Topic Guide: Nursing Sources of Information

Philson Library | Te Herenga Hauora

Philson Library Home


Information on nursing and related subjects may be found in a variety of sources, some of which are detailed in this pamphlet. The sources you use will be determined by the sort of information you need - books dealing with the broader aspects, journal articles dealing with more specific aspects, and associated literature dealing with subjects such as medicine, health, sociology, education.

Finding Books
Nursing Theory
Nursing Research
Nursing Specialties

Journal Articles
Tutorials 

NZ Nursing Web Sites


Finding Books

Search Voyager (The University of Auckland Library Catalogue) to locate some of the basic nursing texts that are detailed below. Write down the Call Number from the Voyager record to locate the item. NB: They may be on the open shelves, on Short Loan/Desk Copy, in Reference, or Online as an e-Book. 
Search Voyager for the following:

Basic Texts

Anderson, D. M. (2002). Mosby's medical, nursing, & allied health dictionary (6th ed.). St. Louis, MO: Mosby. 
View Voyager record

Carpenito, L. J. (Ed.). (2000). Nursing diagnosis: Application to clinical practice (8th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins.
View Voyager record

Donahue, M. P. (1996). Nursing, the finest art: An illustrated history (2nd ed.). St. Louis, MO: Mosby.
View Voyager record

Dossey, B. M. (1988). Holistic nursing: A handbook for practice. Rockville. MD: Aspen Publishers.
View Voyager record

Hood, L., & Leddy, S. (2003). Leddy & Pepper's conceptual bases of professional nursing (5th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
View Voyager record

Johnstone, M. J. (1999). Bioethics: A nursing perspective (3rd ed.). Sydney, Australia: Harcourt Saunders.
View Voyager record

Nettina, S. M. (2001). The Lippincott manual of nursing practice (7th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
View Voyager record

Potter, P. A., & Perry, A. G. (2000). Fundamentals of nursing (5th ed.). St. Louis, MO: Mosby.
View Voyager record

Simpson, K. R., & Creehan, P. A. (2001). Perinatal nursing (2nd ed.). Philadelphia, PA : Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
View Voyager record

Other Texts
All books whose call number starts with the letters WY deal with aspects of nursing (remember that books on nursing specialties, e.g. Oncology nursing, are held with other material for that specialty). 

Nursing Theory  

Books on nursing theory and theorists will mostly be found around WY86, but may occur as chapters or aspects of other works. Do a SUBJECT HEADING search on voyager for the following subject headings: 

Nursing Theory 
Philosophy, Nursing
Models, Nursing

Some books on nursing theory and theorists contain useful references to other books and to journal articles e.g. Marriner-Tomey, A., & Alligood, M. R. (Eds.). (2001). Nursing theorists and their work. St. Louis, MO: Mosby. 

Nursing Research  

Books on nursing research will mostly be found around WY20.5, but may occur as chapters or aspects of other works. 

Nursing Specialties

Books on nursing specialties, e.g. Oncology nursing, is held with other material for that specialty, e.g. at QZ200. Information on nursing specialties will also be found in journal articles: search for these using CINAHL or Medline.

You can also do a KEYWORD search on Voyager to locate books on a topic. Remember to use the Truncation symbol when Keyword searching to pick up variant word endings. The truncation symbol on Voyager is a question mark e.g. ulcer?  will search for ulcer, ulcers, ulceration.

Click here for information on arranging a Voyager tutorial.

Journal Articles 

To find journal articles on a topic, it is best to first search one or more databases which index articles in relevant journals. 

Databases
The CINAHL, Medline, PsycINFO and Cochrane Library databases are the major sources of references to journal articles relating to nursing. These are listed below, together will additional databases useful for medicine:

CINAHL
Content : abstracts of articles in 650 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer journals.  Coverage : 1982 - present (updated quarterly).

Medline
Content : indexes more than 4,600 medical journals.  Coverage : 1966 - present (updated monthly).

PsycINFO
Content : abstracts more than 1500 psychology journals as well as book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations.  Coverage : 1974 - present (abstracts and indexes); 1887- present (book chapters and books) (updated monthly).

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, along with the abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals.  Updated daily. 

Evidence Based Databases
Cochrane Library
Contains all the Cochrane databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL/CCTR), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NEED)

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) - Ovid Version
Systematic reviews on the effects of various healthcare interventions, each produced by one of the Cochrane Groups within the Cochrane Collaboration.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL/CCTR) - Ovid Version
This is a bibliography of all controlled trials identified by Cochrane Review Groups and others, as part of an international effort to search the world's medical literature. 

Obtaining Articles
After you have searched on a database you will have exact details of articles. Next do a SERIAL TITLE search on Voyager to see if we hold the journal that the article is in (type in the title of the journal, not the title of the article). Voyager indicates if we hold the journal in print or electronically. Always check the Voyager record to see if the Library has the volume you want. If we have electronic access to the journal volume, you can get the article for yourself online. Print journals are arranged on the shelves in alphabetical order.

Remember that journals sometimes change their name, e.g. The New Zealand nursing journal (also known as Kai Tiaki) changed its name in 1993 to Nursing New Zealand, then changed again in 1995 to Kai Tiaki: nursing New Zealand. Differently named parts of a journal will be in different places on the shelves.

Electronic Journals
Check out the University Library's list of e-journals. All are available in full-text.

Tutorials 

Lecturers often arrange library workshops for undergrad/postgrad classes. (Check with your lecturer to see if there are any library workshops arranged for your class).

Library tutorials are offered on Voyager/CINAHL/Endnote, etc. at the beginning of each Semester and by appointment throughout the year.

You can book into these tutorials online. From Library homepage click on >> Library Workshop Bookings >> From the drop down menu next to Select Course for: >> highlight Medical and Health, then look for the tutorial you wish to attend.

If there are no library tutorials available, or you are unable to attend any of the sessions offered, contact your Subject Librarian to arrange an appointment. Phone: 09-373-7599, then the ext. no. required:

Nursing & Allied Health Subject Librarian
Lorraine Nielsen ext 86158 lm.nielsen@auckland.ac.nz

Or other Information Services staff 
Sue Foggin ext 86125 email: sm.foggin@auckland.ac.nz
Anne Wilson  ext 86126 email: a.wilson@auckland.ac.nz
Fran Clements ext 86132 email: f.clements@auckalnd.ac.nz
Ross MacDonald ext 89121 email: r.macdonald@auckland.ac.nz


Library Homepage | Previous Page

Contact: Ross MacDonald
Updated: 15 July 2008