Topic Guide:

Pharmacy and Pharmacology Sources of Information

Philson Library | Te Herenga Hauora

Philson Library Home


Information on a specific drug may be found in a variety of resources. Which to use is determined by the type of information you need. This Guide describes some useful sources to get you started, but is not a comprehensive listing. It also provides brief notes on what each resource contains and how to use it. There is some overlap between sources, and you should usually consult more than one to check that there is agreement on a particular fact.

Basic Information
E-Books
Journal Articles
Side Effects
Drug Interactions
Mode of Action
Toxicology
Pharmacopoeias
Herbal and Complementary Medicines
Molecular Structure
Legislation
Other Texts
Additional Web Sites



Basic Information

Resources listed in this section provide an overview of a drug, including aspects such as mode of action, pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, therapeutic use(s), side effects, contraindications, targets etc. Resources included are:

Drugdex;   Martindales;   AHFS (American Hospital Formulary Service);   MIMS;   Australian Medicines Handbook;

Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary & Handbook;  MedSafe Data Sheets;   NZ Pharmaceutical Schedule;  

British National Formulary (BNF);   RxList   DrugBank

Drugdex
A database available online from the Library website (part of Micromedex, which also includes Poisindex).
International in scope; revised regularly.

How to use:

  • Go to the Database Connect page, then: >> Connect button >> Click here for Micromedex New. ( NB: Only licensed for 5 simultaneous users; if all licenses are in use you will be asked to try again later.)
  • Type drug name into the Main Keyword Search box (generic or trade name)
  • Initial results give: Summary Documents (very brief details); Drug Information (results from Drugdex); Toxicology Information (from Poisindex)
  • For the main drug information, click the Results link next to Drugdex Evaluations (under Drug Information); then click the drug name link in the Drugdex Evaluations - Titles and Synonyms area
  • The Drugdex Evaluation document for the drug appears; menu at left has headings indicating the topics covered (e.g. Dosing Information, Pharmacokinetics, Cautions etc); click on a menu heading to go straight to that section
  • All details are referenced, the List of References at the end includes many relevant articles
  • For Poisindex (toxicology) information, in the initial results Toxicology Information section, click on the drug name beside Poisindex Managements.

Note: Updated quarterly (or more frequently if necessary).

Martindale : the complete drug reference
A book available online from the Library website, and in print in the Philson Library.
International in scope.

How to use online:
a) If you know the generic name for a drug, look it up via its category (class), as follows:

  • Go to the catalogue record, then: >> Click on the Link to: e-Book OVID.
  • Scroll down to the Table of Contents section in the menu at left of screen
  • Click on the + beside Drugs and Ancillary Substances
  • Broad categories (or classes) of drug are listed; find the correct category, click on the + beside it
  • Click on the + beside Drug Monographs
  • Find the generic name in the alphabetical list of Drug Monographs and click on it to open up the monograph in the centre section of the screen; scroll down to read it all
  • For each drug, gives information on aspects such as: adverse effects, absorption and fate, uses and administration etc; plus selected references to relevant journal articles on each aspect
  • Molecular structure diagrams are included for some drugs
  • The Preparations section at the end of each drug monograph lists trade names under which the drug is marketed in different countries

b) If you know the trade (proprietary) name for a drug, look it up as follows:

  • Go to the catalogue record, then: >> Click on the Link to: e-Book OVID.
  • Scroll down to the Table of Contents section in the menu at left of screen
  • Click on the + beside Preparations
  • Scroll down to find the first letter of the trade name, click on the + beside it
  • Find the entry showing the first few letters of the trade name, click on the + beside it
  • Scroll down to find the full trade name; the name may be listed more than once, click on any one of the listings
  • You arrive at a screen with brief details of Manufacturer, Active Ingredients and Indications; in the Active Ingredients section, the generic name is listed, with an arrow pointing to a page icon
  • Click on the page icon to go to the full information on the drug; scroll down to read it all
  • For each drug, gives information on aspects such as: adverse effects, absorption and fate, uses and administration etc; plus selected references to relevant journal articles on each aspect
  • Molecular structure diagrams are included for some drugs

Note: All online content is revised regularly. New and updated information is added quarterly.

