Databases for Medical and Health Sciences

Philson Library | Te Herenga Hauora

Philson Library



Major Databases

CINAHL Plus
Nursing and allied health journals.
Embase
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database with a European perspective. Useful for psychiatry. 1980 to present. For articles from 1947 to 1979 use Embase archive.
Google Scholar
A search engine for scholarly literature. Results are ranked by various criteria including how often the work has been cited in other scholarly works. This means there is a bias towards older, heavily-cited works rather than the latest publications. Has useful 'cited by' links.
MDConsult Australia
designed for primary care physicians and specialists requiring access to a broad range of content sources. It searches through 50 medical texts, 54 medical journals, over 30 of the Clinics series published by Elsevier, national, association and organisation guidelines, patient education, images and it has a point-of-care component called First Consult.
Medline (OvidSP)
Combination of Medline (references indexed with MeSH®) and Medline In-Process… (very recently published references). Covers 5,400+ journals in medicine, nursing, the healthcare system, preclinical sciences, etc. 1946 to present.
Medline (Web of Knowledge interface)
In-process and Medline 1946 onwards. There are links within results to PubMed Related Articles and NCBI databases
PsycINFO
Covers more than 1500 psychology journals as well as book chapters and dissertations.
PubMed
Free-access, includes Medline (MeSH indexed) plus in-process, other non-indexed and electronic publications ahead of print (not MeSH indexed), and OLDMEDLINE references. Covers 5,400+ journals in medicine, nursing, the health care system, preclinical sciences, etc.
ScienceDirect
Over 2500 Elsevier Science journals including medicine, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, immunology and microbiology, neuroscience, psychology, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. Also includes images and some full text books.
Scopus
Covers around 17,000 scientific publications, including all journals in PubMed and in Embase. Includes a patent search. Has 'cited by' links and hyperlinked reference lists, as well as 'In press' articles. Most content links to full text via ScienceDirect or other full text resources.
SciVerse
Access is via ScienceDirect or Scopus. Has 4 components: ScienceDirect, Scopus, External, and Patents. Search all 4 components together.
Web of Knowledge
This database has individual component databases: Web of Science (articles from high impact journals), Derwent Innovations Index (patents), Current Contents and Medline. Search all components together or search an individual database.
Web of Science
Online citation index providing international multidisciplinary coverage of around 10,000 high-impact journals and over 120,000 conference proceedings. A database within the Web of Knowledge.

Evidence Based Practice

ACP Journal Club
Has the two journals, ACP Journal Club and  Evidence Based Medicine. Reviews 90 medical journals and selects articles which meet strict study design criteria, then summarizse them with 'value-added' abstracts and comments by clinical experts.
Cochrane Library via Wiley
Has all the Cochrane databases: Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects DARE; Central Register of Controlled Trials; HealthTechnology Assessment; NHS Economic Evaluation; Methodology Register. Uses the Wiley search interface. This is the free version for New Zealand.

If you prefer the Ovid interface use
Cochrane Database of SystematicReviews;
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials;
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects;
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Full Text - (ACP, CDSR, DARE);
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews All Databases (ACP, CCTR, CDSR, DARE).
Licence allows for 3 concurrent users for each database.

Natural Standard
Evidence-based systematic reviews on dietary supplements and CAM therapies. It is designed as a clinical decision support tool to advise clinicians and researchers on the safety and efficacy of herbs, supplements, vitamins, diets, nutrition, exercise, and complementary practices and modalities.

Point of Care

Best Practice
An online decision support tool from the BMJ Clinical Evidence Centre, combining the latest research evidence from the Clinical Evidence database with peer reviewed expert opinion and guidelines. Structured around patient consultation, information is presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Includes patient leaflets for some conditions.
Clin-eguide
Includes an Evidence Based Guidelines component. The Nursing Advisor tab has relevant information for nurses on drugs, diseases, tests, symptoms and various treatments.
DynaMed
An evidence-based point-of-care reference resource of summaries derived from peer-reviewed sources.
MDConsult Australia
The point of care component is First Consult.

