase provide global coverage of medical and health sciences with emphasis on the USA (Medline) or Europe (Embase). Other Ovid databases include International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (drug therapy, pharmaceutical science & practice etc); PsycINFO (psychology, behavioural science); Biological Abstracts (all biological sciences); ERIC (education).
Duration: 2 hours
Link to book for this workshop -
(Find the workshop name in the list (Medline, Embase, & other OVID Databases) >> choose a session time >> click Book this Session >> click Login via NetID).

 


2. PubMed

In-depth tutorial on the PubMed database. PubMed contains the same data as the Medline database, but with a completely different search interface. The advantage is that it is free on the internet, so can be accessed even after you leave the University of Auckland.
Duration: 1.5 hours
Link to book for this workshop -
(Find the workshop name in the list (Med: PubMed Database) >> choose a session time >> click Book this Session >> click Login via NetID).

 


3. Google Scholar

Are you getting the most out of GoogleScholar? An in-depth look at this search engine, useful for finding scholarly literature in all fields.
Duration: 1 hour
Link to book for this workshop -
(Find the workshop name in the list (Google Scholar (Grafton Campus) >> choose a session time >> click Book this Session >> click Login via NetID).

 


4. Finding Theses and Dissertations
Learn to make use of a range of resources to find Theses as part of your literature review.
Duration: 1.5 hours
Link to book for this workshop
(Find the workshop name in the list (Theses & Dissertations: How to find them (Grafton Campus) >> choose a session time >> click Book this Session >> click Login via NetID).


Critical Appraisal

Your literature searching may bring up a wide range of studies with conflicting results. How do you decide on the quality of the reasearch, and which studies to include in your literature review? The following readings provide guidance.

Callas PW. Searching the biomedical literature: research study designs and critical appraisal. Clinical Laboratory Science. 2008;21(1):42-8.
Link

Greenhalgh T. How to read a paper : the basics of evidence-based medicine. 4th ed. Chichester, West Sussex, UK ; Hoboken, NJ: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.
Link to catalogue record (click the Link to: e-book ebrary to read online)
Link to catalogue record (print version)

Greenhalgh T. How to read a paper : the basics of evidence-based medicine. 2nd ed. London : BMJ, 2000.
Link to catalogue record (click the Link to: e-book ebrary to read online)

Guyatt G, editor. Users’ guides to the medical literature : essentials of evidence-based clinical practice. 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill Medical, 2008.
Link to catalogue record (print version - not available online)

Ridley D. The literature review: a step-by-step guide for students. London: Sage, 2008.
Link to catalogue record (print version - not available online)

Elwood JM. Critical appraisal of epidemiological studies and clinical trials. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007.
Link to catalogue record (click the Link to: e-Book Oxford Scholarship Online to read online)
Link to catalogue record (print version)

Aveyard, H. Doing a literature review in health and social care : a practical guide. 2nd ed. Maidenhead: McGraw-Hill/Open University Press; 2010.
Link to catalogue record (click the Link to: e-book ebrary to read online)
Link to catalogue record (print version)

 

EndNote - Managing and Citing References

Managing your references, and citing them correctly in your writing, are of major importance for postggraduate students. EndNote reference management software can help. Whether or not you have used EndNote before, we have a course for you!

EndNote Parts I & II
Never used EndNote? Come to this basic tutorial to get you started.
Duration: 2 hours
Link to book for this workshop -
(Find the workshop name in the list (EndNote Parts I & II - Med & Health Sciences, Grafton Campus) >> choose a session time >> click Book this Session >> click Login via NetID).

EndNote - Beyond the Basics
If you used EndNote during your undergraduate degree, we recommend you attend this workshop to discover a range of more advanced features.
Duration: 1 hour
Link to book for this workshop -
(Find the workshop name in the list (EndNote (X4) Beyond the Basics (Grafton) >> choose a session time >> click Book this Session >> click Login via NetID).

 

Writing in the Sciences


1. Thesis Formatting and Compiling with Word

This workshop is usually run on the City Campus (by Student Learning). If you are interesting in attending a session on the Grafton Campus, please contact Sue Foggin - once there is enough interest, a session can be arranged at Grafton.

See also the range of other courses provided by Student Learning on the City Campus.


2. Useful readings on how to write for the sciences

Lang TA. How to write, publish & present in the health sciences : a guide for clinicians & laboratory researchers. Philadelphia: American College of Physicians, 2010.
Link to catalogue record (click on Link to: e-Book StatRef to read online)

Budgell BS. Writing a biomedical research paper: a guide to structure and style. New York: Springer, 2009.
Link (click on Link to: e-Book SpringerLink to read online)

Bui YN. How to write a master's thesis.Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2009.
Link to catalogue record (not available online)

Hickson M. Research handbook for health care professionals. Chichester, U.K.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2008.
Link to catalogue record (not available online)

Rountree K, Laing T. Writing by degrees: practical guide to writing theses and research papers. Auckland: Addison Wesley Longman, 1996.
Link to catalogue record (not available online)

Stuart MC, editor. The complete guide to medical writing. London: Pharmaceutical Press, 2007.
Link to catalogue record (not available online)

 

Subject Librarians

For a one-on-one consultation about the best resources for your topic, how to use library resources, or any problems you are having with library resources and services, please make an appointment with the Subject Librarian for your School.

Megan Clark
School of Medicine
ext 86130 or direct dial 09-9236130
Sue Foggin
School of Pharmacy  
ext 86123 or direct dial 09-9236123
Lorraine Nielsen
School of Nursing
ext 86158 or direct dial 09-9236158
Fran Clements
School of Medical Sciences
ext 89121 or direct dial 09-9239121

Anne Wilson
Optometry; School of Population Health, Psychological Medicine
ext 86126 or direct dial 09-9236126

NOTE: SOPH students based on Tamaki Campus - contact Derryl Hayman ext. 85209

 

Miscellaneous

Information Skills Online - try Philson Llibrary's self-paced tutorial to help you get started using library resources and services.

Doctoral Student Guide - Doctoral students, you should also look at this Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences website.

Resources for Postgraduate Students - information from Student Learning to assist with many aspects of postgraduate study.

Thesis Binding Grants - apply for a grant to help cover the binding costs of either a Masters or PhD thesis.

 

 


Contact: Sue Foggin
Updated: February 23, 2012