How to use in print:

  • Latest edition is on Philson Short Loan and open shelves at QV738 M384 (see catalogue record for more details)
  • Look up your drug in the index at the back of the book - it has entries for both generic and trade names, and names for broad classes of drugs.
  • The index gives the page number where full information can be found
  • Information on each drug is the same as in the online version

AHFS (American Hospital Formulary Service) Drug Information
A book available online from the Library website, and in print in the Philson Library.
Only lists drugs available in the U.S.

How to use online:

  • Go to the catalogue record, then: >> Click on the Link to: MedicinesComplete
  • Type a drug name into the search box at the top of the first screen
  • If you type a generic drug name, usually the first entry in the results list is the correct one; the other entries are where the generic name has appeared in information about other drugs
  • If you type a trade name, the first entry in the results is usually the correct one, and will be for the generic drug name; the other entries are where the trade name has appeared in information about other drugs
  • Click on the link for the first entry to get to details on aspects such as uses, dosage and administration, cautions, drug interactions, pharmacology etc
  • If you know the category/class the drug belongs to, you can also select the category from the list on the first page, then navigate through the sub-sections to find the drug you want

Note: Content is revised, and updated on a regular schedule.

How to use in print:

  • Latest (annual) edition is on Philson Short Loan and open shelves at QV740 A285 (see catalogue record for more details)
  • Look up your drug in the index at the back of the book - it includes entries for both generic and trade names of specific drugs
  • The index gives the page number where full information can be found
  • Information on each drug is the same as in the online version

MIMS
Available online from the Library website (MIMS Online) or in print (MIMS New Ethicals) from the Philson Library.
Only lists drugs available in NZ.

.. MIMS Online

How to use:

Go to the database Connect page, then: >> Click on the Connect button

  • Type a brand or generic name into the search box
  • If the drug is available in NZ, gives generic and product (trade) names used in NZ, and drug class (Subsection)
  • Generic and product names link to brief details, including: uses, contraindications etc; use in Pregnancy and Use in Sport; dosage forms in which it is available plus costs (in NZ$); if it is subsidised. NOTE, Subsidy information is abbreviated - S (Subsidised) PS (Partially Subsidised) NS (Not Subsidised), these link to details about any Pharmac restrictions on which patients/conditions qualify for the subsidy
  • If you are in the trade name information, a link to the MedSafe datasheet for that trade name is usually given (link is at top right of screen, links go to the Medsafe website, see below)
  • If drug is not available in NZ, there is no entry in MIMS
  • Also includes Drug Alert, a tool to check drug interactions (search for one drug, then another, to see any reported interactions); and  a Library section (a range of documents including adverse reaction reporting, NZ immunisation schedule, guides to drugs in sport and pregnancy, notifiable diseases etc)

Note: Updated monthly.

..MIMS New Ethicals (print)

How to use:

  • Latest edition ( (updated twice a year) is on Philson Short Loan at QV748 N532; another copy is shelved along with earlier MIMS issues on the Serials shelves (see catalogue record for more details)
  • Look up your drug in the index at the back of the book - it includes entries for both generic and trade (proprietary) names of specific drugs. See "How to use MIMS" section at front of book
  • Information on each drug is the same as in the online version
  • Documents in the online library section are also included

Australian Medicines Handbook
An independent source of Australian drug information, updated annually.

How to use:

  • Available in print on the Philson Library open shelves at QV738 A938. (see catalogue record for more details)
  • Look up your drug name in the index at the back of the book - it includes entries for both generic and trade (proprietary) names of specific drugs
  • One or more page numbers will be given, where information can be found on the drug
  • Includes details of mode of action, indications and contraindications, adverse effects, dosage etc; and lists various formulations in which the drug is available

Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook
Prepared by the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, to assist with prescribing

How to use:

  • Available in print on the Philson Library open shelves at QV740 P236 2009 (see catalogue record for more details)
  • Look up your drug name in the index at the back  of the book - it includes entries for both generic and trade (proprietary) names of specific drugs
  • One or more page numbers will be given, where information can be found on the drug
  • usually provides a clinical monograph  (advisory labels, dosage ranges etc); and pharmacokinetic data

MedSafe Medicine Data Sheets
Available on the MedSafe website.
Medsafe is the NZ medicines and medical devices safety authority, and approves drugs for use in NZ. Once a drug is approved, the manufacturer must provide a detailed data sheet for it.