Nursing

ABI/Inform
Administrative and management issues associated with health facilities and institutions.
British Nursing Index
200 English language journals, focusing on all aspects of nursing, midwifery and community healthcare.
CINAHL Plus
Nursing and allied health journals and some dissertations.
ERIC
Education database useful for nurses in schools.
Nursing and Allied Health Source
Indexes around 900 journals plus dissertations on nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine. Includes Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries and Best practice information sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.
RURAL
Australian database on rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. Part of the Informit database collection.

Drugs, Pharmacy and Pharmacology Databases and e-Books

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists E-book Collection
53 pharmacy books published from 2000 onwards by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
ATSDR's toxicological profiles
A searchable collection of toxicological profiles from the U.S. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry on the CRC NetBASE platform. The profiles cover the effects of hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds.
British Pharmacopoeia
Official collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances.
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery
Online version of a classic work offering easy access to broad coverage of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery for new or experienced medicinal chemists, biologists, pharmacologists and molecular biologists. It includes a current and global perspective of drug design, and drug development.
CHEMnetBASE
Collection of chemical dictionaries and reference works.
Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry II
A searchable online reference work on the ScienceDirect platform, on contemporary medicinal chemistry, covering all aspects of modern drug discovery from its mechanistic basis through the underlying general principles, and comprehensive therapeutic applications.
Drugdex
One of the Micromedex suite of databases, Drugdex has current, accurate drug information including dosage, pharmacokinetics, cautions, interactions, clinical applications, adverse effects, and comparative efficacy.
IDIS
(Iowa Drug Information Service). Use it to find information on a specific drug, or articles on a disease where drug therapy is discussed. Full text of articles from 1997 onwards.
IngentaConnect
Covers many subject areas, useful for drug discovery and drug development.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice, plus legislation, regulation, biopharmaceutics, economics, and education. 
Martindale: the complete drug reference
An e-book available via Books at Ovid
MedicinesComplete
A collection of drug and healthcare reference works from Pharmaceutical Press. The Library's licence covers: AHFS Drug Information, the British National Formulary, the Handbook of Injectable Drugs, Pharmaceutical Excipients, Rules and Guidance for Pharmaceutical Manufacturers and Distributors, and Stockley's Drug Interactions.
Merck Index
The online version of The Merck Index, an encyclopaedia of organic and inorganic chemicals, including naturally-occurring substances, laboratory reagents, pharmaceuticals and drugs.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs
An international encyclopedia of adverse drug reactions and interactions.
Micromedex
Micromedex is the name for a suite of databases. The two we have access to are Drugdex (drug information) and Poisindex (poisons/toxicology information).
MIMS Online
A quick reference source of all New Zealand medicines, searchable by therapeutic class, generic name and brand name. Includes MIMS DrugAlert - an evidence-based drug interactions database.
National electronic Library for Medicines
Information for healthcare professionals on the safe and effective use of medicines...designed for point of care use by healthcare professionals in the UK's National Health Service.
Natural Standard
Evidence-based systematic reviews on dietary supplements and CAM therapies. It is designed as a clinical decision support tool to advise clinicians and researchers on the safety and efficacy of herbs, supplements, vitamins, diets, nutrition, exercise, and complementary practices and modalities.
PharmaceuticalNetBASE
Online collection of over 100 full-text handbooks and monographs on pharmaceutical science and related areas.
Pharmaceutical News Index
indexes articles in 17 specialized publications in the pharmaceutical industry. 
Poisindex
identifies ingredients for thousands of commercial, pharmaceutical, and biological substances. 
SciFinder
Web resource of Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases, covering biotechnology, medicine, toxicology, and food science.
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology
Includes Prescriber's Guide, Stahl's Illustrated series, and a drug interaction database.
See also: Other databases for chemistry

Health Informatics

ACM Digital Library
Bibliographic information and full text for articles published in Association for Computing Machinery journals, magazines and conference proceedings.
Gartner Group Intraweb
Market research reports for the Information Technology professional.
IEEE Xplore
Provides nearly one third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, electronics and computer science. Includes IEEE Standards on Health informatics and medical devices.

Health Management and Health Economics

ABI/Inform
Administrative and management issues associated with health facilities and institutions.
Business Source Premier
Administrative and management issues associated with health facilities and institutions e.g. hospital management, practice management, policy making, patient services, marketing, records management, efficiency, and quality management.
EconLit
Economics journal articles and working papers.
Emerald Management Xtra
Browse by the subject Healthcare management.
Health Business Fulltext Elite
Full text coverage for more than 450 well-known administrative journals covering all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
See also: databases for Business

New Zealand and Australian Databases

Australasian Medical Index
indexes and abstracts over 160 Australian health and medical serials not indexed for MEDLINE.
Index New Zealand: INNZ
New Zealand content for journals, newspapers etc. within the social sciences, humanities and general interest areas. Indexes Kai tiaki, NZ Journal of Counselling, NZ Journal of Psychology, NZMJ, and Pacific Health Dialog.
FindNZArticles
Federated searching across Index New Zealand and more specialised indexes from the Royal Society of New Zealand and other institutions.
Health Collection (Informit)
searchable full-text collection of Australasian journals, newsletters, and other publications covering family medicine, nursing, pharmacy, developmental psychology, mental health, counseling, medical ethics.
Informit Database Collection
A suite of Australian bibliographic databases, including the Australasian Medical Index, APAIS-Health, Drug, Health and Society and The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (ATSIhealth) and Health Collection.
Kiwi Research Information Service
Gateway to open-access research documents, such as theses, produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions in New Zealand.
MIMS Online
A quick reference source of all New Zealand medicines, searchable by therapeutic class, generic name and brand name. Includes MIMS DrugAlert - an evidence-based drug interactions database.
Newztext Plus
Full text of New Zealand newspapers plus the NZ Doctor magazine. Also includes Index New Zealand.

 

Psychological Medicine

Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Journal articles, books, technical reports, book chapters, and dissertations on growth and development up to the age of 21.
Comprehensive Clinical Psychology
Online edition of the 11-volume resource Comprehensive Clinical Psychology.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
Transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Training videos, reenactments, and footage of therapy sessions conducted by psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers.
PsychiatryOnline
Searchable online collection of journals, textbooks and handbooks from the American Psychiatric Association. Includes the DSM-IV-TR.
PsycTESTS
from the American Psychological Association has the full text of psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments.
See also: databases for psychology

Other Relevant Databases

Academic Search Premier
Useful for health related topics in a social science setting
Biological Abstracts
Biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology covering around 6,500 journals.
AMED
(Allied and Complementary Medicine) covers journals in complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care. 
Drug
Australian database indexing published and unpublished material on the psychosocial aspects of substance abuse.
Geobase
Useful for health related topics in a social science setting
See also: databases for biological sciences | food science  |  forensic science  |  sociology  |  sport and exercise science

Protocols

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Subject areas include cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging.
Springer Protocols
Reproducible laboratory protocols in cell biology and molecular medicine with instructions for the design and implementation of experiments that include equipment specifications, safety procedures, statistical methods, reporting and troubleshooting standards.