How to use:

  • Go to this website, then: >> Click on the link to Medicine Data Sheets
  • For the generic drug name: type it into the search box, select Ingredient Name from the dropdown menu, click Search
  • For the trade name: type it into the search box, select Trade Name from the dropdown menu, click Search
  • If the drug is available in NZ, gives Search Results with a link to trade names; click on a trade name to reach the full Data Sheet
  • Each Data Sheet provides full details on aspects such as Indications, Dosage, Warnings and Precautions, etc; may include details of excipients (these may be listed under Inactive Ingredients or simply be listed in the Further Information section); may include structure diagram and chemical formula
  • If the drug is not available in NZ - “No Medicines were found containing ingredients matching your search criteria”
  • There is also a link on the website to Consumer Medicine Information, and links to information about MedSafe and its work.
  • Date of preparation of the Data Sheet is noted (last section of the sheet).

New Zealand Pharmaceutical Schedule
Available online from the Pharmac website, or in print in the Philson Library.
Pharmac is NZ's Pharmaceutical Management Agency, which decides whether a drug available in NZ will receive a full or partial subsidy (and any conditions associated with this) or no subsidy.
The Schedule only lists drugs which have a full or partial subsidy in NZ. It is updated regularly throughout the year.

How to use online:

  • Go to this website  
  • Click on the Health Professionals tab
  • Click on the link to Search for a medicine in the Pharmaceutical Schedule, you can either search, or browse the Schedule online
  • To search, type a generic or trade drug name into the Search box at top right, click Search
  • Brief details given include: dosage forms/strengths available; $NZ amount of the subsidy plus the full manufacturer's price (in brackets); number of doses supplied at that price (e.g. 30 = 30 tablets/capsules/other dosage forms); etc. A tick included in the entry indicates the drug is fully subsidised; no tick indicates a partial subsidy (see the difference between the $ amount of the subsidy and the manufacturer's price)
  • A reference at the top of the entry gives the page in the full Schedule where these details come from. Use the link to the Schedule (it is in PDF format) and scroll to that page to get additional details e.g. any Special Authority provisions about which patients/conditions qualify for the subsidy
  • To browse, either click one of the links in the list of broad classes of drugs, or click the link to the Schedule (goes to the PDF) and scroll through it - the PDF has an index near the end with entries for both generic and brand drug names, giving a page number for each where brief details can be found (see 4th bullet point above)

How to use in print:

  • Latest edition (plus updates) is on Philson Short Loan and open shelves at QV738 N532p (see catalogue record for more details)
  • Look up your drug in the index at the back - there are entries for generic and brand names, giving a page number where brief details can be found (same details as in the online version)

British National Formulary (BNF)
Available online from the Library website, or in print from the Philson Library.
Lists drugs available in the UK.

How to use online:

  • Go to the catalogue record, then: >> Click on the Link to: MedicinesComplete
  • Type the drug name in the search box (top right), click Search
  • Investigate the various links which result - the first link usually leads to the main details
  • Brief details for each drug include Indications, Cautions, Contra-indications, Side effects, Dose, availability and costs for trade names under which the drug is sold in the UK
  • Includes sections on a number of prescribing guidance topics, and appendices on topics such as Liver disease, Pregnancy etc (the first page you link to from the catalogue gives a Table of Contents)

How to use in print:

  • Copies of the latest edition (bi-annual) are on Philson Short Loan and open shelves at QV740 B862 (see catalogue record for more details)
  • Look up your drug in the index at the back of the book - it includes entries for both generic and trade names of specific drugs. See "How to use the BNF" section at front of book
  • Information on each drug is the same as the online version
  • Includes sections on various prescribing guidance topics, and appendices on topics such as Liver disease, Pregnancy etc (see the Table of Contents)

RxList
Free website, part of the WebMD family of resources.