eBooks - Subject Collections and Individual Titles

Collections
Annual Reviews
Access to all series published by Annual Reviews in the fields of biochemical, physical and social sciences. Includes Genetics, Genomics and human genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Nutrition, Pathology, Pharmacology and toxicology, Physiology, and Public health.
BioscienceNetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
Books@Ovid
includes the full text, references, updates, and graphics from respected texts in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.
MIT CogNet
Electronic community for scholarly research in the cognitive and brain sciences that includes books, reference works and conference proceedings.
NANOnetBASE
Handbooks on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. Includes biomedical nanotechnology.
NEUROSCIENCEnetBASE
A collection of online books in the neurosciences - reference sources, classic works, and illustrative atlases.
NutritionNetBASE
Online collection of over 70 handbooks and monographs on food and nutrition science.
OECD iLibrary
Full text of health-themed books including Health at a glance.
Oxford Medical Handbooks Online
A cross-searchable online collection of medical handbooks published by Oxford University Press.
People's Medical Publishing House e-book Collection
Searchable collection of 60 medical books published by PMPH in the United States.
ScienceDirect
has a number of health and medical books including encyclopaedias.
STAT!Ref
A searchable online healthcare reference collection that integrates core texts with evidence-based resources. The Library's licence covers over 40 texts for physicians and nurses.
 
Individual Titles
The Library has a number of online encyclopedia covering a variety of medical and health topics. Scroll down to and browse these in the Library Databases - E list.
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
Includes bioethics and medical ethics.
Encyclopedia of the Eye
Covers most areas of eye research, including the ocular surface, ocular immunology, vascular biology, lens, retina, visual optics, comparative eye research, and ocular development. Visual processing is not included.
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience
Under Sensory systems there is a section on Vision.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine Online
The world’s leading textbook of medicine in regularly updated online form.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health
focus on public health aspects of diseases and conditions. Other articles survey aging, diet, injuries, ethical and legal subjects in public health, measurement and modeling, consumerism, anthropology and sociology, economics, the history of public health, and global issues.
Oxford Textbook of Medicine
Searchable online version of a standard reference work from Oxford University Press, offering practical guidance on clinical management and the prevention of disease. The content is systematically reviewed and updated on a regular basis.
Murtagh's General Practice Series
Online version of three of John Murtagh's general practice books: Murtagh's General Practice, Patient Education, and Practice Tips.
Red Book Online
2000 onwards from the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Infectious Diseases.

Electives

Electives Database
Records of the sixth year medical students' Elective Reports full text from 2005 up to and including 2008.

Images and Videos

Henry Stewart Talks - Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection
'fundamentals of a subject area and the latest advances'.
MDConsult Australia
Has a section of images.
Visible Body
Detailed interactive human body application in 3D.

Learning Resources

BMJ Learning
A collection of learning resources, designed for professionals in primary care and hospital medicine.

Statistics and Numeric Data

OECD Health Data
Data on key aspects of health care systems in OECD countries.
See also: Other statistics and numeric data databases

Theses and Dissertations

University of Auckland theses and dissertations
Note: Nursing Clinical projects, Nursing Honours dissertations and most Nursing Research portfolios are kept in the School of Nursing. Please enquire at the School Office. Other Medical and Health Sciences Honours dissertations are not kept in the Library - please enquire at the relevant Department Office.

 

Conference Papers

Conference Papers Index
Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings.
FirstSearch
Has access to PapersFirst and to Proceedings databases.
PapersInvited
Calls for Papers issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines.
See also: Finding conferences and conference papers

Journal Impact Factors and Citation Databases

Google Scholar
Articles that have been cited have a 'Cited by' link.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal impact factors and ranking based on impact factor plus publication data, accumulating and tabulating citation and article counts.
Scopus 
Easy to find the cited by link to the right side of each item in a results list or use the Author search to find citation counts. Use the Analytics tab for SNIP and SJR rankings.
Web of Science including the Science Citation Index
Although the NZMJ is included in the citation index, generally there is poor coverage of New Zealand journals. Some records have links to journal impact factors in the Journal Citation Reports database. Gives an h-index
For a 'How to' and 'What are' guides see H-index and impact factors, Citations and Impact, and Who is citing whom.

Patents and Standards

British Standards Online
Derwent Innovations Index
covers over 11 million inventions from 42 patent-issuing authorities and can be searched via text or chemical structures.
IEEE Xplore
includes all IEEE standards including a section on Health informatics and medical devices.
New Zealand Standards Online
Scopus
has details of 12.7 million patents, most of which are linked to the EPO.
See also: Patents databases


Contact: Anne Wilson
Updated: May 4, 2012