How to use:

Go to this website, then:

  • Type your drug name into the Search box at the top of the screen
  • Note: if you type a trade name, you will get a listing only for that version of the drug. If you type a generic name, you will get a list of trade names for formulations containing that generic ingredient
  • Click on link(s) for the trade name(s) of interest
  • Information is arranged over several pages, and includes sections on topics such as: drug description, indications, dosage & administration, side effects, mode of action, pharmacodynamics...etc

DrugBank
Free website; combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.

How to use:

  • Go to this website
  • Type your drug name in the Search box, click Search
  • Look at the Name section in each of the results returned, find the one for your drug name (if there is one), then click on the DrugCard link to its left
  • Scroll down the page to read all the information on that drug

E-Books

There are many relevant e-books; however, a particularly useful collection for pharmacy is Medicines Complete, which contains 14 e-books. All the books can be searched at once, or you can choose one specific book. Can be accessed as a database (under "M" in the library's databases list); or the individual books can be accessed via LibrarySearch - Catalogue tab.

How to use as a database:

  • Go to the Connect page, click Connect
  • Type search words into the Search across all publications box
  • OR click on the icon for a specific book and type search words into the search box

Journal Articles

Journal articles may be original reports of research on drugs, or review articles (giving an overview of a particular drug or class of drugs). Some sources listed above (e.g. Drugdex and Martindale) list useful article references, but for a comprehensive range of articles, search one or more databases which index articles in relevant journals. 

Some (of many) relevant databases available via the library website are listed below. Subject Librarians in Philson Library's Information Services section can provide assistance with using any of these databases; also, check out the Helpsheets section on the right of the Connect page for each database, where useful Workbooks and Handy Hints may be listed.

Medline
Indexes articles from approximately 5500 journals in all fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and other health related areas.

Embase
Similar subject areas to Medline, but covers some different journals; particular emphasis on drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)
Coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature with comprehensive information on drug therapy & toxicity, and pharmacy practice.

AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
Covers a selection of journals in the areas of complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care.

Note: Once you have learnt how to use Medline it is very easy to use Embase, IPA and AMED as these databases have the same search interface and basic structure as Medline.

Google Scholar
Search engine for scholarly literature in all subject areas.

PubMed
Free version of Medline, covers the same data but with a different search interface.

Note: Information Services staff at Philson provide tutorials on Medline and PubMed; there are also some brief videos on PubMed searching under the PubMed Tutorials link on the first PubMed search screen.

IngentaConnect
Covers a wide range of science journals, including pharmacology/drug discovery/drug chemistry.

Many other databases may be useful - see the Drugs, Pharmacy, Pharmacology section of  Databases for Medical and Health Sciences; and/or consult Sue Foggin, Pharmacy Subject Librarian at Philson Library.

Obtaining Articles
After you have searched on one or more databases you will have references giving exact details of articles. Depending on the database you have used:

  • Some references in a database have a full text link - links directly to the full text of that article
  • Other references in a database have a Find Full Text button - click this to see if there is one (or more) links to the online full text of that article from within the database
  • Copy and paste the article's title into the Articles & More box in LibrarySearch to see if there is one (or more) links to the online full text of that article from LibrarySearch
  • If none of these work, do a SERIAL TITLE search on Voyager to see if the library subscribes to the journal the article is in (type in the title of the journal/serial, not the title of the article)
  • Voyager indicates if the library has the journal in print or electronically, and which volumes/years are available - always check if the Library has the volume you want, and whether it is an e-resource, or held in print on the shelves of a specific library
  • If Voyager shows electronic access to the journal volume, you can get the article for yourself online by clicking on the link in the Link to: section of the record. Print journals held at Philson are arranged on the shelves in alphabetical order; you can photocopy articles using library copiers
  • If you cannot find the full text using any of the methods above, you can apply for an Interlibrary Loan (contact Sue Foggin for directions)

 

Side Effects

Side effects may also be known as adverse effects or adverse reactions. Most resources listed in the Basic Information section give some side effects information. Other sources include:

Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs, 16th ed. 2006. Available in print (QV38 M613 2006; 6 volumes) and online; has comprehensive side effect information.

How to use online:

  • Go to the Database Connect page, then: >> Click on the Connect button
  • Generic drug names and drug classes are listed in alphabetical order
  • Find the drug or drug class you are interested in, click on the PDF link
  • Details include general information, effects on different organs and systems, any effects of route of administration, interactions with other drugs etc. A comprehensive list of references is provided.

How to use in print:

  • Volumes of the latest edition (2006) are on Philson open shelves at QV38 M613 2006 (see catalogue record for more details)
  • The last volume has separate indexes for drug names and adverse reactions, referring to appropriate page numbers
  • Information is similar to the online version

Journal Articles
You can tailor your database searches to find articles dealing with side effects of a specific drug (see the Journal Articles section for details of relevant databases to search).

Drug Interactions

Several resources listed under Basic Information provide some detail on interactions, particularly the Drug Alert section of MIMS Online.

MIMS Online
To use the Drug Alert function:
Access:
Go to the MIMS Online Connect page then: >> Click on the Connect button >> click the link to Drug Alert in the left hand menu of the initial search screen; type in the names(s) of the drugs (one at a time).

Other sources include:

Stockley’s drug interactions; a source book of interactions, their mechanisms, clinical importance and management.
A book available online from the Library website, and in print in the Philson Library.
Access:
Online - Click here to go to the catalogue record, then: >> Click on the Link to: Medicines Complete.
Print - on the open shelves in Philson Library at QV38 S865 2006. If none are on the shelves, it may be becuase they are all on loan; click here to go to the catalogue record to check, and to recall a copy if necessary.

Clin-eguide
Use the Drug Interaction Checker function in Clin-eguide.
Access:
Go to the Clin-eguide Connect page then: >> Click on the Connect button >> the Drug Interaction Checker is at the bottom right of the initial screen.

Australian Medicines Handbook
Use Appendix A: Drug Interactions (at end of book). On the Philson Library open shelves at QV738 A938.

 

Mode Of Action

Many of the resources in the Basic Information section include information on this aspect - e.g. MedSafe Medicine Data Sheets; RxList, Australian Medicines Handbook.

Journal articles - you can tailor your database searches to see if any articles deal with mode of action of a specific drug - this may also be referred to as mechanism of action or pharmacological action. See the Journal Articles section for details of relevant databases to search.

Toxicology

Poisindex
Designed to help quickly identify, manage, and treat toxicological exposures. Part of the online Micromedex system, which also includes Drugdex. Each substance is linked to one or more management documents providing information on clinical effects, range of toxicity and treatment protocols for exposures involving that substance.

How to use:

  • See details under Drugdex
  • The Poisindex Managements document for a drug or chemical has a menu at left with headings indicating the topics covered (e.g. Clinical Effects, Laboratory/Monitoring, Treatment, Range of Toxicity etc).

 

Pharmacopoeias (Quality Standards Information)

British Pharmacopoeia
Latest edition (2010) is available in print and as an online database.
Gives legal standards for the quality of UK medicinal substances; also includes all the drug monographs of the European Pharmacopoiea (6th ed.)   Has approx. 3,300 monographs on medicinal, herbal and homeopathic substances, excipients and formulated preparations, with supporting General Notices, Infrared Reference Spectra, and Appendices (reagents, full range of test methods, etc)

How to use online:

  • Go to the database Connect page, then: >> Click on the Connect button
  • Click on BP 2011 (As Published); or BP 2011(Updated) (if available - there are three annual updates)
  • Click one of the tabs - A-Z Index to look up a drug/substance name; Search to type in a drug /substance name; Browse to browse through a volume; My BP to create and access a personalised area to make it easier searching for information you use regularly
  • Use the Help link (top right after logging in) for details on searching
  • Details of drugs/substances include: Definitition, Characters, Identification, Tests, Assay, Storage Requirements etc
  • Has molecular structure diagrams for the drugs it includes

How to use in print:

  • The 5 print volumes are on Philson open shelves at  QV738 B862 (see catalogue record for more details)
  • Look up the drug/substance name in the Index (at end of Vol. 4); this gives one or more page numbers
  • Details of drugs/substances include: Definitition, Characters, Identification, Tests, Assay, Storage Requirements etc
  • Has molecular structure diagrams for the drugs it includes

European Pharmacopoiea
Monographs from the European Pharmacopoiea are included in the British Pharmacopoiea. Print only.
Link to catalogue record.

International Pharmacopoeia
Recommendations of the WHO, to help achieve a wide global uniformity of quality specifications for selected pharmaceutical products, excipients, and dosage forms.
Online only.

United States Pharmacopeia
Latest edition (2000) is available in print only; on Philson open shelves at QV738 U58.
Link to catalogue record

 

Herbal and Complementary Medicines

Herbal medicines, by Joanne Barnes, Linda A Anderson and J David Phillipson (online or print). Go to the catalogue record then:
  • Click on the Link to: MedicinesComplete (for online version)
  • Check Locations to see where print copies are located, and their availability.

Stockley's herbal medicines interactions, (online only). Go to the catalogue record, then: Click on the Link to: MedicinesComplete.

Dietary supplements, by Pamela Mason (online or print). Go to the catalogue record, then:

  • Click on the Link to: MedicinesComplete (for online version)
  • Check Locations to see where print copies are located, and their availability.

Review of natural products
Print only:
Go to the catalogue record, then: Check the Location: to see in which library the print copy is located and its availability.

AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
A database to find references to articles from journals in the areas of complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care.

Molecular Structure Diagrams

Many of the sources in the Basic Information section have structure diagrams: try RxList, Martindale, British Pharmacopoiea, MedSafe Data Sheets.

 

Legislation

Medicines Act 1981
The New Zealand statute (law) relating to medicines in this country. The full text is available online, via the Brookers Online database.

How to use:

  • Go to the Brookers Online database Connect page
  • Click on the Connect button
  • In the New Zealand Legislation section, click on Statutes of New Zealand
  • Click on the folder beside the letter "M"
  • Scroll down to find Medicines Act 1981, click on the folder
  • The contents of the Act are listed, click on various folders and sections of interest to see the full text of each section.

 

Other Texts

All books whose call number starts with QV at Philson deal with aspects of pharmacology and pharmacy. Look at the texts on Short Loan at this call number, they are usually up-to-date. There are also many books on the open shelves at this call number, and also at WB330 (therapeutic use of drugs) which will provide further information. Use the VOYAGER catalogue to locate them, or simply browse the shelves.

Websites

  • Drug Information Portal - From the US National Library of Medicine; searches for information through a number of reliable web resources. Very useful starting point for information - drug names, structures, FDA approved labels (DailyMed), and articles
  • PubChem - 'Information on the biological activities of small molecules' in 3 linked databases; PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, PubChem BioAssay. Includes structures.
  • Drugs.com and DrugDigest - both include drug interaction information
  • Drug Effectiveness Review Project - US self-governing collaboration of public and private organizations providing systematic, evidence-based reviews of the comparative effectiveness and safety of drugs in widely used drug classes
  • NCI Drug Dictionary n- 'Each drug entry includes links to check for clinical trials listed in PDQ® Cancer Clinical Trials Registry'
  • PharmGKB: Pharmacogenetics Knowledge Base - 'Impact of human genetic variations on drug response... curate primary genotype and phenotype data, annotate gene variants and gene-drug-disease relationships via literature review, and summarize important PGx genes and drug pathways'.
  • Annual Bibliographies of Significant Advances in Dietary Supplement Research - From the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements [US]. Part of the National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements
  • About herbs, botanicals and other products - From the Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, 'provides evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, supplements, and more.'
  • Dietary Supplements Labels Database - From the US National Library of Medicine
  • The Free Dictionary - Medical dictionary for descriptions of over-the-counter or prescription medications, medical abbreviations, test procedures, medical research topics, or illnesses.
  • ChemSpider - Free chemical structure database (including pharmaceuticals); search text and structure information for over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.


Contact: Sue Foggin
Updated: September 2, 2011